PDA

View Full Version : Manufacture Rocommended Encloser?



TRAVIESO
01-04-2003, 09:20 PM
What does this mean excacly?
Is this the best way to go?

80_Cutlass_mn
01-04-2003, 10:15 PM
This is the manufacturer's recommended enclosure. In some cases this will give you ok results. But with some subs, they sound better with a box that is out of the manufacturers recommendations. A prime example of this is the Kicker Solo-Baric subs. I have heard numerous times on this website that they actually sound better in a box that is about 2-3 times bigger than the numbers recommended by the manufacturer. But if you really want a good explanation ask Jmac about it he is, A.K.A the Post Wh0re;)

TRAVIESO
01-04-2003, 11:15 PM
I have two Crossfire BMF w12d. Does anybody know what size box I should put them in? I want a sealed encloser. If you go to mo home page you can see the one i had made but I want to make my own. I dont like the way my system sounds and i think its the box.

80_Cutlass_mn
01-05-2003, 12:41 AM
Hey Jmac what is a good sized sealed box for two Kicker Solo 12" L5's? I was planin on when gettin a good job to buy either these or some audiobahn flame q's, also which one do you prefer? I am going to custom build a better box when I can get the materials but in the mean time was wonderin what is a good size on the L5s?;)

80_Cutlass_mn
01-05-2003, 01:04 AM
I mentioned sealed ;)

80_Cutlass_mn
01-05-2003, 01:09 AM
Well ok then give me some boxes for both ported and sealed:p I dont think that ill have enough room in my trunk to build the box i wanna build and have over about 3 cu. ft. a sub but ill take some measurements and see what i can do but right now i just wanna know a good size for them.

violator5spd
01-05-2003, 01:09 AM
you guys got somethin stuck in your eye??? ;)

80_Cutlass_mn
01-05-2003, 01:11 AM
Originally posted by violator5spd
you guys got somethin stuck in your eye??? ;)

Whats that supposed to mean? Anyway Jmac, I will only be able to put about 205 watts into each sub with the amp I have and yes I know I need a bigger amp but this will have to do for now.

TRAVIESO
01-05-2003, 04:25 AM
Hey Jmac can you help me build my box too?

Randy Savage
01-05-2003, 05:27 AM
Originally posted by Jmac
That's what I get payed for ;)

Anyone know where my paycheques are ? I thought I got $1 per helpful post ... :rolleyes:
Lol, I'll send you those X-mas cookies I told you about

TRAVIESO
01-05-2003, 05:41 AM
Originally posted by Jmac
That's what I get payed for ;)

Anyone know where my paycheques are ? I thought I got $1 per helpful post ... :rolleyes:

Ill send you your dollars.

So can you please help me I want to built a sealed box?

TRAVIESO
01-05-2003, 03:08 PM
This forum is so helpfull.
Thank you all.

TRAVIESO
01-05-2003, 03:40 PM
Originally posted by Jmac
Yup, tomorrow, though :) Jmac go sleep now :D

Good morning Jmac

TRAVIESO
01-05-2003, 06:00 PM
So Jmac can you please help me build my box?

TRAVIESO
01-05-2003, 06:04 PM
Originally posted by Jmac
Yup :) What are the dimensions of your trunk ?
First of all thank you.
second wich ones do u need

TRAVIESO
01-05-2003, 06:20 PM
Originally posted by Jmac
The maximum dimensions of your trunk (Or wherever the box will go) in inches :)

31" w x 15" h x 16" d

d= if you can make it as small as possible

TRAVIESO
01-05-2003, 06:57 PM
Originally posted by TRAVIESO
31" w x 15" h x 16" d

Jmac the w can actually be 33.5"

TRAVIESO
01-05-2003, 07:02 PM
Originally posted by TRAVIESO
31" w x 15" h x 16" d

Jmac the w can actually be 33.5"

TRAVIESO
01-05-2003, 07:13 PM
Originally posted by Jmac
In that case ...

Option #1

Construction Material = .75" MDF
Box Height = 15"
Box Width = 33.5" (33.5" minus .75" divider = 32.75")
Box Depth = 12"
Box Volume = 1.21 ft^3 per chamber
Box Qtc = 0.795
F0 = 70.3 Hz
F3 = 40.8 Hz
F6 = 32.4 Hz
F9 = 26.7 Hz

Option #2

Construction Material = .75" MDF
Box Height = 15"
Box Width = 33.5" (33.5" minus .75" divider = 32.75")
Box Depth = 8"
Box Volume = 0.72 ft^3 per chamber
Box Qtc = 0.95
F0 = 58.5 Hz
F3 = 44.5 Hz
F6 = 36.9 Hz
F9 = 31.3 Hz

Whats the difference between the two?
which one would sound better?
and once again thank you

P.S. How much do I owe you?

TRAVIESO
01-05-2003, 07:25 PM
these subs are rated at 350w rms each and im powering them with a VR1000d so they are getting about 500w rms would that also make a difference?

TRAVIESO
01-05-2003, 07:37 PM
The recommende encloser is 14.5"h x 33.5"l x 10"d according to crossfire would this spec be better that yours or are yours better?

TRAVIESO
01-05-2003, 07:54 PM
Originally posted by Jmac
In that box, power handling will drop. The box I recommended (0.8 ft^3 per chamber) should be able to handle that amp. I can't guarantee a box that is 19% larger will be able to handle 1000 watts continuously ...
so in my case smaller is better, correct?
What the smallest I can go?
I want SQL

TRAVIESO
01-05-2003, 08:00 PM
Originally posted by Jmac
The 0.8 ft^3/chamber box I listed would be the largest you should use ;) You don't want to go super, super small because it will sound like **** ...
Would this one still soung good or should I wire my subd to 2ohms and make a bigger box?

TRAVIESO
01-05-2003, 08:06 PM
Well Jmac I'm of to make my first box I really appreciate your help. If theres anything I can do let me know. Thank you once again. I tried to do it myself in WinISD PRO but I could'nt figure it out.

TRAVIESO
01-05-2003, 08:12 PM
One last question were should I mount the subs? Should they be excactly in the center of there chambers?

violator5spd
01-05-2003, 08:17 PM
Originally posted by Jmac
That's what I get payed for ;)

Anyone know where my paycheques are ? I thought I got $1 per helpful post ... :rolleyes:

uhh...wouldn't that explain why you haven't gotten any?? LOL

;)

violator5spd
01-05-2003, 08:28 PM
Originally posted by Jmac
LOL

That's just mean !!! :D

my bad...i'll send you youre $3 check tomorrow...:D ;)

violator5spd
01-05-2003, 08:39 PM
ohhhhh, my bad