PDA

View Full Version : grounding rca and sound quality



danz24
11-09-2006, 03:01 PM
I heard from my local dealer that I should not ground the RCA to head unit because I will lose sound quality. Is this true??

I have the 880PRS
One more thing, is it possible to get rid of the beeping noise every time i'm scrolling through the menu, its really annoying

SpasticGramps
11-09-2006, 03:17 PM
:laugh: :laugh:

danz24
11-09-2006, 03:29 PM
whats so funny?

SpasticGramps
11-09-2006, 03:44 PM
You don't ground RCA cables. They are just cables that connect your headunit to amps/eq etc. You ground amps, headunits, eq's, and other hardware. Yes make sure your headunit is well grounded. The only way you'd screw up your SQ from grounding your headunit is if you induced a ground loop.

As for the beeping sound... http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pna/v3/pg/product/details/0,,2076_310069882_291159496_tab=D,00.html?compName =PNA_V3_ProductDetailsComponent

jacka
11-09-2006, 03:45 PM
You don't ground RCA cables. They are just cables that connect your headunit to amps/eq etc. You ground amps, headunits, eq's, and other hardware. Yes make sure your headunit is well grounded. The only way you'd screw up your SQ from grounding your headunit is if you induced a ground loop.

As for the beeping sound... http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pna/v3/pg/product/details/0,,2076_310069882_291159496_tab=D,00.html?compName =PNA_V3_ProductDetailsComponent

:laugh: :laugh:

ultimate157
11-09-2006, 03:49 PM
You don't ground RCA cables. They are just cables that connect your headunit to amps/eq etc. You ground amps, headunits, eq's, and other hardware. Yes make sure your headunit is well grounded. The only way you'd screw up your SQ from grounding your headunit is if you induced a ground loop.

As for the beeping sound... http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pna/v3/pg/product/details/0,,2076_310069882_291159496_tab=D,00.html?compName =PNA_V3_ProductDetailsComponent

lol @ you.

But seriously, grounding your RCA's will only HELP your 800PRS. You will not lose sound quality at all.

Go back to your dealer and tell him hes an idiot:rolleyes:

edit: However do not mess with it if you DONT have the ground loop issue

azbass
11-09-2006, 03:50 PM
iv never had rca, or ground noise. hmm, iv never had a pioneer either.

reneeb7363
11-09-2006, 03:58 PM
According to JIM....lol ...

jmanpc actually put up a post in the electrical and wiring forum that shows how he grounded his Pioneer head unit... http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=191860 post # 9-- (dunno where the rest of it went) guess their is some design flaw in most pioneer head units causing them to be noisy... he had a picture on there showing how he resolved his problem... The "ground" is basically a sheild for the inner conductor and a well grounded system, front to back, will be quieter, or possibly even noise free.

azbass
11-09-2006, 04:02 PM
that was the most stupid thing i have ever seen.

azbass
11-09-2006, 04:03 PM
and people need to stop grounding their HU in the dash.

SpasticGramps
11-09-2006, 04:09 PM
well maybe somebody can explain grounding an RCA to me, cause I've always just plugged my RCA cable into my headunit and run it to the amps or eq and then run other RCAs to my amps. And then find a good ground with a DMM and cleaned it with sandpaper to get to bare metal and ground all my stuff.

SpasticGramps
11-09-2006, 04:22 PM
i stand corrected. I've never heard such a thing, but then again i never had a ground loop issue here are a couple of threads.

http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=4481&highlight=ground+rca

http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=4481&highlight=ground+rca

http://forum.sounddomain.com/forum/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=3;t=016002#000000

reneeb7363
11-09-2006, 04:26 PM
one common ground is agreeably the best...and prevents possible ground loop noise. I dodnt post the pic, I just showed you what had been done to help prevent a problem... I took my HU (A pioneer) out of the dash and wrapped it the same way, grounding to the case, and I bet 80% of the noise went away... the rest of it, I am applying "Insulators" to the hu where it mounts and touches and metal in the dash. Still need to run a ground wire to my amps ground block, about 3 feet away.

ultimate157
11-09-2006, 09:23 PM
that was the most stupid thing i have ever seen.

Are you talking about the back of my HU ? That's my picture. It is a common problem for a ground to fail inside certain Pioneer head units. The ground then goes through the RCA's, instead of the normal ground wire. Therefor grounding the RCA's to the head unit case eliminates the ground loop through the RCA's.