PDA

View Full Version : Variovent for Midbass?

xtremekustomz
11-08-2006, 10:47 PM
Anyone use a variovent (aperiodic vent) for their midbass? If so does it work well?

kicker06
11-09-2006, 12:07 AM
I think all sealed up tight keeps the midbass strong. Haven't really heard of a ported midbass setup. May be louder (probably not) but it wouldn't retain it's punchiness. This is just my opinion, it may be wrong it may not be.

T3mpest
11-09-2006, 03:06 AM
Anyone use a variovent (aperiodic vent) for their midbass? If so does it work well?

Depends on the driver I've never done anything AP before, never needed to.

xtremekustomz
11-09-2006, 08:50 PM
Well I've got a Dynaudio 8" that runs up to 900 hz and it isn't working well in the doors so I need to move it to the kick. A variovent doesn't work like a port. Basically you have the midbass in a sealed enclosure, and you have a variovent that goes into a large chamber or outside of the vehicle for extra air space. It is supposed to make the sealed enclosure seem like it is 20% larger than what it is. And I don't have a minimum of .5 cu ft. in each kick panel to spare for my midbass.

squeak9798
11-09-2006, 09:44 PM
I think all sealed up tight keeps the midbass strong.

Usually completely sealing kickpanels worsens the midbass....unless you have absolutely huge kickpanels.

squeak9798
11-09-2006, 09:52 PM

Never done a true AP enclosure myself. And frankly, they have kind of gone by the wayside these days.

But, when setup properly they should perform admirably. IIRC Dynaudio drivers perform well in AP setups.

Do some searching on this forum http://forum.elitecaraudio.com/index.php and you should find more AP info than you'll ever need.

heyman421
11-09-2006, 09:57 PM
all it would do is show the speaker a slightly larger enclosure.

you may be able to hold a flat response into lower frequencies than you would without it, but you wont gain any output.