PDA

View Full Version : Calling: Eclipse owners w/ magic gate/memory stick



ItalynStylion
11-06-2006, 08:58 PM
To start off list the memory stick compatible unit that you have for reference...I have the CD8445

The question
My manual says that I can stick a CD in and rip it to the memory stick as ATRAC3 files and I can play them from the deck. The directions seem easy but I cant seem to get it to work. Has anyone gotten this to work and can walk me through it?
Now I know that the unit only can use a 128mb stick and that MP3's dont work on it but I've got a 32mb stick that I was trying to get it to work on and it doesn't workout for me. I always get to that spot when it says..."Record 1 track" or "all" and when i try to select All....nothing happens:eyebrow:

What am I doing wrong:crying:

BoondockSaints
11-06-2006, 09:41 PM
Maybe all the songs dont fit on your 32 MB memory stick, cuz most CDs are what 700 MB...

ItalynStylion
11-06-2006, 09:53 PM
Maybe all the songs dont fit on your 32 MB memory stick, cuz most CDs are what 700 MB...

Its a good thought but I tried recording a single track and that didn't work either. I really want to get this to work. I have a CD that I always have on my MP3 disc and it would be nice to rip it once onto the Mem stick and then I wouldnt have to keep adding it to a CD every time I burn a new disc...

PS: If you rip a CD even at 192kbps its only about 70mb

azbass
11-06-2006, 10:03 PM
i never used it.................

BoondockSaints
11-06-2006, 10:12 PM
I knew it was a 70 something lol... just didnt feel like getting up to look.

ItalynStylion
11-06-2006, 11:35 PM
Seriously, out of all the eclipse owners on this forum someone has to have figured this **** thing out...

the727kid
11-06-2006, 11:39 PM
Idk even what my memory stick is for on my CD5000....I just know you can put a memory stick int here lol.

bdawson72
11-06-2006, 11:42 PM
i have it but i can honestly say that i have never used it

95_venger
11-08-2006, 01:57 AM
i own eclipse and have never used that feature but i do want to use area shot

Abneriel
11-08-2006, 04:44 AM
is it regular atrac3?

because atrac3 plus is not compatible

also, I know with the CD7k it only allows certain memory sticks to be used for music playback (blue or while Memory Stick Duo's is what it says in the online manual)

not sure if it's the same with yours though

XaznKewLguyX
11-08-2006, 04:53 AM
lol ill join in to say that i have it and also never used it but i do plan somewhere along the future.

dgr00s
11-08-2006, 07:42 AM
i got my 8455 to accidentally record live radio for about 10 seconds once, not sure how though. i know it works.

ItalynStylion
11-08-2006, 08:21 AM
i got my 8455 to accidentally record live radio for about 10 seconds once, not sure how though. i know it works.
What sort of memory stick do you have? I know how to do it but mine just wont work...

dgr00s
11-08-2006, 09:42 AM
i have the 32MB that came with the headunit. have you tried formatting it and then recording?

ItalynStylion
11-08-2006, 10:37 AM
yeah, I have a 32mb from my camera that i formated. I can get that to work but it just wont freakin record!

dgr00s
11-08-2006, 06:01 PM
sorry, i have no clue. :(

xravexboix
11-16-2006, 01:03 AM
yeah, I have a 32mb from my camera that i formated. I can get that to work but it just wont freakin record!

Older ATRAC formats from Sony required something called DRM or something like that.. basically limiting the file to be played only on the computer (this case headunit) that it was ripped on. The MAGIC-GATE (white cards) will work with this, but the normal blue/purple ones and the PRO line will not work (according to the manual). My friend borrowed my 2gb Pro, so I'll be testing it once I get it back... it's only $45 after rebate at Costco right now :p:

Bolognablake
11-16-2006, 01:51 AM
Older ATRAC formats from Sony required something called DRM or something like that.. basically limiting the file to be played only on the computer (this case headunit) that it was ripped on. The MAGIC-GATE (white cards) will work with this, but the normal blue/purple ones and the PRO line will not work (according to the manual). My friend borrowed my 2gb Pro, so I'll be testing it once I get it back... it's only $45 after rebate at Costco right now :p:

The 1GB cards are only 26.99 now at Costco. :D

I've heard of older cameras not working with the newer MemoryStick Pros. So you may be having the same issue.

ItalynStylion
11-16-2006, 03:22 PM
^^thats the one i got! I was like, "1 gig, Daaaaamn" But i need it for the camera too so eh, whatever.

Where can i get one of those white ones?

sohzc
12-24-2006, 10:18 AM
I have the 8455 and I believe the reason it is not saving the music is because you didn't format the magicgate correctly I had to call Eclipse and have them walk me threw the steps because it is very complicated to format. So call Eclipse for tech support .

Slaugh
12-24-2006, 11:42 AM
haha, you guys havent yet realized memory card are still NOT worth for audio purposes? stick with the CD-RW+MP3 thing or jump to a DVD-RW+MP3 if you really need to carry a lot of songs

whitemax
12-24-2006, 06:36 PM
On my CD8455 I just held down the Function button for a couple of seconds and it would start recording the track that was currently playing.


This little feature came in handy as I had some songs my little girl liked on there.

I have not been able to do this on my CD7000. It can still play the Atrac3 files, but it cannot rip them. The Sony program I have on my computer does not recognize the memory stick, so I cannot put music on it.....