PDA

View Full Version : TC-3000 12" enclosure build up. lots of pics.



PowerNaudio
11-06-2006, 09:21 AM
specs and design.
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/30906262188.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3918389)
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/3090650029.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3918425)
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/30906500375.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3918426)
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/30906500311.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3918427)
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/30906500352.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3918428)


step 1 : accembled the bottom, sides and rear baffle, and mocked up everything to assure proper fitment of all cut pieces before assembly.
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/30820351080.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3914252)
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/30820351095.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3914253)
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/30820351079.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3914254)
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/30820351188.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3914255)
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/30820351160.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3914256)

PowerNaudio
11-06-2006, 09:29 AM
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/30820351122.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3914257)

step 2 : installed the first corner angle.
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/30820351230.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3914258)

step 3 : painted the port and accembled the first port baffle.
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/30820351299.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3914259)

step 4 : added the braces,front baffles, the second baffle and finished the port and angles.
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/30820351263.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3914260)
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/30820351324.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3914261)
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/30820351382.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3914262)
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/30820351324.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3914263)
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/30820351478.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3914264)

step 5 : added a small brace to the ports to help eliminate unwanted resonance.
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/30820351443.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3914265)
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/30820351445.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3914266)

PowerNaudio
11-06-2006, 09:29 AM
step 5 : placed the top baffle and secured it.
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/30820351552.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3914267)


the next step will be done today after work which will be to cut the hole for the port and sub.


please post any questions or comments regarding the build.

laters

lslugz
11-06-2006, 09:31 AM
Nice build.

ramos
11-06-2006, 09:31 AM
Good lord that's a long arse port :D Looks nice so far :)

dalucifer
11-06-2006, 09:31 AM
Man you **** at building boxes..!!!
















































j/k...Awesome work :)

QtrHorse
11-06-2006, 09:37 AM
Very nice box build.

What software are you using to make the 3D images of the box and I assume your actually drawing the whole thing from scratch?

SHiZNiLTi
11-06-2006, 09:41 AM
WOW!!! Sweet design, I've allways been interested in that port design. I was thinking about building a box like that, but have the lid 1" plexi so you could see the crazy port design.

Carpet or Paint?

skadude016
11-06-2006, 09:43 AM
its like a ****** maze! haha

nice build :)

Lckmyblls
11-06-2006, 09:45 AM
nice...

60ndown
11-06-2006, 09:52 AM
i dont see where the fire extinguisher is going to sit?

very nice work

PowerNaudio
11-06-2006, 10:57 AM
Very nice box build.

What software are you using to make the 3D images of the box and I assume your actually drawing the whole thing from scratch?

yes i did. every enclosure i design gets its own individual 3d design to actual dimensions.


WOW!!! Sweet design, I've allways been interested in that port design. I was thinking about building a box like that, but have the lid 1" plexi so you could see the crazy port design.
that sounds like a cool idea. Hmmm.


Carpet or Paint?
im thinking paint. but since this is just a testing enclosure i may just leave it naked. and paint the next one.


Nice build.
thanks


Good lord that's a long arse port :D Looks nice so far :)
thanks,and yeah i would say 72" of port is pretty long. lol


Man you **** at building boxes..!!!
j/k...Awesome work :)
lol maybe one day ill get good.



its like a ****** maze! haha

nice build :)
thanks. its a labyrinth port. mostly used in 1/4 wave enclosures, but the same technik helps get the long port in the limited space.


nice...
thanks



very nice work
thanks.

PowerNaudio
11-06-2006, 11:00 AM
here are a couple of pics of the sub.
in comparison to a 12" type r.
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/30413373995.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3870855)
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/30413373911.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3870854)
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/30413373998.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3870853)
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/30413373852.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3870852)
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/30413373841.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3870851)
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/30413373836.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3870850)

Dozy_production
11-06-2006, 11:02 AM
how heavy is it?

PowerNaudio
11-06-2006, 11:31 AM
i havent weight it in, but it feels around 45lb to 50lb.
its pretty heavy. thats if youre talking about the sub.

if youre talking about the box i would say about 70lb

mazdakid
11-06-2006, 12:58 PM
awesome that the port is half of the box

ty1er
11-06-2006, 01:49 PM
Nice job. How big is that box, and what is it tuned to?

80INCHES
11-06-2006, 01:54 PM
that does look good

80

Big Dee
11-06-2006, 05:37 PM
I've always wondered how to port a TC-3000, I imagined it would take a long *** port that would take up a lot of space......yeah, like yours.

Nice job on the box and design.

Have you considered using PR's instead? You could have a tiny little box using them, and it would be very B.A. (that's for bad ***, I just shortened it), it would be a BAMF. (bas *** mother ******, again, shortened)

baseballer1100
11-06-2006, 05:40 PM
Sick sick work looks good man.

kickerlivinloud
11-06-2006, 05:43 PM
Wouldn't that many bends cause some turbulance (sp?) or maybe port noise. I've always tryied to stay away form lots of port bends but what do i know? Not much I'll tell ya that...


Either way, looks awesome!! U Deffenelty got some skill there!!


Jon

woody89
11-06-2006, 11:35 PM
Really nice looking box. Good work.

danteBirosel
11-06-2006, 11:59 PM
Looks great Hector! Keep coming with the pics!! Excited to see the final result. Btw, sorry if i didn't respond last night. I'll tell you what happen over on YM.


Get at me bro! Lata.


Dante

Josh #44
11-07-2006, 12:04 AM
Amazing build quality, man. Question. What exactly do you gain by having a port like that? Whats the purpose? (honest question) :hide:

baseballer1100
11-07-2006, 12:08 AM
yeah we want the FINISHED PICS!!!








j/p. But seriously

danteBirosel
11-07-2006, 12:12 AM
Amazing build quality, man. Question. What exactly do you gain by having a port like that? Whats the purpose? (honest question) :hide:


The purpose is to have a low tuned enclosure? How else would he get a low tuned enclosure? He's not looking forward for high numbers on this enclosure, but he's looking for clean, low, and loud bass.


24 hz ftw!!!

Wkbdkid
11-07-2006, 12:19 AM
24hz:omg: thats what i had my HT tunned at. But wouldnt tunning it to 29hz yeild the same performance, since theres no difference when tunning is below 30?

ssj2xxgotenxx
11-07-2006, 01:02 AM
That port is insane. You could put some lab mice in there, and they still wouldn't be able to find their way out.

xluben
11-07-2006, 01:15 AM
wouldn't a larger, higher tuned box allow you to achieve more output (and possibly a flatter response curve if cabin gain is correctly accounted for)?

PowerNaudio
11-07-2006, 08:28 AM
sorry for the late reply and lack of pics my internet was down last night and my wife took my cam. but ill have pics later on today. and thanks for the compliment.
let me answer some q? for you guys.


I've always wondered how to port a TC-3000, I imagined it would take a long *** port that would take up a lot of space......yeah, like yours.

Nice job on the box and design.

Have you considered using PR's instead? You could have a tiny little box using them, and it would be very B.A. (that's for bad ***, I just shortened it), it would be a BAMF. (bas *** mother ******, again, shortened)
i have considered it. but not for this build. maybe for the next one.



Wouldn't that many bends cause some turbulance (sp?) or maybe port noise. I've always tryied to stay away form lots of port bends but what do i know? Not much I'll tell ya that...


Either way, looks awesome!! U Deffenelty got some skill there!!


Jon
thanks, same here i try to keep the port as straight as posible. but in this case. with the lack of space i had to go with this kind of port. but to help control turbulance i have added 45* angles on every 180* bend. this should keep port noise to a minimum.


Looks great Hector! Keep coming with the pics!! Excited to see the final result. Btw, sorry if i didn't respond last night. I'll tell you what happen over on YM.


Get at me bro! Lata.


Dante
ill be on later tonight. will talk laters.


Amazing build quality, man. Question. What exactly do you gain by having a port like that? Whats the purpose? (honest question) :hide:



The purpose is to have a low tuned enclosure? How else would he get a low tuned enclosure? He's not looking forward for high numbers on this enclosure, but he's looking for clean, low, and loud bass.


24 hz ftw!!!
there is the answere to josh. thanks dante.


24hz:omg: thats what i had my HT tunned at. But wouldnt tunning it to 29hz yeild the same performance, since theres no difference when tunning is below 30?
it does make a diffrence tuning below 29Hz or 30Hz, it would of given me a peak at those freaks. wich i did not want. i was actualy looking for the flatest freq responce i can get. so that when cabin gaing comes in to play it wouldnt take much eqing to bring it back to flat. instead of trying to boost freqs. i just attenuate the freqs which is easier.


wouldn't a larger, higher tuned box allow you to achieve more output (and possibly a flatter response curve if cabin gain is correctly accounted for)?

its a trunk car. not an suv so there are allot of factors that take away then gain. cabin gain would be very difficult to calculate. so starting with a flat tuned enclosure will be way easyer to tune then having an enclosure wich has lots of peaks and valeys on the freq responce.

you see, you dont accomplish the same by wiping your *** before you take a ****, as you do if you wipe after. right. lol j/k

pics will be up later. and if i get it installed ill provide a review.
laters

PowerNaudio
11-07-2006, 11:57 AM
well after posting that last reply, i disided to install and test out the monster sub. so i triple checked the quad coil config wiring to make sure i didnt have to pull the thing out of the car, checked the polarity of each coil to make sure they where properly laveled from the factory and and also checked the impedance of each coil, everything checked green, wired it and checked the load and it was right at 1.4ohms.

heavy as hell enclosure with the sub in it, so i had a hard time puting it in the small trunk of the prelude. wire the amp up triple checked everything and green again.
whent inside the car for a test. and the sound was very fainted. so i checked the amp. its all good "again". pulled the enclosure out. pulled the sub out. not only checked the quad voice coil wiring, but also replaced the wires with some brand spanking new 12awg instead of the 10awg for ease of wireing. checked the coils again, installed it back in the enclosure and back into the car. same thing. no sound there is about a 1/4"p/p movement with the music at full blast. the voice coil got hot after a couple of minutes of trying to figure out what it was, so i shut it down and removed it from the car, pulled the sub out again. double checked the wireing, everything looks good. so im like what the ****. so i checked the amp with my previews enclosure and alpine type R and booom booom. all good.

well guess what i just found out after all that trouble shooting. the magnets dont have any strength. none, 0, well it has enogh to move the coil about 1/4" peak to peak at almost 1kw of power.

but it doesnt have enoght strength to even pick up a screw. **** there goes that review.

sorry for the long trouble shoting rant but im pissed at this bullshit.

danteBirosel
11-07-2006, 12:37 PM
Oh wow... That is really interesting bro. Wouldn't expect that to happen. Did you call TC yet?

PowerNaudio
11-07-2006, 12:44 PM
i sent heather an email to see what we could do. but if she doesnt respond i guess ill give them a call.

yeah i realy had my hoppes up on this sub. and look what happens.
i guess i should of bought a btl like you did. lol

j3bus2k3
11-07-2006, 12:46 PM
well after posting that last reply, i disided to install and test out the monster sub. so i triple checked the quad coil config wiring to make sure i didnt have to pull the thing out of the car, checked the polarity of each coil to make sure they where properly laveled from the factory and and also checked the impedance of each coil, everything checked green, wired it and checked the load and it was right at 1.4ohms.

heavy as hell enclosure with the sub in it, so i had a hard time puting it in the small trunk of the prelude. wire the amp up triple checked everything and green again.
whent inside the car for a test. and the sound was very fainted. so i checked the amp. its all good "again". pulled the enclosure out. pulled the sub out. not only checked the quad voice coil wiring, but also replaced the wires with some brand spanking new 12awg instead of the 10awg for ease of wireing. checked the coils again, installed it back in the enclosure and back into the car. same thing. no sound there is about a 1/4"p/p movement with the music at full blast. the voice coil got hot after a couple of minutes of trying to figure out what it was, so i shut it down and removed it from the car, pulled the sub out again. double checked the wireing, everything looks good. so im like what the ****. so i checked the amp with my previews enclosure and alpine type R and booom booom. all good.

well guess what i just found out after all that trouble shooting. the magnets dont have any strength. none, 0, well it has enogh to move the coil about 1/4" peak to peak at almost 1kw of power.

but it doesnt have enoght strength to even pick up a screw. **** there goes that review.

sorry for the long trouble shoting rant but im pissed at this bullshit.

Wow...I dont think I've ever heard an instance of dead magnets...good luck getting that ish fixed.

danteBirosel
11-07-2006, 12:47 PM
:up2somet: remember when we were doodling on YM. i told you btl > tc


:laugh: ;)

PowerNaudio
11-07-2006, 12:47 PM
whats funny to me is that she had sent me an email. stating The speaker needs to be polished tested for QC purposes and re-packaged before they can send it to me.

i take it those step where skiped and they just sent it.

PowerNaudio
11-07-2006, 12:48 PM
:up2somet: remember when we were doodling on YM. i told you btl > tc


:laugh: ;)

so true lmfao

i have never heard of a dead magnet ither. but when nothing sticks to the magnet. there is a firt time for anything, i guess.
unless they have found the most effitient way of transfering every magnet flux wave to the top plate. then i could be wrong.
lol

Immacomputer
11-07-2006, 01:22 PM
Out of curiosity, have you tried powering the coils separately with low power?

Big Dee
11-07-2006, 01:22 PM
WTF? I don't even know how that could happen ....lawl.

I was on the fence about the TC-3000 vs BTL, now it's BTL all the way, too many quality control problems it seems with the TC.

PowerNaudio
11-07-2006, 01:29 PM
Out of curiosity, have you tried powering the coils separately with low power?

yes i actualy did, i tested every voice coil independently and couldnt get any more the 1/4" of movement peak to peak. it weird. i have no clue how this could of happened. the voice coils are good. they just dont have any bl force from the magnet to move it.

i had the same thoughts BTL vs TC-3000. i just figured that a company that has been in the market for so long would had fixed any issiues way back in the day.

maybe this is an isolated case.

what are the posiblities of a magnet loosing its strength doring shipping?
i think none. but im no expert at speaker building.

PowerNaudio
11-07-2006, 03:14 PM
well quick news for those that are reading this.

i just got of the phone talked to heather from TC Sounds. and they are sending a replacement sub. and they are paying for mine to be sent to them. but since they didnt have any TC-3000 12" in stock. she told me they had the TC-3000 15" in stock if i wanted and ofcoarse i had to aggree.

so they are sending me a 15" for my troubles. nice. they realy have a great customer service.
i just hope this one will work lol. im sure it will. hehe. but **** a 15" in replacement of a 12" i think thats very very good. at no extra charge. that freaking awsome.

it was worth the headache that i whent trugh today. now im realy siked about this.

Sonnick
11-07-2006, 03:33 PM
well quick news for those that are reading this.

i just got of the phone talked to heather from TC Sounds. and they are sending a replacement sub. and they are paying for mine to be sent to them. but since they didnt have any TC-3000 12" in stock. she told me they had the TC-3000 15" in stock if i wanted and ofcoarse i had to aggree.

so they are sending me a 15" for my troubles. nice. they realy have a great customer service.
i just hope this one will work lol. im sure it will. hehe. but **** a 15" in replacement of a 12" i think thats very very good. at no extra charge. that freaking awsome.

it was worth the headache that i whent trugh today. now im realy siked about this.
Glad it got cleared up. That's sweet they sent you a 15 in place of a 12.

Now all you gotta do is build a new box. Lol

PowerNaudio
11-07-2006, 03:36 PM
Glad it got cleared up. That's sweet they sent you a 15 in place of a 12.

Now all you gotta do is build a new box. Lol

i was thinking the same thing right after i got of the phone with them. haha
i have a limited trunk space so i guess this next enclosure will include the spare tire well and some fiberglass. that will be a hell of a build up.

any one needs an enclosure for a 12" sub?. haha

iamamp3pimp
11-07-2006, 03:45 PM
24hz:omg: thats what i had my HT tunned at. But wouldnt tunning it to 29hz yeild the same performance, since theres no difference when tunning is below 30?


where did you hear that

iamamp3pimp
11-07-2006, 03:50 PM
all that happend is someone goofed and didnt magnetize the magnets. it is an isolated incident, but the box is looking bad ***....

BAMF style

Sonnick
11-07-2006, 03:55 PM
but the box is looking bad ***....

BAMF style
:word:

PowerNaudio
11-07-2006, 04:11 PM
thanks guys. too bad im not going to be able to put it too use. lol

disturbedfuel15
11-07-2006, 10:53 PM
Turn it into an extremely heavy mouse cage.

Rc 415
11-07-2006, 11:10 PM
wait you can, just take the 4 screws off the top assembly of both subs and put the 12 assembly on the motor that came with the 15 just to test your box, then when you build the 15 box switch the top assemblies out again.

http://www.tcsounds.com.unixweb-7.nethere.net/tctop.htm
ftw

PowerNaudio
11-07-2006, 11:25 PM
wait you can, just take the 4 screws off the top assembly of both subs and put the 12 assembly on the motor that came with the 15 just to test your box, then when you build the 15 box switch the top assemblies out again.

http://www.tcsounds.com.unixweb-7.nethere.net/tctop.htm
ftw

i was thinking of doing that. but they are expecting me to ship this one sub as soon as i get the other sub in. :up2somet:
do you think theyll mind muahahahaa

SHiZNiLTi
11-07-2006, 11:30 PM
Whats the weight on that box, shipping to AZ? I'm thinking this would make a good HT box for my buddies new house.

PowerNaudio
11-07-2006, 11:34 PM
Whats the weight on that box, shipping to AZ? I'm thinking this would make a good HT box for my buddies new house.
it may be aroun 60lb to 70lb not sure. as you can see its very heavy duty built. and yeah it would be perfect for a home theater system.
they usualy charge like a 15% less the the weight.
and az is not that far from killeen tx.
if youre realy interested pm me a price for the enclosure. or get on yahoo messanger im on right now. and we can talk.

Rc 415
11-07-2006, 11:35 PM
i was thinking of doing that. but they are expecting me to ship this one sub as soon as i get the other sub in. :up2somet:
do you think theyll mind muahahahaa

naaah its not like they are going to be checking the tracking number anyway lol.

PowerNaudio
11-07-2006, 11:39 PM
naaah its not like they are going to be checking the tracking number anyway lol.

i dont know i like to keep things honest.
you know.

PowerNaudio
11-22-2006, 06:12 PM
although i never got to use it with the tc sub. i did installed a 12" type r from one of the projects i have going, all i can say its wow. i didn't think the type r could hit soo low so good. i like it. it was low and loud. it response was pretty much from 30Hz to 90Hz this is playing tones and using my ears to tell for how clean it sounded.
here are the final pics of the enclosure.
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/32515214193.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=4060719)
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/32508553766.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=4057782)
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/32508553724.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=4057781)
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/31214262618.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3948884)
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/11/31214262614.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3948883)


the neighbor heard it pounding in the trunk of my car from his living room. lol he came out to see what the hell it was. since he has two 15" in his suv, he couldnt belive that it was a single 12", haha, he offered me $120 for it, but the wife didn't agree on the purchase. so im stuck with it.
so i think i might put it up for sale on this forum. or get another 12" type r and put it in my wifes minivan, haha. not!

i don't think making to whole bigger to fit the 15" will do the sub justice.
so i have other plans for the TC-3000 15" sub. something like taking the seats out of the back and making some sort of fiberglass install back there.

who knows.
ill probably make a thread about it later.


laters

iamamp3pimp
11-22-2006, 06:24 PM
thats a ridiculous box bro. build like atank.

im still waiting to try that

baseballer1100
11-22-2006, 06:29 PM
Thats sweet.

SQBubble
11-22-2006, 06:40 PM
lollll,

i like your neighbors

PowerNaudio
11-22-2006, 07:27 PM
thats a ridiculous box bro. build like atank.

im still waiting to try that

lol thanks, i told you about the bracing. it actualy helps big time. and there is nothing to it.


Thats sweet.

thanks mang


lollll,

i like your neighbors

yeah i like them too. i have about 4 or 5 neighbors that are into sound systems. they are all in the military like me. so we get along even better. plus i only blast my system during a test sesion. not always. so they know that if they hear loud bass coming from my house. its because im testing a new system out. so they like to check it out some times. they never get mad. lol