PDA

View Full Version : pioneer 780MP installation issue



drwang
11-06-2006, 04:36 AM
I'm upgrading from the pioneer deh470mp to the deh780mp. I bought it online and I thought the wiring would be the same since they are the same brand but it's different.
I had the 470mp installed free from circuit city and I took the 780mp with me asking them if they had a harness for it. They said i could just match the colors and solder the wires together. Is there an easier way to do this or is the guy right? I can solder it but I'm just afraid that if I mess up, it's going to be an ugly mess. So do I just start cutting wires on the harness on have?

Thanks for the help guys.

supa_c
11-06-2006, 04:44 AM
You can use crimp connectors, also called butt splices.

crow
11-06-2006, 07:25 PM
Go here for the install manual on the DEH-P780MP if you don't already have one. The wiring diagram is on the first page.

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/vgn/images/portal/cit_11221/310077272DEHP780MPInstallationManual.pdf

The adapter harness should come with a diagram to help match things up.

I used butt connectors when I installed mine. Only thing about them is they can get a bit bulky behind the dash. Otherwise, they work fine as long as you get a good secure crimp.

300m_on_xxx
11-06-2006, 07:30 PM
You can use crimp connectors, also called butt splices.

x2 on that it will be the best

300m_on_xxx
11-06-2006, 07:32 PM
supa_c i cilcked it and now i cant see

supa_c
11-06-2006, 07:46 PM
I told you not to click it !

ngsm13
11-06-2006, 07:53 PM
x2 on that it will be the best

Incorrect.

Solder + E-tape > Crimp/Butt-splice

nG

ngsm13
11-06-2006, 07:53 PM
I'm upgrading from the pioneer deh470mp to the deh780mp. I bought it online and I thought the wiring would be the same since they are the same brand but it's different.
I had the 470mp installed free from circuit city and I took the 780mp with me asking them if they had a harness for it. They said i could just match the colors and solder the wires together. Is there an easier way to do this or is the guy right? I can solder it but I'm just afraid that if I mess up, it's going to be an ugly mess. So do I just start cutting wires on the harness on have?

Thanks for the help guys.

Also if CC installed it, they used what is called a SmartHarness.

Jut plug what you have into the back of the new Piooner Radio. Should plug right in.

nG

supa_c
11-06-2006, 07:55 PM
Incorrect.

Solder + E-tape > Crimp/Butt-splice

nG
Solder+ heat shrink ;)

xploit2
11-06-2006, 11:00 PM
whats makes soldering the wires betteR?

drwang
11-07-2006, 12:38 AM
solder is a better connection of course.

As for the smart harness, I took another look at it today and it doesn't fit. Looks like I'll have to match colors and solder it. Hopefully I don't screw up.

drwang
11-07-2006, 12:40 AM
Although it does seem wierd that if CC used an aftermarket harness, it should plug right in.