PDA

View Full Version : What Do I Need To Build My First Box?

chartman18
11-06-2006, 03:46 AM
My friend/neighbor supposedly he says has all the woodworking machinery needed to cut/make a subwoofer box, so thats settled. I will be getting a huge sheet of 3/4z MDF wood enough to make 2 boxes (but only need one), for about $25 tops, and apparently I need screws, drill and thats all I really know.

Since Im a beginner, Im not sure what kind of glue or whatever Ill need to hold the wood together, then screw it together afterwords, I dont know what 'polyfill' is, nor what else I may need to make a good first box. Other than carpet, machinery, drill, screws and wood, what else do I need?

Thanks if you can help me out.

Pyro_By_Nature
11-06-2006, 03:52 AM
Titebond original or titebond II woodglue.

chartman18
11-06-2006, 03:54 AM
Titebond original or titebond II woodglue.

Alright, can I get that at Lowes? (Trying to make a one-stop trip for all my materials) And Im assuming thats glue used to hold the wood together before screwing them together?

supa_c
There is a thread floating around here with all the necessary items you will need.
search for it, bound to pop up

xbdrx
I use Elmers wood glue, but it really doesnt matter what kind. As long as the box isn't smaller than recommended, you wont need polyfill. Make sure you drill out each holes before you sink in the screws...or you will split the wood. You should also get some liquad nails or something to seal up the inside of the box.

chartman18
11-06-2006, 03:58 AM
I use Elmers wood glue, but it really doesnt matter what kind. As long as the box isn't smaller than recommended, you wont need polyfill. Make sure you drill out each holes before you sink in the screws...or you will split the wood. You should also get some liquad nails or something to seal up the inside of the box.