PDA

View Full Version : New Alpine worth having with added proccessing?



Motovet
11-05-2006, 06:12 PM
I have a couple of the PPI DCX-730's on the way, and have sent back a Pio 880 for noise issues. I have always liked the Alpines for SQ, but not impressed like many with the new line. BUT....with proccessing?

squeak9798
11-05-2006, 06:14 PM
Sure, go for it.


The main "problem" with the new Alpines is that they stripped away all but the most basic features. If you have the external processing that you need, then your options are pretty much unlimited. In which case....if you like Alpine, no reason not to give them a solid look.

iceteebone
11-05-2006, 11:31 PM
i also have a ppi dcx-730 and i got an alpine 9856. my complaint on the alpine is the total lack of features, but with the processor, i don't need those. biggest factor for me was the full-speed ipod control, and it is just that, full speed. really like the ipod interface.

Motovet
11-06-2006, 01:34 AM
Honestly I spend most of the time listening to XM these days....but I guess more specifically, do the Alpines still have quality internals for CD playback?

Motovet
11-06-2006, 01:36 AM
i also have a ppi dcx-730 and i got an alpine 9856. my complaint on the alpine is the total lack of features, but with the processor, i don't need those. biggest factor for me was the full-speed ipod control, and it is just that, full speed. really like the ipod interface.


I may need a little direction once I start playing with the proccessor. Looks like the manual is a bit vague....

pwnt by pat
11-06-2006, 02:07 AM
I may need a little direction once I start playing with the proccessor. Looks like the manual is a bit vague....

It tells you enough to get you by

iceteebone
11-06-2006, 10:14 AM
I may need a little direction once I start playing with the proccessor. Looks like the manual is a bit vague....

the manual of wich one, the processer or the head unit? i like this alpine for what I need it for. i only needed something with 3 preouts, xm ready, and a good ipod interface and it has all 3 so i'm happy with it. however if i wanted any sort of processing with it, i'd totally be disgusted with it.

pwnt by pat
11-06-2006, 10:37 AM
Yeah, it's the processing manual which ***** a nut. It tells you how to access everything, but not what everything actually does...

like switching betwean pcm mode or whatever.

iceteebone
11-06-2006, 10:38 AM
haven't looked at the manual yet. won't install it till spring so it sits in my closet :(

pwnt by pat
11-06-2006, 10:52 AM
Don't get me wrong, it's fun... once you get the hang of it

Motovet
11-06-2006, 12:15 PM
Is there a thread somewhere going on the PPI? And I was wondering if anyone in the know could confirm Alpine hasen't gone down hill on the inside.

And also....will that PPI do anything for me if I decide to mount my Germanium tweets in the pillars and run them passive?......time correction wise.....

ngsm13
11-06-2006, 12:25 PM
Is there a thread somewhere going on the PPI? And I was wondering if anyone in the know could confirm Alpine hasen't gone down hill on the inside.

And also....will that PPI do anything for me if I decide to mount my Germanium tweets in the pillars and run them passive?......time correction wise.....

Passive?

Are the Germs bi-ampable?

If you run them straight passive, no the PPI will not be able to do anything time alignment wise... bi-ampable... maybe.

nG

squeak9798
11-06-2006, 05:59 PM
Is there a thread somewhere going on the PPI?

http://forum.elitecaraudio.com/showthread.php?threadid=136402

http://www.diymobileaudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=6081

Have fun :naughty:


And I was wondering if anyone in the know could confirm Alpine hasen't gone down hill on the inside.

As long as you don't need a ton of internal features (which you don't), then they are perfectly fine.


And also....will that PPI do anything for me if I decide to mount my Germanium tweets in the pillars and run them passive?......time correction wise.....

The PPI's time correction will still help..some. Not as optimally though, since the mids and tweeters will be different distances from you, but you'll have to delay them equally.

Motovet
11-06-2006, 06:33 PM
Bi amping is available on those ...yes, but for now I have amps layed out and for the fronts it is a 2 channel Zed. Maybe farther down the road... Thanks for the replies .