PDA

View Full Version : How to make your own distro?



woody89
11-01-2006, 08:17 PM
I noticed a lot of competitors just use a metal plate for I am assuming a distro? Since most run multiple runs of wire. My question is, how would you mount this down to the car? Obivsouly putting it on the frame of the car would equal bad news. I never really looked at how they were mounted/ put together, so I have to ask.

woody89
11-01-2006, 08:18 PM
Ah posted this in the wrong area, oh wells.

Crzy
11-01-2006, 08:19 PM
screw to a peice of wood or other non conductive material?

iamamp3pimp
11-01-2006, 08:20 PM
think they would mount it to a block of wood, that is bolted to something. (probably the car)

woody89
11-01-2006, 08:41 PM
I was thinking wood, but just asking to see what the most people did.

airmcn_3
11-01-2006, 08:54 PM
Lexan works well, and looks good too! Use a 1/4" X 1" piece of Copper Buss bar from Your local Electric supplier, get some plastic washers from Your local Hardware store for offsets and your golden! Use a thick piece of wood or lexan so you have some meat to screw too.
Good luck!

iamamp3pimp
11-01-2006, 10:01 PM
have any pics of that airmcn_3?

im interested in seeing that

-Robin

CJL
11-01-2006, 10:06 PM
have any pics of that airmcn_3?

im interested in seeing that

-Robin

x2 :D

airmcn_3
11-01-2006, 10:11 PM
have any pics of that airmcn_3?

im interested in seeing that

-Robin


When I get to work tomorrow I will see what I can do about pics. I am in the Pro Audio Business, (Installer) We do Large scale Churches, Stadiums, ETC... Anyhow we use the same exact thing in our Audio racks, We have a 72"X2" copper buss bar that is mounted and Isolated from a Metal rack for Grounds. We use Lexan to Isolate.
Ill get some pics for you tomorrow..
Hey does anybody know how to find out your password so I can log on at my work computer??
Chris

woody89
11-01-2006, 11:52 PM
Thanks airmcn. Just log in and type something in for your password, then it will open a thing that says forgot your password click here.

airmcn_3
11-02-2006, 12:01 AM
Thanks airmcn. Just log in and type something in for your password, then it will open a thing that says forgot your password click here.

Sweet! Thanks!

danteBirosel
11-02-2006, 12:40 AM
can't wait to see some pics of this...


*suscribed*

baseballer1100
11-02-2006, 12:42 AM
Yeah pics are going to be ****.

QtrHorse
11-02-2006, 12:53 AM
Why not just go w/ something like the two links below? The multiple buss bar is just like what the other member described making.

Distro Post (https://www.stellmar.com/content/electromech/PDP/html/770Series/770_1_Series.php)

The larger 3/8in post has a 1-3/4in long bolt. You could mount multiple ring terminals on that and it's only $4.07 for the black one.

4 Point Buss Bar (https://www.stellmar.com/content/electromech/PDP/html/4point/4point.php)

This one is $10.69 for the 3/8in terminals.

woody89
11-02-2006, 11:01 AM
I just like to do things myself I guess you could say.

woody89
11-02-2006, 11:05 AM
How much would a small piece of copper busbar run?

CJL
11-02-2006, 11:18 AM
Why not just go w/ something like the two links below? The multiple buss bar is just like what the other member described making.

Distro Post (https://www.stellmar.com/content/electromech/PDP/html/770Series/770_1_Series.php)

The larger 3/8in post has a 1-3/4in long bolt. You could mount multiple ring terminals on that and it's only $4.07 for the black one.

4 Point Buss Bar (https://www.stellmar.com/content/electromech/PDP/html/4point/4point.php)

This one is $10.69 for the 3/8in terminals.

Good find!

woody89
11-02-2006, 04:37 PM
Possibly like what may be in the pics he may post....

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v492/woody62189/aaaaaaaaaaaa.jpg