PDA

View Full Version : **....Type-R Box Designs....**



grillman6000
10-28-2006, 01:48 AM
anyone and everyone...

please share any and all box designs you have for Alpine Type-R subs...as this thread will be a good reference for all users of the popular Type-R subs.

THANKS!

grillman6000
10-28-2006, 01:50 AM
this one was made by: SHiZNiLTi for a single 12inch
http://img49.imageshack.us/img49/8366/alpineswr1222dboxdesignfc8.jpg

grillman6000
10-28-2006, 01:53 AM
here is one made by: SlickCMRick for a pair of 12inch R's

http://img228.imageshack.us/img228/7361/boxideatv5ja4.jpg

NebBlackshirts
10-28-2006, 01:59 AM
cool Type-R is what i am interested in too. :thumbsup:

SHiZNiLTi
10-28-2006, 02:48 AM
That first design for 3 cubes is atad too big, I would only do like a max of 2.7

Calikid
10-28-2006, 02:52 AM
where are the pics of ur box, SHiZNiLTi?

SlickCMRick
10-28-2006, 02:53 AM
here is one made by: SlickCMRick for a pair of 12inch R's

http://img228.imageshack.us/img228/7361/boxideatv5ja4.jpg

that was made by moe lester

Calikid
10-28-2006, 02:54 AM
that was made by moe lester

x2

lrgnation
10-28-2006, 03:10 AM
3cubes is really too much for 2 type r's you think? I might be fabbing a box up for an acura legend with 2 type r's soon.

bballrrt06
10-28-2006, 03:40 AM
3cubes is really too much for 2 type r's you think? I might be fabbing a box up for an acura legend with 2 type r's soon.

ported i'd recommend at least 3.5 cubes for two type r's

iamamp3pimp
10-28-2006, 03:59 AM
ported i'd recommend at least 3.5 cubes for two type r's

not 3.5 per is it?


I sure hope not......

AlpineUser
10-29-2006, 01:44 AM
i was thinkin he ment 3.5 total

SlickCMRick
10-29-2006, 01:59 AM
go 2-2.5 for each sub

rotciv005
10-29-2006, 02:03 AM
I have a 3.5 cf. ported box for my 15" type r

kicker06
10-29-2006, 08:57 AM
I have a 3.5 cf. ported box for my 15" type r

Well, its a 15" not a 12". That box is way too big for a 12".

Just letting confused people know.

amartin_72
10-30-2006, 12:30 AM
I have had mine in 3.6 each before @36hz and its not that bad, loud, thats what i did the 141.x with and a PA3000Db 1800RMS. They still handle the 1000RMS or close to it. 3ft each is fine. 2.5-2.75 is optimum.

Demi
11-08-2006, 08:07 PM
Sorry to necro a thread but, so 2 12" type-rs ported to 32hz, 4 cubes? more if i can swing it?

iamamp3pimp
11-08-2006, 08:14 PM
what about it?

it would work, and sound nice. can be louder tho

ruger
11-08-2006, 09:09 PM
1, 10" Type R DVC 2ohm

14w x 11.25h x 25.25d 3/4 birch
1.65 cu. after sub displacment.
box also stuffed with 2 lb. of fiberfill.
4 spring loaded terminals to each coil, for trying out diffrent
amps and ohm loads (1 or 4) without having to remove the sub.
2, 4" flared ports 18" long
both ports open 47hz for rock/country.
one port sealed 33hz for rap/hip hop.

(pic in gallery).. added the second port few weeks ago.

bluelceii
11-08-2006, 09:42 PM
make one for 3 and 4 12s

Demi
11-08-2006, 09:59 PM
what about it?

it would work, and sound nice. can be louder tho

Alrighty, how would i go about making it louder? I know that im gonna need to brace the **** out of it. Do i need to go bigger? Change the tuning?

Lil_KB
11-08-2006, 11:27 PM
3 cubes is NOT too much for a 12... mine were loud in 3 a piece.

2.75 was optimum for me though.

SUB_URBAN
11-09-2006, 01:22 AM
I run my type r in a 2.6@ 34 hz and i hit a 146.x on the ac. I needed 1500 watts but still i hit it in my giant burban.

jdawg
11-09-2006, 09:09 AM
http://www.s10forum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=264115

geowick07
11-09-2006, 09:25 AM
here is what i am going with: http://www.subwoofertools.com/forum/ported-box.asp?Ew=34&Eh=15&Dia=6&Xmax=18.2&Vd=.14&NumW=2&Vb=4&Fb=36&Qts=&Vas=&Fs=&CE=0

The original plans were from Moe Lester's Box Plans thread. I just adjusted with this program to fit my dimensions.

Lakota
11-09-2006, 10:03 AM
3 cubes is NOT too much for a 12... mine were loud in 3 a piece.

2.75 was optimum for me though.
Kind of makes the sub "unstable" if you're not careful with it.