View Full Version : SQ in head unit

10-25-2006, 01:35 PM
I recently purchased the Panasonic CQ-C1333U to replace my stolen Clarion dxz555mp. its a pretty good hu for the price i got it for, and has almost the same functions as the Clarion. but its lacking a lil bit in sq. i currently have 5 1/4 comp infinities up front and 6 1/2 reference coaxails infinities in rear. i plan on hookin em up to an amp soon.

now my ?uestion.....

would that improve the sq, or should i replace the hu as well to get it sounding better?


10-25-2006, 01:43 PM
I would definately put the comps on an amp , it will make a bigger improvement Cheaper :)

10-25-2006, 06:15 PM
another hu would be the way to improve it's SQ.. LOL

10-26-2006, 12:38 PM
thanks. i think ima go get one next weekend

10-26-2006, 12:50 PM
Chances are that the Clarion unit that you had had a more powerful internal amp than the Panasonic unit. Judging the SQ of a HU based on the sound coming from speakers powered off the HU is not a really accurate assessment. Add an amp first. If it doesn't sound night and day different, then consider replacing the HU, but if you are planning to add an amp anyway, do that first then decide about the HU.

10-26-2006, 03:28 PM
thanks. when i hook up the amp, i'll let u guys know how it sounds