PDA

View Full Version : XXX15 box



Snozzer
10-23-2006, 09:01 PM
Well tell me what you think about this box. I know the x-max is wrong but if i put in the actual one, i get a huge port. So my question is the port area too small?

http://www.subwoofertools.com/forum/ported-box.asp?Ew=36&Eh=16&Dia=9&Xmax=15&Vd=.19&NumW=1&Vb=4.0&Fb=28&Qts=&Vas=&Fs=&CE=0

Rawr-DQ
10-23-2006, 11:38 PM
maybe it wants a huge port~?

Calikid
10-23-2006, 11:40 PM
maybe it wants a huge port~?

i agree, more port area FTMFW.

PhatTonyDeMarco
10-23-2006, 11:40 PM
I would deffinitly do a larger port... If you can't fit it, then seal it. They are made to be sealed :cool:

Lil_KB
10-24-2006, 12:06 AM
definitely a huge port.

Snozzer
10-24-2006, 02:36 PM
Wells here what i get when i put the right x-max in.

http://www.subwoofertools.com/forum/ported-box.asp?Ew=36&Eh=16&Dia=9&Xmax=32&Vd=.19&NumW=1&Vb=4.0&Fb=28&Qts=&Vas=&Fs=&CE=0

So i should build the huge port?

disturbedfuel15
10-24-2006, 03:11 PM
Build the huge port. **** that sub has a high xmax. Makes for a quality one I suppose though, right ;)
Good luck, and post a worklog!

Snozzer
10-24-2006, 03:31 PM
Build the huge port. **** that sub has a high xmax. Makes for a quality one I suppose though, right ;)
Good luck, and post a worklog!

Alright ill try it. But with this box, im going to have to put the sub on top of the box. The one spot wheres there no port. IS that ok?

And also, that port makes my box tiny, and thats about as big as i can go that will fit in my trunk. So what should i do?

iamamp3pimp
10-24-2006, 04:00 PM
what are your dimentions that youa re working with, and what amp are you using for power?

bonesninja
10-24-2006, 04:02 PM
definately need bigger port....mine on my 15" XXX was 58 sq in by like 36 inches long

photocrazy8
10-24-2006, 04:06 PM
well you have it set tuned to 28 hz. the lower the tuning the longer the port, and i will say it again. lots of port area, makes em go boom boom

iamamp3pimp
10-24-2006, 04:20 PM
i had good boom with less box and less port. btw....

Snozzer
10-25-2006, 10:44 AM
Ok well iv been working on this design now for alittle bit. With some of the desings iv already posted, the box is volume is huge. Like all i did was take the external demenions, to find the net volume it got about 9ft^3.

http://www.subwoofertools.com/forum/ported-box.asp?Ew=36&Eh=17&Dia=9&Xmax=32&Vd=.19&NumW=1&Vb=5.0&Fb=28&Qts=&Vas=&Fs=&CE=0

With this plan, i got 9.47ft^3. I put in 5ft^3 for the net but end up with 9. So now i am completly confused.

The biggest demntions i can go in my truck in 36 wide, 36 deep and 17 tall.

PenguinsAudio
10-25-2006, 08:17 PM
no help for the man? come on, we need to get started on this box and if he cant figure it out then i dont know what to cut!

iamamp3pimp
10-25-2006, 09:00 PM
i can design a banger for you from scratch.


get @ me on AIM

Lamamp3pimp


-Rb