PDA

View Full Version : Tuning Question



Mystify.
10-21-2006, 09:35 PM
Hello,

I'm constructing a box that has a net volume of 2.3 ft^3. I'm using two 3" round ports and wanting to tune the box to ~30Hz. Whenever I calculate port length I get ~16 in. My question is, do I make each port 16" or 8"? Also, is there a disadvantage in sound quality when using two ports over one?

supa_c
10-21-2006, 09:36 PM
16" per port, you dont divide the port length by the amount of ports you have

Mystify.
10-21-2006, 09:43 PM
16" per port, you dont divide the port length by the amount of ports you have

Thanks. Just making sure before I cut the ports to length. :)

supa_c
10-21-2006, 09:52 PM
Dont glue them either, just wrap them in tape.
If you glue you cant adjust the tuning ever.

Mystify.
10-21-2006, 09:58 PM
Dont glue them either, just wrap them in tape.
If you glue you cant adjust the tuning ever.

Never thought about that, thanks. Do you know if two ports will degrade sound quality if compared to one port at the same frequency?

Rawr-DQ
10-21-2006, 10:31 PM
I don't think so, it'll pretty much just add to the port area, reducing velocity and increasing the tuning hz...you'll want to make each port longer if you want to keep the tune low.

iamamp3pimp
10-21-2006, 10:32 PM
ohe part hta twas left out is that that isnt very much port area.



but GL with the build.

supa_c
10-21-2006, 11:34 PM
Someone is drunk....
If its a 12" sub dual 3's should be fine

Mystify.
10-22-2006, 02:19 PM
Someone is drunk....
If its a 12" sub dual 3's should be fine

Yea, it's a 12" IDQ. I'm going to be switching over to a Mag or Fi Q once I get the funds.

supa_c
10-22-2006, 03:08 PM
More than enough for the idq, just enough for a mag/Q

Mystify.
10-29-2006, 07:37 PM
Just an update.

I finally got the box done and boy does it sound great. Better than my sealed box. It can handle fast double bass better than my sealed and can dip into the low end with authority. I'll never go back to sealed boxes again. ;)