PDA

View Full Version : home amplifier



budahbuddy803
10-20-2006, 06:11 PM
I know this is a [B]car[B]audio forum but are there available amps that put out 400-600rms? If so where could i find one.

Thieroff
10-20-2006, 06:13 PM
Would you be looking to power a subwoofer only?


Partsexpress has some nice plate amps for not too much money, but I'm sure they can be found cheap


A plate amp is an in-home subwoofer amplifier



CT

JimJ
10-20-2006, 06:14 PM
What impedance are you looking for?

I assume this is for a sub? Also, I'm moving this to the correct section.

budahbuddy803
10-20-2006, 06:27 PM
i have a couple dvc4ohm subs layin around and i would like to be able to play one of them in my room.

Thieroff
10-20-2006, 06:28 PM
well if you're only running one you should get an amplifier that does the rms rating, or close to at 8ohms, most plate amps aren;t 2 ohm stable


CT

budahbuddy803
10-20-2006, 06:30 PM
yeah i know that but would a best buy or CC carry something putting out 400-600rms @8 ohm in only one channel or what?

budahbuddy803
10-20-2006, 06:33 PM
well im off to work let me know something good

Thieroff
10-20-2006, 06:35 PM
I'm really unsure

You're really much better off just buying off the internet, you're going to pay ridiculous sums of money at CC or BB

Think about what they charge for 400-600 watts for caraudio amplifiers

Partsexpress is a legit dealer also, and they have warranties and great CS



CT

budahbuddy803
10-20-2006, 06:36 PM
ok thank you

JimJ
10-21-2006, 01:53 AM
yeah i know that but would a best buy or CC carry something putting out 400-600rms @8 ohm in only one channel or what?

Nope...because that's not the kind of shopper that goes to BB or CC. They're going to sell powered subs to people because it's the easiest choice.

Plate amps come in that power range, but you're probably better off going with a pro audio amp that can handle a lower impedance and most likely be cheaper in terms of dollars per watt.

ballstothewall
10-21-2006, 06:43 PM
Pro amps will be cheaper per watt, but then you have to deal with a crossover of sorts, then you get into buying full rack gear then you end up with 5kw possible in a dorm room...

Just get a plate amp.

JimJ
10-21-2006, 06:48 PM
If you have low level outputs, a Harrison Labs FMOD would work in a pinch as a LPF. Two of them stacked inline would be 18dB/oct, a respectable Xover slope.

ballstothewall
10-21-2006, 06:49 PM
If you have low level outputs, a Harrison Labs FMOD would work in a pinch as a LPF. Two of them stacked inline would be 18dB/oct, a respectable Xover slope.

Hadn't thought of that, thats a good idea.