PDA

View Full Version : Will this work? ::aeroports::



woody89
10-19-2006, 09:31 PM
Will this work or will it cause the tuning of the box to be messed up?

Sorry, really rough pic.

Blue would be the subs, red would be the aeroports.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v492/woody62189/willthiswork.jpg

kuijo
10-19-2006, 09:34 PM
that will work. don't subtract the ports volume from the net volume

PhatTonyDeMarco
10-19-2006, 09:34 PM
It will work fine, many people do it. It allows you to have ports longer than your enclosure would allow for, and it also offers you the ability to directly change your tuning at any time very easily.

jeeper07
10-19-2006, 09:34 PM
should work

Chevyaudio
10-19-2006, 09:35 PM
should work

will work ;)


like everyone said...its been done many times before.

mazdakid
10-19-2006, 09:38 PM
i think he means with subs on front and ports on back

woody89
10-19-2006, 09:38 PM
Im speaking of the ports being on opposite sides of the subs in the box. My friend told me this could cause them to play free air, but being they aren't directly across from one another I was curious as to if the design would be ok.

edit: Yes mazda.

PhatTonyDeMarco
10-19-2006, 09:40 PM
Im speaking of the ports being on opposite sides of the subs in the box. My friend told me this could cause them to play free air, but being they aren't directly across from one another I was curious as to if the design would be ok.

edit: Yes mazda.

As long as they are not directly firing into the ports then you should be fine.

djman37
10-19-2006, 09:42 PM
i'd pick a different direction too, but it'll work.

ngsm13
10-19-2006, 09:54 PM
I'd keep the subs/port 90degrees from eachother...

nG

tommyk90
10-19-2006, 09:59 PM
That layout would depend on the vehicle the box is going in.

Flipx99
10-19-2006, 11:12 PM
Do not put the port directly behind the sub. It doesn't get very loud and sounds bad. I tried this, trust me, it's a bad idea.

Don't know the scientific reasoning, just experience

woody89
10-20-2006, 09:47 AM
I think I'll just come up with different design. I'm trying to do the aeros externally, but I don't want them to be to close to the walls of the trunk. If anyone knows, how wide a L7 10" is from side to side, that would help a lot in the design of my box. Subs should be here soon though if not.

prochobo
10-20-2006, 10:00 AM
As long as you have the ports a few inches away from a wall, you'll be fine. There will be no audible difference to the ear, maybe a few tenths on the mic.

I would also advise on having the ports on the side rather than the back. If you can't fit them on the sides, you might as well go with a slot.

I'd just use a ballpark figure of 12" side to side for the subs. Depending on the box size, the ports would be ~16" for 32hz tuning if using 2 aeros. So that comes out to 40" length, just measure and see if it'll fit in your trunk/truck/hatch.

woody89
10-20-2006, 10:17 AM
Maybe this design would be a little better? Sorry the pic is small, at school and limited acess to websites here to mess with pics. I just dunno about the subs being more towards the cabin, it doesn't seem as loud to the ear when closer up, but never fired them sideways.:eyebrow:

If the subs were in the front firing to the rear of the car and the ports in the very back on the side, it would fit, but would be right against the wall. Maybe do this design, but angle the box in the trunk, could possibly work as well.

prochobo
10-20-2006, 10:20 AM
I don't think it would work too well firing sideways with ports on the back. If you don't have enough room for external aeros, then do them internally unless you're dying to have easily changeable ports.

woody89
10-20-2006, 10:23 AM
Moved like this possibly. I'm having a tougher time designing a box than I should be I think. I just want to keep the subs and the ports from going directly straight into the cabin. I just wasn't to pleased when I had both firing into the cabin with other setups. Also is 3.6 cubes to much for (2) 10" L7's? 1800watts

woody89
10-20-2006, 10:26 AM
I don't think it would work too well firing sideways with ports on the back. If you don't have enough room for external aeros, then do them internally unless you're dying to have easily changeable ports.

Yeah thats the main reason I want to do them externally, so I can change tuning rather easily. I'm trying to figure out a lot of what will work best in my car and whatnot. Might just buy some extra wood and try a couple of designs instead of stressing on one.

prochobo
10-20-2006, 10:33 AM
Yeah thats the main reason I want to do them externally, so I can change tuning rather easily. I'm trying to figure out a lot of what will work best in my car and whatnot. Might just buy some extra wood and try a couple of designs instead of stressing on one.

^^ do that. Build lots of boxes till you find one you like. You could always do internal aeros, but those are a pain to change tuning with.

Then again, most people want to tune low, like 32hz. If you wanted to change tuning, I can see you going from 32 to like 37, but there won't be that much of a difference, not enough to justify the tuning. I don't think you'd want to up tuning to 40hz for daily, I can see that for comps, but if that's the case, you might as well build a separate comp box all together.