PDA

View Full Version : HU's with 5-8v pre amp outputs??



Phreaker
10-16-2006, 03:46 AM
Well before I buy anything else for the next project I want to get a decent/good HU and seeing as I am a DD with the want to get stupid crazy loud and sound good doing it that I should buy a HU with higher voltage pre-amp outputs.

My existing HU has 2.5v pre-amp outs and probably clip before reaching that.

I was originally looking at the Pioneer Premier DEH-P680MP which has 4v pre-amp outputs and then started looking at the Pioneer Premier DEH-P780MP which is 5v pre-amp outs.

I'm really just looking for a good HU that can be turned up 75-80% of the way without sending a clipped signal,looks good (Eclipse is said to be really good but I think they are ugly) and isn't too expensive.

Budget is about $300

FOSGATE JOE
10-16-2006, 04:13 AM
get the 780 good hu .I got the premier 860 love the h.u that is one' bad h.u' I must say!

FOSGATE JOE
10-16-2006, 04:15 AM
:uhoh: :crazy: p.s my h.u came out with 6.5v but why did thay go with 5v now??

supa_c
10-16-2006, 04:16 AM
880prs
/thread

RaiN
10-16-2006, 04:30 PM
Get a line driver...

XaznKewLguyX
10-16-2006, 05:41 PM
buy my single din graphic EQ and sends 4v. :) $100 shipped

HCCA
10-20-2006, 01:53 AM
The problem is that every head unit without a switching power supply will clip before reaching 100% of volume adjustment. If you use a line driver with them, you will only amplify the clipped signal out of the head unit! You need an unclipped signal from a head unit with a switching power supply. The output impedance is at least as important as the output voltage. The Pioneer M-88 had an output impedance of 4 OHMS!!!! Has anyone, yet been able to measure a voltage across a dead short??? NO! Of course not. And, that's what lower output impedances are like. You cannot generate a radiated static charge of ignition spark, alternator whine, etc, across a dead short. If you have a very low output impedance, yu don't need to worry what your output voltage is, except to have an unclipped output signal.

BTW, my 7909 Alpine has 250 ohms of output impedance, with 4V's.

MasonSmitty
10-20-2006, 07:38 PM
I just looked up my Kenwood XXV-01D.....It has 5V Preouts with only an 80ohm impedance :(

supa_c
10-20-2006, 08:19 PM
80ohm is low
Not eclipse low but its still low

desertheat
10-21-2006, 01:13 PM
the 5v from my eclipse cd7000 is plenty, hell the 4v on all my other decks was way more that enough. would have to check the impedance speced on them. Also you say expensive? For $450 you can get a cd7000... that simply is the BEST bargain in car audio on the market for what it can do. Amazing deck for the funds. As much as I loved my 9835 and 7949, it just simply stomps them in features and sound controls..

ItalynStylion
10-21-2006, 01:55 PM
I have 8V on my eclipse. I have a button on my amp that im supposed to use because the voltage is so high, I cant remember what its called...Its on the PPI 600.4

KRD
10-22-2006, 12:59 AM
so I am a little confused. Is it better to have a high or low ohm on the RCA's?

klepto
10-22-2006, 06:31 AM
The 880PRS has 5v and has more sq features thatn the 7800. Plus the user interface, i.e the giant ratchet knob of the 7800 ***** IMO. If you try it out and like it, get it.

supa_c
10-22-2006, 06:33 AM
See post #5 :D

klepto
10-22-2006, 04:50 PM
Can't beat this deal with a stick :naughty:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ih=008&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWN%3AIT&viewitem=&item=180039539916&rd=1&rd=1

joshs98runner
10-23-2006, 09:01 PM
I went to click buy it now on that auction and somebody snaged the last one seconds before I did...ugh!

oddball
04-28-2010, 02:42 PM
wtf is up with that signiture

Databyter
04-28-2010, 10:08 PM
Keep in mind that unless your Amp has a switchable high v and low V input for gain purposes you are limiting the fine tuning range of the gain setting.
I see the value in the higher V signal, but I wouldn't get too crazy with it 8V just seems silly.

All your looking for is to have a high enough V range for your signal that it is adequate, and your signal to noise ratio in this part of the circuit will benefit from higher V untill you get silly and then you start to create your own noise, and limit your gain setting responsiveness (depending on your Amp's flexibility.

Disclaimer, I'm no expert I'm here to learn. But that's the way I see it via common sense, basic math, electronic functions..

Blasphemy
04-28-2010, 10:13 PM
Keep in mind that unless your Amp has a switchable high v and low V input for gain purposes you are limiting the fine tuning range of the gain setting.
I see the value in the higher V signal, but I wouldn't get too crazy with it 8V just seems silly.

All your looking for is to have a high enough V range for your signal that it is adequate, and your signal to noise ratio in this part of the circuit will benefit from higher V untill you get silly and then you start to create your own noise, and limit your gain setting responsiveness (depending on your Amp's flexibility.

Disclaimer, I'm no expert I'm here to learn. But that's the way I see it via common sense, basic math, electronic functions..

You do realize that the OP is from '06 right?

RAM_Designs
04-28-2010, 10:14 PM
Thread is 3.5 years old...

Databyter
04-28-2010, 10:28 PM
Lol, I was just surfing through the new posts tab. It was up there so I thought it was current. Go figure.

outsideshot23
04-28-2010, 10:34 PM
kenwood excelon