PDA

View Full Version : ATTN - Jmac !! :)



ss3079
12-29-2002, 04:13 PM
Sup man...wanna help me design a couple boxes for a 10" XXX? (so I know what Im doing when hopefully I get one)

Ported...have 8 cubes to work with...dont want to use all 8 though...big SPL, daily driver.

Heres what ya need...I'll plug em into WinISD myself and we'll come up with a couple.

Re 1.17 ohms per coil
Fs 35.2 Hz
Qms 5.73
Qes .45
Qts .41
Vas 14.5l
Sd 480 cm^2
Xmax 32mm one way
1600 Watts RMS

- Steve

ss3079
12-29-2002, 05:02 PM
Originally posted by Jmac
What are the dimensions of your trunk ?

Im debating putting this in the Lumina or Blazer...more or less likley the Blazer for now...then switch to the Lumina...

MAXIMUM dimensions for the Blazer are: 36"W x 16"H x 27"D...it can be that high and that wide...but I would like to keep it a little less deep...

Im running outside now to get quick dimensions for Lumina..

- Steve

ss3079
12-29-2002, 05:14 PM
Got the dimensions from the Lumina...

32"W x 15"H x 24" D.

A box that would be switchable from the Blazer to the Lumina is preferable.

- Steve

ss3079
12-29-2002, 05:45 PM
Originally posted by Jmac
Construction Material = 3/4" MDF
Box Height = 14.5"
Box Width = 31"
Box Depth = 16.5"
Number of Ports = 1 (Slot)
Diameter of Ports = 13" x 3"
Length of Ports = 35"
Port Area = 39 square inches
Box Volume = 2.15 ft^3
Box Tuning = 34.9 Hz
WinISD Estimated Peak SPL = 36 Hz
WinISD Estimated Peak Port Velocity = 33 m/s @ 34.3 Hz

I didn't know the exact speaker displacement, so I just took a guess and used .25 ft^3

Lemme plug it in and see what I like:)

- Steve

ss3079
12-29-2002, 05:51 PM
Yeah thats a crazy group delay...

Ranger hit 143 with it...forget the box specs..and that was with about 1000watts from the Tsunami 1000d. With 1000 w I would be peaking at about 132...

- Steve

ss3079
12-29-2002, 05:59 PM
Originally posted by Jmac
132 ???
Apparently thats what my thing is saying...

- Steve

Slaymon
12-29-2002, 06:28 PM
Be careful with your dimensions on the lumina. The trunk latch might get in the way if you have a big box. I have a box that is 32" w x 15" and 24". It's quite a tight fit. Just don't make it any bigger than that.

ss3079
12-29-2002, 09:59 PM
Originally posted by Slaymon
Be careful with your dimensions on the lumina. The trunk latch might get in the way if you have a big box. I have a box that is 32" w x 15" and 24". It's quite a tight fit. Just don't make it any bigger than that.

Lol yeah I know I'm not doing any custom work with the Lunima yet...as far as the box goes its just going to go right down the middle so a) I dont have to do any mods to the box because of the swinging trunk things and b) its easily removable so it can be put in a different vehicle.

- Steve

ss3079
12-30-2002, 03:53 PM
TTT - anyone wanna take a shot at it? It will be removed from time to time from the Blazer and needs to fit into the Lumina and Grand Am...

Jmac, what was the max SPL you got from WinISD? And how do you get those dimensions? I cant seem to find it.

- Steve

ss3079
12-30-2002, 05:35 PM
Originally posted by Jmac
I got 121 dB + cabin gain @ 36 Hz ...

I made the dimensions so that it would fit into both the Blazer and the Lumina ... but you didn't say anything about a Grand Am ;)

Lumina/Grand Am = pretty much the same trunk dimensions...and I measured and it would fit.

But but but Ranger hit 143 with it :( lol...I forget the box size...I'll have to ask later on. But thats also a reg cab Ranger....

Is there a dimension thing on Win ISD?

- Steve

RangerMan
12-30-2002, 06:00 PM
I hit it with the seat out...remember...common knowledge/install is sometimes better than technology. Use WinISD as a guide...not a definate.

ss3079
12-30-2002, 06:05 PM
Originally posted by RangerMan
I hit it with the seat out...remember...common knowledge/install is sometimes better than technology. Use WinISD as a guide...not a definate.

Oh I know;)

How big was your box...and the port.

- Steve

RangerMan
12-30-2002, 06:08 PM
Originally posted by ss3079
Oh I know;)

How big was your box...and the port.

- Steve

I built this one...4.2 cubes ported to 50 hz peaking at 53.

ss3079
12-30-2002, 06:10 PM
Originally posted by RangerMan
I built this one...4.2 cubes ported to 50 hz peaking at 53.

Ok. Think I should build the box so that it just fits in the Blazer? It would give me more room...but...I kind of want it to be removable to fit into the Grand Am and Lumina...**** tough decision.

- Steve

RangerMan
12-30-2002, 06:13 PM
Originally posted by ss3079
Ok. Think I should build the box so that it just fits in the Blazer? It would give me more room...but...I kind of want it to be removable to fit into the Grand Am and Lumina...**** tough decision.

- Steve

Why not build 2??? One for SPL, one for SQ. Moving a box is a pain.

ss3079
12-30-2002, 08:43 PM
Originally posted by RangerMan
Why not build 2??? One for SPL, one for SQ. Moving a box is a pain.

Makes sense...one sealed and one ported...or two ported...

- Steve

RangerMan
12-30-2002, 10:41 PM
Originally posted by ss3079
Makes sense...one sealed and one ported...or two ported...

- Steve

Yep...I can help you with sealed as well...

RangerMan
12-30-2002, 11:04 PM
Originally posted by Jmac
Jmac can help ... :rolleyes:

Go ahead...:cool:

ss3079
12-31-2002, 01:42 PM
Someone go ahead:mad: :mad: lol.

- Steve

RangerMan
12-31-2002, 02:37 PM
Originally posted by Jmac
You go ahead :cool:

Ladies first...:laugh: j/k. We can do this as a group effort.

ss3079
12-31-2002, 02:38 PM
Works for me...

You said you have some box project saved...send away if you wish... [email protected]

- Steve

RangerMan
12-31-2002, 02:45 PM
Originally posted by ss3079
Works for me...

You said you have some box project saved...send away if you wish... [email protected]

- Steve

Well, I can tell you on here...using various programs, for SPL, I would go with 6.3 cubes, tuned to the Resonant Frequency of your car...with 1200 watts, you should be doing a 144...

ss3079
12-31-2002, 02:47 PM
Originally posted by RangerMan
Well, I can tell you on here...using various programs, for SPL, I would go with 6.3 cubes, tuned to the Resonant Frequency of your car...with 1200 watts, you should be doing a 144...

:eek:

6.3 cubes is nice...I'll put that in the Blazer(and it will leave a little bit of room in there also:) )...and make a different box(smaller) for the Lumina and Grand Am.

- Steve

RangerMan
12-31-2002, 02:55 PM
Originally posted by ss3079
:eek:

6.3 cubes is nice...I'll put that in the Blazer(and it will leave a little bit of room in there also:) )...and make a different box(smaller) for the Lumina and Grand Am.

- Steve

Do you want SQ for the other boxes???

ss3079
12-31-2002, 02:56 PM
Originally posted by RangerMan
Do you want SQ for the other boxes???

**** on SQ...I'm still young...sort of;)

- Steve

RangerMan
12-31-2002, 03:06 PM
Originally posted by ss3079
**** on SQ...I'm still young...sort of;)

- Steve

SQL???

ss3079
12-31-2002, 03:07 PM
Originally posted by RangerMan
SQL???

SQL/SPL...daily driver. "Want to hear it a block away" lol.

- Steve

ss3079
12-31-2002, 03:08 PM
G2g for lunch, will be back later and I will have some other box ideas.

- Steve

RangerMan
12-31-2002, 03:12 PM
Originally posted by ss3079
SQL/SPL...daily driver. "Want to hear it a block away" lol.

- Steve

Can you fit 4.0 cubes tuned to 45hz.

RangerMan
12-31-2002, 03:22 PM
Originally posted by Jmac
Just remember that you have to compensate for the port volume, MDF used to make the port, speaker displacement, and brace displacement ...

Yep your right...all mine are estimated before all the speaker and wood displacement...

F150Matt
01-01-2003, 01:07 PM
so....you guys think I could pull a 150 with a XXX 12, 1500 watts, and about 8-10ft^3 ported, tuned to res frequency, with about 100-110in^2 of port? That is my plan, if my dad will hurry up and give me the ok to cut out the bed on my truck.

ss3079
01-01-2003, 01:08 PM
Originally posted by F150Matt
so....you guys think I could pull a 150 with a XXX 12, 1500 watts, and about 8-10ft^3 ported, tuned to res frequency, with about 100-110in^2 of port? That is my plan, if my dad will hurry up and give me the ok to cut out the bed on my truck.

High 140's, low 150's shouldnt be too far out of reach.

- Steve

RangerMan
01-01-2003, 07:35 PM
Originally posted by F150Matt
so....you guys think I could pull a 150 with a XXX 12, 1500 watts, and about 8-10ft^3 ported, tuned to res frequency, with about 100-110in^2 of port? That is my plan, if my dad will hurry up and give me the ok to cut out the bed on my truck.

If you go with 2kw...

F150Matt
01-01-2003, 08:55 PM
so two re35-1D's would do the trick? I'm planning on getting another one eventually, i guess I'll just have to be happy with upper 140's for the time being. I still haven't got dad to let me cut the bed though so we'll see....

RangerMan
01-01-2003, 09:01 PM
Originally posted by F150Matt
so two re35-1D's would do the trick? I'm planning on getting another one eventually, i guess I'll just have to be happy with upper 140's for the time being. I still haven't got dad to let me cut the bed though so we'll see....

I would recomend a single 2000 watt amp...the current draw for 2 of those amps would be horriblr on your electrical system.

F150Matt
01-01-2003, 10:07 PM
Any recommendations then? We dont have DBdrag around here, only USACi and Whitlee, both go by power class, and some whitlees go by total amount of woofer diameter. I was hoping to stay in 0-150watt class by using the RE35-1D's. Although if you have any suggestions let me know. Chances are the RE's will be rerated by usac anyways.

RangerMan
01-01-2003, 10:31 PM
Originally posted by F150Matt
Any recommendations then? We dont have DBdrag around here, only USACi and Whitlee, both go by power class, and some whitlees go by total amount of woofer diameter. I was hoping to stay in 0-150watt class by using the RE35-1D's. Although if you have any suggestions let me know. Chances are the RE's will be rerated by usac anyways. I'd keep the RE until they do...if you want to sell the amp to me, I'll take it!!!

F150Matt
01-01-2003, 10:33 PM
Terry promised me that on Jan. 10th RE would be shipping amps out from their company to the consumers. So the wait will be over very soon. I can't wait to get mine. I'm thinking about getting two just in case they get back ordered again later on.

RangerMan
01-01-2003, 10:49 PM
Originally posted by F150Matt
Terry promised me that on Jan. 10th RE would be shipping amps out from their company to the consumers. So the wait will be over very soon. I can't wait to get mine. I'm thinking about getting two just in case they get back ordered again later on.

You pay 369???

F150Matt
01-01-2003, 11:13 PM
Yea, he said 369 shipped. Why you can get them cheaper??

RangerMan
01-01-2003, 11:30 PM
Originally posted by F150Matt
Yea, he said 369 shipped. Why you can get them cheaper??

Not really...I need to talk to David or Terry...

ss3079
01-02-2003, 01:34 PM
Alright, so there was these 2 pretzels (sp) walking down the road....



And one was assalted....:evil:

- Steve;)