PDA

View Full Version : alpine SUBW question



regal8r
10-15-2006, 10:14 PM
right now, i have my SUBW set to 3 and gain on amp set to 44vac@50hz (where it should be with my amp), and my hu is sending <1v through my rca's to my amp. what i was wondering is if i turned my SUBW all the way up to 15, and then reset my gain on the amp to 44v@50hz, would i get more output or possibly better SQ??

regal8r
10-15-2006, 11:11 PM
anyone?

phantom240
10-15-2006, 11:18 PM
Um... idk, alpine HU's are wierd and stuff like that. You can try it and check it out with a dmm... but i doubt it will change much.

regal8r
10-15-2006, 11:25 PM
+15 = 0 dB
+3 = -12 dB

:fyi:

Turning it up and resetting it will get you a lower gain which will lower the noise floor and increase the signal to noise ratio ...

so i wont get more output but it will make my subs sound a lil better?

phantom240
10-15-2006, 11:32 PM
yep. sounds like it

Phreaker
10-16-2006, 02:59 AM
Hate to hijack but I have a SONY HU (please...I know) and it has a sub volume control on it which is set to centered out of the box and wired up...if you turn it down all the way there is no sound whatsoever from the subs and reads 00 but once you turn it up it looks like a fader bar...should I turn it all the way up and re set my gains?

AJē06
10-16-2006, 03:01 AM
Sony HU's FTL? :( I ahve one too.. :D