PDA

View Full Version : High End Head Unit Selection Help

thermal
10-10-2006, 10:56 AM
Hey All:

I'm looking for a high end head unit for a sq setup.
I only need it for CD's.
I'm new to car audio and have been told the Alpine DVA-9861 is a good choice.
Someone also told me that I should get the Rockford Fosgate 3sixty.2 to go with it.
Does this Alpine unit need a processor?
Any other head units you like better?

I won't be doing any tuning myself, so after the install the head unit only needs basic controls.

Thanks!

skadude016
10-10-2006, 11:07 AM
Kenwood x990?

ramos
10-10-2006, 11:11 AM
If you go the alpine route , why not go with the alpine proc ? :)

alphakenny1
10-10-2006, 11:14 AM
definately add on the h701 if you plan on going with the 9861. but i dunno if it'll be worth it since you won't be really using it. to choose your hu better, it'd be nice to know what is your planned setup.

thermal
10-10-2006, 11:22 AM
definately add on the h701 if you plan on going with the 9861. but i dunno if it'll be worth it since you won't be really using it. to choose your hu better, it'd be nice to know what is your planned setup.

Just 6 1/2" 2-way components in the front doors and a sub or 2 in the trunk. I have not picked any components yet.

Thanks.

Ryan from Ohio
10-10-2006, 05:40 PM
Im in the same boat as you.

Ive been looking into the McIntosh 406, Denon Z1, Alpine 7990, Clarion DRZ 9255, Nak CD700 and the RF Denon.

All of which are hard to get, except Nakamichi.

Hintzyboy
10-10-2006, 05:55 PM
Budget?

thermal
10-10-2006, 06:23 PM
Budget?

for hu and processor........$1000

Hintzyboy
10-10-2006, 11:07 PM
Pioneer Premier DEX-P9 and DEQ-P9

You should be able to find the pair on Ebay in your budget

Megalomaniac
10-10-2006, 11:21 PM

he doesnt know how to equilize...fyi

Hintzyboy
10-11-2006, 12:30 AM
So he can do some research, play with the settings and learn a little. Ignorance is quickly taken care of if you have a little initiative.

Hintzyboy