PDA

View Full Version : 2 Ports?



Slaymon
12-23-2002, 12:35 AM
Well since my parents decided to throw out my 4" ports I'm gonna have to use a 2" ports. How would I go about using 2 2"ports instead of just one 4" port? Would the port volume just have to add up to the same? It was gonna be 4" x 12" port but now I dont have it. So it seems like 2 2" x 6" ports would be right. Please let me know I'd like to do this as soon as possible.

Randy Savage
12-23-2002, 02:03 AM
What is the volume of the box and what do you want it tuned to?

Slaymon
12-23-2002, 02:50 AM
The box is 2.434 cubic feet after displacement. And I'd like it to be tuned to around 32 Hz.

Slaymon
12-23-2002, 12:14 PM
Thanks for you're help. I'm getting ready to start workin on it today. What would be the best way to help keep the ports in? I know just make the hole big enough to have them stay in good but would silicone around the inside edges keep them in there good enough? And would it matter where I place them? Should they all be next to each other or space them out a little bit?

Slaymon
12-23-2002, 04:02 PM
I was checkin it all out on WinISD. It says that 2 2" ports at 4.9 inches long would give me my proper tuning? With my box being 2.434 cubic feet. Is this right or not? I'm getting confused.

Slaymon
12-23-2002, 04:55 PM
My box is 32" wide x 15" tall. Its got a slanted back and the top section of the box is 21" deep and the bottom section is 25" deep. Its dual chambers. 3/4" MDF board.
21
|--------\ it looks like that.
|.............\
|_________\
25

I have 2 HE2's each in their own chamber. They are dual 4 ohms coils. Im using a Picasso 880.2 on them. I have them down to 2 ohms each in stereo mode.

Slaymon
12-23-2002, 07:40 PM
Just like to say thanks for your help. I'll probly end up goin with the 4 2" ports. But I make them a little shorter than 19". How well would they sound if they were about 17" long?

Just curious about WinISD. When I put in my box size and drivers and all that. I wanted a ported box and it said I could use 2 2" ports at 5.9 inches long? I dont really understand why it'd work with them being that short? Would it still work with them being that small? Ill probly end up going with some that are about 17" long or so. Just tryin to get a little better understand with ported enclosures and WinISD.

Slaymon
12-24-2002, 02:40 PM
Just curious about WinISD. When I put in my box size and drivers and all that. I wanted a ported box and it said I could use 2 2" ports at 5.9 inches long? I dont really understand why it'd work with them being that short? Would it still work with them being that small? Ill probly end up going with some that are about 17" long or so. Just tryin to get a little better understand with ported enclosures and WinISD.

Could you explain some of the things about it? So I can get a lil better understanding?

Slaymon
12-24-2002, 04:21 PM
Yea I have WinISD Pro. Just still tryin to get an understanding of it. That helps out a lot. I'll end up using 4 2" x 17" ports. Hopefully it comes out good. That's what I'll be doin most of the day today. If I don't get it all done I'll finish it up Thursday. So a good amount of silicone around the edges should hold the ports in good enough? I tried to put some strong glue in there but I made the holes just big enough to jam the ports in. Thanks Jmac you've been a big help through all this.