PDA

View Full Version : Pioneer AVIC-N3.

LinxuS
09-23-2006, 06:16 PM
Let me start off by saying I'm no expert at car audio. I have only recently become interested in it, and my review might sound primitive. I'll start off this review with my current set-up:
2005 Ford Ranger
Head Unit: Pioneer AVIC-N3
Front Speakers: Alpine 5x7 Type-R Components
Rear Fill: Infinity Kappas 5x7 Coaxial
AMP: 4 Channel Phoenix Gold. R8.0:4.

Installation: This head unit was a birthday present from my uncle. We origianlly attempted to order from hifisoundconnection.com and had so problems, so he finally decided to just fork out the extra money and go buy it from Best Buy. It was about $1950 with tax from Best Buy, and was an additional $150 to install it. The install went great, and everything functions flawlessly. The GPS antenna was mounted through the rear tail light, and onto the roof. The Hide-away unit was mounted under my passenger seat.

GPS: One of the most wanted things from the AVIC-N3 is the GPS. Now although it will get you to your destination, it might not always be the quickest or the best way. It does, however have a lot of neat features: POI search, business search by telephone number, address search, return home feature, and many other great things. I would say that this GPS is about 80% accurate for the best or quickest way to get to places. Overall, the "neat" factor is a 5/5, just the functionality is about a 4/5.