PDA

View Full Version : MT box work log.



2loud4u
09-22-2006, 04:50 PM
Well since no one here would help me with my box design I called up re and They told me to do 2cuft and I wanted to do 2.5 cuft so I went in the middle.

2.2Cuft after sub and port
@ 35hz
37 square inches of port area.

Here are the plans I did up.
Going to start cutting all the wood as soon as i get something in my guts.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v465/intelp4/2-1.jpg

ssj2xxgotenxx
09-22-2006, 06:01 PM
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (4 members and 0 guests) ssj2xxgotenxx (http://www.caraudio.com/forum/member.php?u=9786) , 2loud4u (http://www.caraudio.com/forum/member.php?u=21765) , James Bang (http://www.caraudio.com/forum/member.php?u=22150) , Puppet Master (http://www.caraudio.com/forum/member.php?u=25070)

The boss is watching ;) Get to work.

mazdakid
09-22-2006, 06:31 PM
they didnt say anything about port size?

2loud4u
09-22-2006, 06:38 PM
just said give it around 15 square inches of port area per cubic foot

Abel
09-22-2006, 06:38 PM
Go bigger like 3 or 3.5

2loud4u
09-22-2006, 06:39 PM
Go bigger like 3 or 3.5

My Current box is 3 cuft after port and sub and not happy at all with the output.
It was tuned to 35hz with 50 square inches of port area.

It only did 136.3 db in that box. o and that was on a Ac not the Tl

Abel
09-22-2006, 06:43 PM
My Current box is 3 cuft after port and sub and not happy at all with the output.
It was tuned to 35hz with 50 square inches of port area.

It only did 136.3 db in that box.

Hmmmm i use a 2 cube box for comps tuned to 54 at 151dbs and my Daily box is 6.5 cubes tuned to 32 and does a 147. ? I found with my MT a BIG box is needed to tune low. But who knows it probably works dif. for everyone, but thats an example of what i use.

2loud4u
09-22-2006, 06:45 PM
forgot to add also that my 3 cubic foot box was rising to 11ohms @ 60hz:scared:

Abel
09-22-2006, 06:46 PM
forgot to add also that my 3 cubic foot box was rising to 11ohms @ 60hz:scared:

ouch not getting much power from amp then :uhoh:

2loud4u
09-22-2006, 06:49 PM
no far from getting power.

Put in test tones and read the ohms during play with my dmm here is what I got.

60hz test tone the sub is rising to 11 ohms
50hz rise to 9ohms
35hz rise to 8.6 ohms

saywhat?
09-22-2006, 06:57 PM
those subs do actually like a decently small box for a general 12 its size. I would open up the port a bit more though imo.

2loud4u
09-22-2006, 06:58 PM
those subs do actually like a decently small box for a general 12 its size. I would open up the port a bit more though imo.

Any suggetions on port?

saywhat?
09-22-2006, 07:05 PM
16-18 per cube

2loud4u
09-22-2006, 07:10 PM
that is what i have

2.2 cubes 37 square inches

that is about 17 square inches per cuft

saywhat?
09-22-2006, 07:18 PM
okay, didnt care to do the math. Just seemed a bit on the small side for a sub that moves a ton of air. You should be fine at 17 per.

2loud4u
09-22-2006, 07:57 PM
If this dont work I am selling it lol

saywhat?
09-22-2006, 07:59 PM
all i know is nick and scott say to open up the ports a good bit for the BTL, and really any sub for that matter. there was a guy ith 2 q's not getting too loud and they told him to open his port a LOT more than he had it.

2loud4u
09-22-2006, 08:01 PM
Yeah I dont know much about it and was just going by what I was told.
I was told to use about 15 square inches per cuft.

I wish someone was around me to help out but there isnt so just takin what I can get and hoping for the best.

saywhat?
09-22-2006, 08:05 PM
i design boxes, and i mean theres no real way to tell how much port you need, you just gotta go by experiences of others. all of that **** changes car to car, power to power, box to box.

I personally have put 30-35 sq inches on a alpine r 12" in 2.5 and it did fine, no port noise. MT will move a bit more....but I think you should be fine as far as noise is concerned....but possibly get more out of it by opening up a little more.

2loud4u
09-22-2006, 08:14 PM
care to make me up a box plan?
worth a shot in asking.

Say 20 square inches per cuft?

springy101
09-22-2006, 08:19 PM
just get one 6" aero from type r bass or livin life

2loud4u
09-22-2006, 08:21 PM
just get one 6" aero from type r bass or livin life

Now that is a really good idea.

Dont have to rebuild the box all the time.

now which is going to sell me the port cheaper lol

springy101
09-22-2006, 08:22 PM
i think dante said the 6" aeros have ~54" of port area too

2loud4u
09-22-2006, 08:25 PM
i think dante said the 6" aeros have ~54" of port area too

Wow Guess i will have to pick one of those up then.
That should do nice is a 2.2-2.5 cuft box for my MT.

80INCHES
09-22-2006, 08:31 PM
u should have put that sub in a 6th order bandpass
it will be really loud
have the rear in 1.5 cubes tuned to 60hz with 1 30square inch port and the front 2 cubes tuned to 35hz with 1 30square inch port


80

2loud4u
09-22-2006, 08:34 PM
Could You fit it in this space?

32w x 15h x 18.75d

mazdakid
09-22-2006, 08:36 PM
your not gonna get twice the area going from round 6" to aero 6"

80INCHES
09-22-2006, 08:38 PM
Could You fit it in this space?

32w x 15h x 18.75d

yes u can

80

saywhat?
09-22-2006, 08:40 PM
dante said his PAIR of 6 inch aero's are 54 square inches. NOT A SINGLE ONE. Contact him, thats the way I would go.

2loud4u
09-22-2006, 08:45 PM
single 6 inch areo has 56 square inches.
I just asked him.

mazdakid
09-22-2006, 08:53 PM
i dont think so, thats more than an 8"

2loud4u
09-22-2006, 08:56 PM
that is just what I was told.

springy101
09-22-2006, 08:56 PM
dante said his PAIR of 6 inch aero's are 54 square inches. NOT A SINGLE ONE. Contact him, thats the way I would go.

its a single one noob

2loud4u
09-22-2006, 09:02 PM
i dont think so, thats more than an 8"

well they are bigger then 8 inches. there flair is like 10 something

mazdakid
09-22-2006, 09:04 PM
so you think theres enough flare to make that 6" inside actually over 8"?

springy101
09-22-2006, 09:04 PM
http://westcoastspl.com/viewtopic.php?t=54&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=15

very first post n00bx's

mazdakid
09-22-2006, 09:10 PM
can you tell me how you get 56"

springy101
09-22-2006, 09:16 PM
can you tell me how you get 56"

nope

i thought it was pi r ^2 but that gives you like 91 something

2loud4u
09-22-2006, 10:35 PM
Well got all the wood cut for the 2.2cuft @ 35hz box.

Hope this one does better then 3cuft@35hz

bimma85
09-22-2006, 10:43 PM
can you tell me how you get 56"

from a few too many shots ;)

What were all the settings on the deck and amp? how did you set the gain?
Could be many things. Also what is the amp?

2loud4u
09-23-2006, 07:26 AM
setting on the deck

volume 45/63
eq flat
bass 0
sub control all the way up
loudness off
LPF 100hz
Hpf 80hz


setting on amp (orion 2500d)

Gain switch set to gain
Lpf 80hz 12db slope
Intelli q set to 0
Hpf 30hz
Phase set to 0

Used a 60hz test tone and set gains at 44.?v

TypeRBass
09-23-2006, 01:41 PM
allright time for me to school you people on how to get the port area of a ROUND 6" port.....
pi*r

3.14*3

3.14*9

28.26 sq inches of port PER SINGLE 6" PORT.

/end

56.52 sq inches per TWO 6" ports. loliez...

saywhat?
09-23-2006, 01:44 PM
hmmmm pretty sure thats the SAME EQUATION i posted. so much for schooling.

TypeRBass
09-23-2006, 01:47 PM
hmmmm pretty sure thats the SAME EQUATION i posted. so much for schooling.

i didnt read it all. i saw a few people asking how much so meh. im not gonna read through a bunch of gibberish. do you feel special?

mazdakid
09-23-2006, 02:10 PM
http://westcoastspl.com/viewtopic.php?t=54&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=15

very first post n00bx's

1 isnt 56" noob

2loud4u
09-23-2006, 06:22 PM
Well wood all cut and put together. just need to let the glue dry and try it out tomorrow.

It better pound or the mt is going to get a wall socket.
Very disapointed so far. got about 1 grand in this woofer and aint doin anything like it should

mazdakid
09-23-2006, 06:29 PM
trade me for my 18" mt/btl

2loud4u
09-23-2006, 07:27 PM
trade me for my 18" mt/btl

If it would fit sure but max box I can get in my car right now is 3cuft after sub and port displacement.

vetkilr
09-23-2006, 07:38 PM
try the 6th order...........

2loud4u
09-23-2006, 08:28 PM
I might but it should not be this hard.

Re should have better service.

Called and asked for suggestions on a box for my sub and buddy said.

Well we dont recomend you use you mt daily.
I said ok but still need a box size for it.

He then said do around 2cuft with 15 square inches of port area per cuft.

I wish re was like the good old days.

vetkilr
09-23-2006, 08:32 PM
thats stupid
2 cubes you have 30 square

so if:
3 cubes you have 45 square
4 cubes you have 60 square

??? wheres the logic.

iamamp3pimp
09-23-2006, 08:35 PM
well...yours is 3 cubes @ 44 squares......and its sounding pretty dang good.

lol


i'd do something similar to yours Joel.

2.8-3.4 (depending on power) with about 50 sq inches, tuned to around 37

iamamp3pimp
09-23-2006, 08:36 PM
lot of port, decent lower end extension and a lot of box.

-Robin

2loud4u
09-24-2006, 12:33 AM
well...yours is 3 cubes @ 44 squares......and its sounding pretty dang good.

lol


i'd do something similar to yours Joel.

2.8-3.4 (depending on power) with about 50 sq inches, tuned to around 37

Right now it is in 3 cuft after displacement tuned to 35hz with 50 square inches of port area and it aint doin $hit

iamamp3pimp
09-24-2006, 12:35 AM
same box as joel pretty much.......


this MT has put you through a ton of crap.

2loud4u
09-24-2006, 02:14 AM
same box as joel pretty much.......


this MT has put you through a ton of crap.


what sub does joel have?

And yes it has. kicked me in the balls a few times.

mazdakid
09-24-2006, 11:23 AM
what car do you have it in and what way is it facing

2loud4u
09-24-2006, 11:49 AM
1998 neon and sub and port back.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v465/intelp4/Picture011.jpg

iamamp3pimp
09-24-2006, 12:20 PM
massive audio DMX.

why the allthread?

mazdakid
09-24-2006, 12:59 PM
seats fold down? ever tried it the other way?

2loud4u
09-24-2006, 01:39 PM
yes back seats are not even in the car. i removed the pieaces that fold down.

Yes tried it facing the other way and did worse. never sealed it from the rest of the trunk. 2 much hassel for something that dont work well in my car.

People with the same car as me told me it didnt work well.

Why the all thread?

bracing. My 2500d is bolted to the back of the box and didnt want any flexing.

iamamp3pimp
09-24-2006, 01:41 PM
to save the amp, thats a good reason. I just dont use allthread if i dont have too.

ill get at you on AIM later bro.

Peace

2loud4u
09-24-2006, 01:48 PM
Cool I will be on aim all day.

It is raining outside so cant put in my new box today :(

mazdakid
09-24-2006, 02:18 PM
im aure it would make a difference if it was sealed off facing the front, i did mine with blankets and it made a huge difference. we tried a box like that in my friends newer neon and it sounded alot better and got louder too

2loud4u
09-24-2006, 02:23 PM
yeah the new neons are alot different then the old ones.

Trunk is alot bigger.

I am going to give this MT two more chances to play nice.
1 box will test when it stops raining if that dont work I am willing to build one more.

If they dont work I am selling this MT.


And thow a single 10 and alittle amp in there.

Have another project just waiting to build.
Goal is to take a crx and do 150 daily tuned low.
2 x 15" btls

But one project at a time.

80INCHES
09-24-2006, 03:32 PM
yeah the new neons are alot different then the old ones.

Trunk is alot bigger.

I am going to give this MT two more chances to play nice.
1 box will test when it stops raining if that dont work I am willing to build one more.

If they dont work I am selling this MT.


And thow a single 10 and alittle amp in there.

Have another project just waiting to build.
Goal is to take a crx and do 150 daily tuned low.
2 x 15" btls

But one project at a time.

r u gooing to try my idea..i think it be an improvement
wat part of canada r u in..i was ontario last night gambling
i gambbled 60 bux and left the table with 221 bux:up2somet:

black jack ftw!!!!!!

80

Lakota
09-24-2006, 03:50 PM
single 6 inch areo has 56 square inches.
I just asked him.
A=(2)(pi)(R)

2loud4u
09-24-2006, 04:16 PM
r u gooing to try my idea..i think it be an improvement
wat part of canada r u in..i was ontario last night gambling
i gambbled 60 bux and left the table with 221 bux:up2somet:

black jack ftw!!!!!!

80


Not sure if I am going to try that 4th order or not.
Going to try this box first and if it dont work going to try one more.
then if still not happy it is up forsale

I am in nova scotia.

This is why RE is going down hill.
No customer support.
Cant even give the correct size and port area for there sub.
Pretty sad.

80INCHES
09-24-2006, 04:23 PM
it was a 6th order which is more efficent than a 4th order
i know 4 a fact u will be louder than wat u r now

80

2loud4u
09-24-2006, 07:06 PM
it was a 6th order which is more efficent than a 4th order
i know 4 a fact u will be louder than wat u r now

80

Now that wont be hard 136 on the AC with a mt :furious:

2loud4u
10-01-2006, 12:40 PM
but in the new box yesterday 2.2cuft @ 35hz with 37 square inches of port area and sounds alittle louder but not like it should be.

I have had enough with this mt and have no idea what to do next.

I think it is going to get eather a wall socket and thrown off the nearest bridge or just sell the dam thing and get something that will work for me.

FI btls here I come.

80INCHES
10-01-2006, 12:42 PM
i'm telling u try 6th order be4 u start going off the deep end


80

iamamp3pimp
10-01-2006, 12:54 PM
Try 80's 6th order.

its worth a shot.


if not, then you can sell it top me for cheap!

-Robin

mazdakid
10-01-2006, 01:03 PM
ya how much you wanna sell it for?

2loud4u
10-01-2006, 01:14 PM
Try 80's 6th order.

its worth a shot.


if not, then you can sell it top me for cheap!

-Robin

Yeah might give him a pm just have to get some funds in my paypal account so will take a few days to transfer funds from my bank to my account. :crap:


ya how much you wanna sell it for?

How much you willing to pay for it?

bamaboy
10-01-2006, 01:18 PM
im too lazy, but what exactly are you trying to get out of this?

sounds like your install ***** or your expecting way too much from 1 12

how did you set your gain?

2loud4u
10-01-2006, 05:12 PM
im too lazy, but what exactly are you trying to get out of this?

sounds like your install ***** or your expecting way too much from 1 12

how did you set your gain?


What I am trying to get out of this is to get it loud.

136.X on the AC asking to much from a single 12" MT?:eyebrow:


Install does not ****. really how hard is it to put you box in the trunk.

Set the gain with a dmm then poped in some music and listend for noises and as soon as I heard anything I backed the gain off a **** hair and tested again till there was no noises. only noises I heard where in songs that got low like late night tip there was a little slaping sound. I am thinking it was the tinsle leads slapin.

Here are pics of the install.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v465/intelp4/Picture011.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v465/intelp4/Picture013.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v465/intelp4/Picture009.jpg

bamaboy
10-01-2006, 09:02 PM
its not that hard to get a MT loud,i think something is not done right in the install, so you set the gain by dmm and then upped it a little bit?

i just dont see by selling the MT and getting a BTL or what not, that its going to be a night and day difference

squeak12
10-01-2006, 09:07 PM
Why dont you turn the sub facing the cab. It doesnt look like theres much room around the box for the air to move towards the cab.

mazdakid
10-01-2006, 09:15 PM
thats what ive been trying to tell him but they said no

mazdakid
10-01-2006, 09:16 PM
or how far is it from the back of the trunk? have you moved it around and listened to it? like closer maybe

thatkidbob
10-01-2006, 09:22 PM
dude... are you freaking serious?

136 is NOTHING. an average, decently loud, system will make it to the 130s on an AC...

you've got a ridiculous SPL sub and 2500 watts and you're hitting 136???

wow.

2loud4u
10-01-2006, 09:58 PM
its not that hard to get a MT loud,i think something is not done right in the install, so you set the gain by dmm and then upped it a little bit?

i just dont see by selling the MT and getting a BTL or what not, that its going to be a night and day difference


Yes set it with a dmm then turned it up alittle till i noticed noise or the sub started to stress. then backed off the gain alittle and tested again. untill i found it playing perfect no problems.




Why dont you turn the sub facing the cab. It doesnt look like theres much room around the box for the air to move towards the cab.


Yeah but the 2.2 cuft box i have in there now ( the one in the pic is 3cuft) is like 4 inches shorter on the sides and 2 inches shorter in depth.




or how far is it from the back of the trunk? have you moved it around and listened to it? like closer maybe

It is about 9 inches from the back of the trunk. yes i have moved it around and no improvement. even turned the box around so it fires in the cabin and pushed the box all the way back to the trunk no improvement eather.




dude... are you freaking serious?

136 is NOTHING. an average, decently loud, system will make it to the 130s on an AC...

you've got a ridiculous SPL sub and 2500 watts and you're hitting 136???

wow.



I know that is why I am so confused. i can get this loud with a set of mids.

Something here is really messed up. and have no idea on what to do.

I really think that this mt is just not doing what it is supposed to.



I can pop the trunk and crack the volume and the sub is movin really well but just really cant hear anything.
The sub is movin but no sound.

thatkidbob
10-01-2006, 10:37 PM
sub is moving... no sound...

i'm thinking you have MASSIVE cancelation going on...

but i can't figure out where cancelation might be copmging from...

have you tried sealing the vent yet?

squeak12
10-01-2006, 10:38 PM
What are your other amp setting like? Is the polarity correct?

2loud4u
10-02-2006, 03:33 AM
What are your other amp setting like? Is the polarity correct?

Other amp settings are

Gain set with test tones then music.
Lpf about 80-100hz
12db slope
bass boost 0
hpf set to 28-30hz

Yes polarity is correct i checked it about 100 times.
Just can not find anything wrong.

squeak12
10-02-2006, 05:20 PM
Read the manual about the db slope and intellibass and make sure those are right. Its kinda confusing or on my 8004 it was.

2loud4u
10-02-2006, 06:29 PM
does not say much about them.

BiZkiT8u
10-02-2006, 06:40 PM
I'm not to knowledgable but shouldn't your hpf be set higher than 28-30 hz

2loud4u
10-02-2006, 07:21 PM
I'm not to knowledgable but shouldn't your hpf be set higher than 28-30 hz


no cause it is the sub sonic filter on the amp and you usualy set it to 5hz below tuning.

Pyro_By_Nature
10-02-2006, 08:00 PM
Wow is all I can say.I did a 136 on the TL without even trying, 1 12" tc9 and 200-300 watts BEFORE impedence rise lol, pure daily driving box.

Have you tried different boxes?Maybe there was some funky design flaw or building error.Some boxes that look OK on paper turn out to be horrible failures once you try them out.


Please, sell your equiptment to someone who knows what they're doing. . . .

2loud4u
10-02-2006, 09:10 PM
Wow is all I can say.I did a 136 on the TL without even trying, 1 12" tc9 and 200-300 watts BEFORE impedence rise lol, pure daily driving box.

Have you tried different boxes?Maybe there was some funky design flaw or building error.Some boxes that look OK on paper turn out to be horrible failures once you try them out.

Yes I have tried 2 different boxes

3cuft @ 35hz with 50 square inches of port area

2.2 cuft @ 35hz with 37 square inches of port area.


And I am going to sell the MT it just wont get loud in my car and dont know why.

That mt should get crazy loud in eather of the boxes i built but the fact of the matter is it didnt.

I am almost done with this car and set up.

Going to start my 2 x 15 " fully decked out btl set up in my crx.
Atleast with FI I can get support on box size unlike RE.

So I will be selling 2 things.

12" MT & Orion 2500d




Please, sell your equiptment to someone who knows what they're doing. . . .

I do know what I am doing just something is not right with the car.
Has to be the car.
And I made a post about a box for it and only a few chimed in to help.
Called RE and got buddy telling me 2cuft 30 square inches of port area. that was after him trin to tell me that I should not run it daily and will get no support from them if I do.

and isnt this forum here to help people.?
I have done alot of installs in my time and all turned out as expected just this one has gone crazy.

iamamp3pimp
10-02-2006, 09:51 PM
test th coils on that sub....something isnt right.

2loud4u
10-02-2006, 09:53 PM
coils read fine

1.3 on one and 1.4 on the other.

I know something is not right just dont know what or how to test anything else besides what I have tried.

CBFryman2
10-02-2006, 09:56 PM
MT liked walls.

2loud4u
10-02-2006, 10:04 PM
a wall for a single 12 would be a waste of space.

squeak12
10-02-2006, 10:06 PM
Mess with the switch for the db slope then listen to it. I dont remember exactly what Im trying to explain, but I cant find a manual to read it.