PDA

View Full Version : 12" ported enclosure help?



innsanes
09-17-2006, 06:24 PM
I just picked up a 12" diamond d9 and now i need to build a ported box for it. dunno if i should tune it to 28hz or 30hz? I will be using two 4 " port tube becasue slotted is too difficult especially when i dont have a table saw. will using two 4 in port tube eliminate any port NOISE? thanx

innsanes
09-17-2006, 09:54 PM
bump with sum help

xluben
09-17-2006, 10:15 PM
i think two 4" dia ports should be plenty, but have fun fitting them in the box!

for a 2ft^3 box you'd need two 40" long, 4" dia ports to get a tuning of 28Hz!

i think a slot port would be easier. if you are making the cuts for the outside of the box, why can't you do a few more for a port?

this has the same port area as two 4" dia ports, and would fit in most trunks, while keeping a good portion of your cargo space free.

http://www.subwoofertools.com/forum/ported-box.asp?Ew=32&Eh=14&Dia=6&Xmax=16&Vd=.1&NumW=1&Vb=2&Fb=28&Qts=&Vas=&Fs=&CE=0

innsanes
09-18-2006, 01:00 PM
wow your right that does look easy. most of the time i see slotted ports with alot of bends and folds creating a very complex cut for me. but that looks realy easy with just two more extra cuts. thanks

xluben
09-18-2006, 03:27 PM
no problem! good luck with your box. i hope it turns out well.

innsanes
09-19-2006, 01:55 AM
is there a big difference from tuning 28hz vs. 30 hz?

xluben
09-19-2006, 07:56 AM
no, 30 will be fine.