PDA

View Full Version : Do I need a new box size for my subs?



SoundsUnlimited
12-20-2002, 10:11 AM
I presently have two 12" JLW3;s in a 1.92ft3 box....They do ok..Other than they aren't quite loud enough..I wonder if I should get a different box setup..Maybe go wtih a 1.5cbft3 for each sub...The box I now have is a 1.92 sealed with no chamber dividers..I wonder if I can get more out of my subs if I get a different box setup...I have a 1995 5.0 mustang and as you know space is limited in the trunk..But any help offered would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

buster
12-20-2002, 01:27 PM
Before building a new box, I'd experiment with your current one. Try stuffing it with various amounts of polyfil and maybe add a little bracing to make it rigid.

evo2k3
12-21-2002, 12:46 AM
try what buster said....'stuffing' a box can "trick" the sub into acting like there is almost 20% more space than there actully is. Is the box built out of mdf? if not dont mess with it, build a new one, If it is, put a divider in there, its never a good idea to run two subs in one are space. If your still looking for a few more db's you could port it, understand that you loose versitily (smaller optimal frequency range). Good luck.

80_Cutlass_mn
12-21-2002, 12:51 AM
Actually there is nothing wrong with running two subs with the same airspace, there are only to real problems when doing this. 1) The box will flex more causing unwanted noises possibly, to fix this brace the inside of the box very well. 2) If one subs goes out then the other will also if this is allowed to continue, the subs that is blown will move in and out with the other sub causing it to possibly over excursion and blow. Along with this it will sound like doo-doo, cuz of all the cancelation the blown sub will create.

SoundsUnlimited
12-21-2002, 10:32 AM
Yes I do need to do something to the box..I keep having problems with subs blowing or or VC popping in-two..The box is 3/4" MDF wood...But as said earlier they do sounds liek pure ***..Luckily they face away from me in the trunk broadcasting towards the rear..Which is good cause I can get the most SPl from that..But I think today I am going to go and buy two more JLw3s and go take it to a guy I know who has been doing car audio for 45 years and get him to build me a box...I went to him last week and he wasn't real satisfied with the box, nor the setup...Plus I get tired of replaing sub after sub:mad: ....But I may still chamber the box..Depending on what I decide to do...I might just say the hell with it and go buy 1 12"w7 and put 1000 watts to it, and say the hell with the w3's...But thanks for the help guys.

Blake

SoundsUnlimited
12-21-2002, 10:34 AM
Also what should I stuff the box with, if I have no polyfill?

SoundsUnlimited
12-22-2002, 12:36 AM
No I've checked the box several times..It doesn't have any leaks.

evo2k3
12-22-2002, 12:41 AM
Originally posted by SoundsUnlimited
No I've checked the box several times..It doesn't have any leaks.

we are assuming there are no leaks.....the point is there will be.....the pressure in the box will be to much for it. I have to be honest man, if you try to use that box your just a ****ing idiot....you got the warning on here, mess it up...thats your choise.

SoundsUnlimited
12-22-2002, 01:45 AM
I realize that the box is ****ed up..And I AM changing it out the start of next week..But I thank you for your assistance...The other day I took my friends subs and put them in that box..They just don't seem to hit right..I think dur to the box not being chambered...But hell I'm tired of figured whats wrong with it..i got money..I'll go get a good setup.>The ***** that built the box didn't know there *** from a hole in the ground anyways..This new guys I'm taking it too...he'll set me up right

evo2k3
12-22-2002, 03:59 PM
Originally posted by evo2k3
we are assuming there are no leaks.....the point is there will be.....the pressure in the box will be to much for it. I have to be honest man, if you try to use that box your just a ****ing idiot....you got the warning on here, mess it up...thats your choise.

hey I am sorry i have been dealing with another thread and talking about leaking there as well....that was not ment for you....my apologize!!

SoundsUnlimited
12-22-2002, 08:28 PM
No problem man..I know what you mean...It gets frustrating sometimes! :cool: