PDA

View Full Version : Radio Shack gold plated terminals...



Big Dee
09-12-2006, 03:30 AM
... **** big time.

They are a little pricey and the build quality is horrible.

Both negative push springs came loose and didn't hold the wire in anymore.

I sealed them up with silicon caulk since they let a little air through and drilled some holes in the back of the box, much better solution imo and costs nothing.

Immacomputer
09-12-2006, 08:35 AM
I've always used the Radio Shack screw down rectangular terminals and they're great. They're only about $3.00 and worth it to me. I've never had them leak and they are really useful when you have to move your enclosure a lot or switch voice coil configs a lot.

Megalomaniac
09-12-2006, 09:18 AM
only $3 you can get them at partsexpress for like 68cents

Bolognablake
09-12-2006, 09:40 AM
only $3 you can get them at partsexpress for like 68cents

Plus $6 for shipping.

My local Rat Shack doesn't carry terminals.

jeeper07
09-12-2006, 09:42 AM
love those jeeps ^^^

xluben
09-12-2006, 11:30 AM
do NOT get this termial:

http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2103795

or the stereo version of it. they didn't even attempt to make it airtight, and i couldn't even get it close to being sealed using weather stipping. i ended up sealing the holes with silicone and usnig the nuts and bolts method.

if you must get terminals go for on of these:
http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2102834
http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2103794

but they're quite big and cost a lot compared to parts express :)

Immacomputer
09-12-2006, 11:44 AM
I will never use spring loaded terminals ever again. I have tried them in the past and they have always given me problems. The only terminals I would buy from parts express would be these:
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=260-311

But even then, they would not be any better than what I use from radio shack with the ones I buy locally being cheaper because I save on shipping. Mine have never leaked and are very sturdy.

scotsman
09-12-2006, 11:47 AM
I just finished my most recent box and used the bolt and washer terminal, best idea IMO.

TwistedMovistar
09-12-2006, 11:53 AM
I just finished my most recent box and used the bolt and washer terminal, best idea IMO.

i have done that for my last three boxes and it couldn't be better:)

BOLTS FTMFWB!!!!!

BaseSteala112
09-12-2006, 12:34 PM
Anyone just drill holes in the box to run wire through???? Thats all I do.

PhatTonyDeMarco
09-12-2006, 12:43 PM
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=091-1154

Love 'em.

Fast1one
09-12-2006, 03:13 PM
I just finished my most recent box and used the bolt and washer terminal, best idea IMO.Same here...Ill never go with terminals again...the partsexpress ones were good but they were pricey once you added the stupid shipping. The one I got from a local audio shop leaked like hell...

I have hundreds of bolts and nuts here :)

Immacomputer
09-12-2006, 05:48 PM
Anyone just drill holes in the box to run wire through???? Thats all I do.

I used to but I move my subs around too much now and switch voice coil configs quite a bit as well. Having wires at random really stresses me out. I would much rather use a terminal per coil to keep things open.

I have thought about the bolt and washer method but I have a feeling it would get on my nerves.

Big Dee
09-13-2006, 02:57 AM
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=091-1154

Love 'em.

Wow. ****. Those are going in my next box.

Right now I'm sticking with wire coming straight through the box and some quick disconnects.