PDA

View Full Version : adjustable tuning



mtlhead
09-11-2006, 03:28 PM
Ok, I have my box (built to RE Specs) for an SX 15", if you need specifics ill post em, but its 3.5 cu tuned to 32 Hz, and I want to tune it higher for comps and shtuff, what would be the easiest way to make it tuned higher (say 45?) without making a new box, could i just secure a piece of mdf inside the port?

xluben
09-11-2006, 03:29 PM
nope, that'll tune lower.

only way would be to shorten the port or increase the port area, both not very easy to do :(

Fast1one
09-11-2006, 03:29 PM
Adding MDF would actually lower the tuning....Just build a new box with a lot of port area and make a removable port for daily driving...

Edit: ^^^pwned by milliseconds...

mtlhead
09-11-2006, 03:32 PM
wait, make shorter? i thought i was suppose to add port area?

xluben
09-11-2006, 03:54 PM
yep, add port area (and keep the length the same) or shorten the port (and keep the area the same)

putting mdf along the inside wall of the port will lower port area and thus lower port tuning, and could get you port noise depending on how small you make the port.

ssj2xxgotenxx
09-11-2006, 07:20 PM
Removable port is what you're looking for.


KthxBye.

mikey060
09-11-2006, 07:28 PM
werd, keep the top of the box removable...

mtlhead
09-11-2006, 07:36 PM
poly fill in the port would work would it? just asking cuz isnt that the stuff that fools the sub into thinking its in a bigger enclosure?

Lckmyblls
09-11-2006, 07:42 PM
contact.... ionsql he built my swappable port enclosure in my sig..... i gained 1.8 db on the tl and that was not even playing around with the positioning of the box yet....