PDA

View Full Version : slot port



snitchelgroovin
12-18-2002, 06:14 PM
how do these slot ports work? i was thinking of getting a 12w6v2 and going ported. they tell me that i should build my own box, but i really dont know how to tune it, except that the hole has to be real big, and it should go back about 15 or more inches making my box real big. i would like to save space, and im told that on the slot, you just wrap it around the inside to get it as long as you want... will this sound a good as the circle ported?

anything else i should know about it, feel free to say something

snitchelgroovin
12-18-2002, 06:24 PM
height i have about 14.5
depth about 18
width about 17 (all these are max)


i was thinking of getting about a 14x16x18(or17)

overall i need about 1.5, 1.6 cubic feet after displacement

snitchelgroovin
12-18-2002, 08:02 PM
well then, that sounds good.

where did you do that?

snitchelgroovin
12-18-2002, 08:24 PM
wow... so i need to tune the amp from 30-55 Hz?? the jl website recommended that this sub be tuned to 31, is that too low?

snitchelgroovin
12-19-2002, 12:43 AM
i see...

snitchelgroovin
12-19-2002, 12:56 AM
i kinda understand... im getting some cdt HD for my front, and lets say they drop off at 70hz... then i change the freq on the amp so that the subsonic filter is at 30, and the (i dont know what you call it) high is at 70... right?

snitchelgroovin
12-19-2002, 01:12 AM
im not getting a 3way comp system

just a midbass and a tweeter... expensive enough, but im getting it for 200$ the cdt hd 5.25 comp system

snitchelgroovin
12-19-2002, 01:27 AM
im not sure that you can adjust the midbass crossover... is that possible?