PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on Box for 18" TC-5200



SkwurlyFab
09-07-2006, 08:28 PM
Kyle sent me the specs for the box:

"3 cubic feet with a 50" area port that is 41" long will work which is a 28Hz tuning frequency."

So that's for a regular slot ported box which would be easy, but I wanna make it with 2 slot ports like my current box. One on each side with the sub in the middle on top like this:

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y292/onionhunter420/100_0579.jpg[/QUOTE]

I called Kyle and he said it would work fine with 2 ports, I just don't know how to split em up correctly so that it's still tuned to 28 hz. Obviously each one would have 25 inches of port area, but how long should each one be?
Any help would be appreciated and I'll make sure to post up some pics of the build and the finished product. Thanks.:)

90accordman
09-07-2006, 08:29 PM
half the distanceof the normal one maybe?

jeepintn
09-07-2006, 08:29 PM
Kyle sent me the specs for the box:

"3 cubic feet with a 50" area port that is 41" long will work which is a 28Hz tuning frequency."

So that's for a regular slot ported box which would be easy, but I wanna make it with 2 slot ports like my current box. One on each side with the sub in the middle on top like this:

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y292/onionhunter420/100_0579.jpg

I called Kyle and he said it would work fine with 2 ports, I just don't know how to split em up correctly so that it's still tuned to 28 hz. Obviously each one would have 25 inches of port area, but how long should each one be?
Any help would be appreciated and I'll make sure to post up some pics of the build and the finished product. Thanks.:)[/QUOTE]

i get around 52" each

SkwurlyFab
09-07-2006, 08:50 PM
what program are you using to get 52" each? cuz with a box that's only 3 cubic feet thats really really long isn't it? I'll try winISD, dunno how to use it that well though. Anyone else have an idea?

SkwurlyFab
09-07-2006, 09:26 PM
I'm trying to plot it on winisd but I don't have the PE parameter so it's giving me an error symbol. How would I get the Pe if it's not listed on tc's website?

SkwurlyFab
09-07-2006, 09:31 PM
It's tellin me each port needs to be 50.86 now. Sounds clsoe to the 52" measurement.

jeepintn
09-07-2006, 09:32 PM
ok, is your 3.0 cubic feet after port? or is it the size of 3.0 minus port?

mazdakid
09-07-2006, 09:36 PM
what are you doing with the sub you have now

SkwurlyFab
09-07-2006, 09:50 PM
I asked Kyle if it was 3 feet before or after displacement and he said before because the box is actually a little big for the driver so the added walls of the port and everythign will bring the volume down to pretty close to the right size. Hard to believe such a large driver can be put in such a small box. I was expecting to get dimensions for a 6 to 8 foot box!
And my other sub is playing happily in my car right now. :)

jeepintn
09-07-2006, 09:51 PM
ok, ill help u out, you got pm

SkwurlyFab
09-07-2006, 10:17 PM
haven't gotten the pm yet. did you send it allready and it's just not showing up?

SkwurlyFab
09-07-2006, 10:37 PM
When it's saying 50.86 inches of port length, is that split between each port so that each port gets 25.43 inches or does each port need 50.86 inches by itself?

SkwurlyFab
09-08-2006, 02:34 PM
...

jeepintn
09-08-2006, 03:48 PM
each port would get that length...

SkwurlyFab
09-08-2006, 03:49 PM
So here's what I have drawn up so far. The only thing I don't know how to do correctly is the length of the port walls. There's 4 total as you can see and I know they have to be 3 inches away from the back wall. But I still don't know for sure if each one has to be 50.86 inches or if that's split. If someone could give me the correct measurements of those 4 walls, or 2 I guess since each side is identical, it would help a lot. I'm off to pick up the beast right now from TC sounds so hopefully there's some answers when I get back so I can bang the box out real quick and hear this sub. Thanks. :)

SkwurlyFab
09-08-2006, 03:51 PM
Didn't see your reply, must've been typing at the same time as me. So if each one has to be that length, what do the measurements of each wall have to be acconting for the fact that I'm using 3/4" mdf to get 50.86 inches?

SkwurlyFab
09-08-2006, 08:27 PM
where the hell did my picture go?!

SkwurlyFab
09-08-2006, 08:29 PM
So how long do zig zagging port walls need to be each?

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y292/onionhunter420/TC-5200Box-1.jpg

Rc 415
09-08-2006, 08:48 PM
how bout sum pics of the sub? :naughty:

SkwurlyFab
09-08-2006, 08:51 PM
I have pics. Just no card reader or usb cord to transfer em to the shop computer. I know, I'm blowing it lol.

SkwurlyFab
09-08-2006, 08:57 PM
**** it, I think I'm just gonna use this tried and true box plan and run the sub on the top board facing up instead of on the same face as the port.

http://img23.imageshack.us/img23/3976/32cubes28hz5075sqin6qb.png