PDA

View Full Version : sub switch-box adjustment



ddrive101
09-07-2006, 03:17 PM
YO, I have a sealed dual box that i had 2 type r's in and the cu ft measurement was 2cu ft for both, one cu ft per sub. one blew so im switching to jl w3v2's, which call for .6-.8 cu ft per sub. So will this be a big woop or should i try to make the box smaler by say, adding an extra layer of mdf to the back of it cutting out some of the smace? Any suggestions would be cool thanks.

xluben
09-07-2006, 05:48 PM
i'd just put them in and see how you like it first.

Trixter
09-08-2006, 01:19 PM
you'd be fine using that one.

ddrive101
09-08-2006, 03:03 PM
Alright, i just heard if the box is too big you lose some efficiantsy and or sq, or that you could do some damage some how like it makes the sub excurt too much.?
thanks though.

Trixter
09-08-2006, 03:18 PM
Alright, i just heard if the box is too big you lose some efficiantsy and or sq, or that you could do some damage some how like it makes the sub excurt too much.?
thanks though.


the larger the box, the more efficient it make the speaker....meaning it takes less power to move....which, if too big, can cause over excursion. in your case the difference so minimal it won't matter. i usually build boxes a tad larger anyways.

ddrive101
09-14-2006, 01:33 PM
Ok, they sound bad. My one type r sounded better than both these. Thier loose sounding, like just a bunch of vibrations with half the punchyness and response as the Rs. plus i cant turn them up as loud or they look over excuted. Whats goin on here? They look to move in instead of out ...:uhoh:

Trixter
09-14-2006, 01:41 PM
They look to move in instead of out ...:uhoh:


then you have the + / - switched. a good way to test it to touch a 9v battery to the sub's terminals. (make sure + is to + and - is to -) if the sub moves out, you good. if the sub moves in, then switch you amp wires around....assuming that would be easier than poping out the subs and switching it there.

ddrive101
09-14-2006, 02:03 PM
Ok thats what i thought initially, so i took the subs out and switched the wiring, im sure thier right but i could be wrong. Thier dual 2 ohms, and i have em in series/parallel. ill try to just switch the amps wireing.

ultimate157
09-14-2006, 02:09 PM
Ok thats what i thought initially, so i took the subs out and switched the wiring, im sure thier right but i could be wrong. Thier dual 2 ohms, and i have em in series/parallel. ill try to just switch the amps wireing.

Seeing as they are DVC, I'd recommend taking the subs out and double check the wiring inside. You don't want one coil pushing while the other's pulling, etc.

so that means you should have them wired like this:

http://www.rockfordfosgate.com/rftech/wiringwizard/2_2ohmDVC_2ohm.gif

vetkilr
09-14-2006, 02:14 PM
Those subs are light yrs ahead of type rs...........

And they like bigger boxs like 1.25-1.5 per sub sealed.
Ported they will Just blow your mind.......you dont know how much your losin in that small of a box.......You could have one in the right box and sound way better.

ddrive101
09-15-2006, 11:07 AM
Well ive reconnected the wires a few times now, and they still move in. I hooked my previous subs up and they were the same voic coil design so i know how to wire them... They bottom out if turned up to any moderately loud volume and sound as if they were blowing.

Any other ideas guys? Could they be bad speakers? i got them used from a friend but they appear to be in great shape and thier only about year old.
Thanks

Trixter
09-15-2006, 01:07 PM
if they move in the + and - are backwards, somewhere...no way around it. even if, they would only loose some bass...not sound completely like ***. other than that they may be shot...don't know. if they soubd that bad in a 2cu' box it's not going to be like 100000 x better in a 3cu' box...some but not that much.

did you try my battery test? do it on each vc...maby one is shot and the other is good or something...never know til you try.

ddrive101
09-15-2006, 06:15 PM
Thier blown!
****.
Thanks for the info though.
Anyone got a couple good subs for sale? 300w rms

Trixter
09-16-2006, 10:27 AM
Thier blown!

that would do it...sorry to hear it.