PDA

View Full Version : Port Length for 28hz?



mikeyboc
09-06-2006, 09:50 PM
I have external dimensions of 49"W x 16"H x 15.5" D ( I can change the width if necessary). I want a port on each side that is about 3" wide. How long should it be on each side? My goal is 3.8-4 cu @ 28 hz.

edit: or would it be easier to have one port located in the middle?

mazdakid
09-06-2006, 09:53 PM
a 14.5" x 3" slot on each side?

mikeyboc
09-06-2006, 09:56 PM
a 14.5" x 3" slot on each side?

That's what I got, but I am coming up with each one being about 32 in or so?

mazdakid
09-06-2006, 10:00 PM
32" would only be for 1

mikeyboc
09-06-2006, 10:04 PM
32" would only be for 1I meant each.

mazdakid
09-06-2006, 10:05 PM
no that would be alot of port area, and they would each need to be longer. just make one thats like 14.5x3.5

mazdakid
09-06-2006, 10:06 PM
2 ports that are 14.5 x 3 each 32" long would tuned it to about 39hz

mikeyboc
09-06-2006, 10:09 PM
no that would be alot of port area, and they would each need to be longer. just make one thats like 14.5x3.5


2 ports that are 14.5 x 3 each 32" long would tuned it to about 39hz

I just like the way the it looks with them on the ends, but oh well. 1 port it is!

Thanks for the input.

Trixter
09-07-2006, 02:12 PM
why don't you do 2 taht are 14.5 x 1.5 or so?

xluben
09-07-2006, 06:54 PM
yeah, two skinnier ports would be much more practical.

tuning that low with 6" of total port width would be a LONG port!

also, with two ports, make sure you do the calculation by dividing the box volume in half and using one port, then just make the second port the same length.