PDA

View Full Version : Need someone to help with Ported box for two 15' L5s



aaron7114
09-06-2006, 12:51 AM
Ok right now I have two 15 inch L5s in two separte sealed boxes. It is pretty freakin loud (147 db) but I want to get louder...i would like to get in the 150s. How hard would it be to turn my sealed boxes into ported boxes?

Also is there a way to have a box tuned to 2 different frequencies like takin the port piece out and replacing it with a different size or something like that? I would like to have it tuned around 35 hz for daily driving then around 50 hz for competition.

The boxes in there now are 4 cu ft each.

This is in a honda accord so its in the trunk so I dont have a lot of room. I keep my back seat down unless there is more than 1 person riding with me so I was wondering if it would be possible to have the ports coming up through the backdash? That way when I had the seat up alot of the bass would still be coming through.

If someone would kindly help me build this box I would greatly appreciate it.

I will try to get my box dimensions tomorrow so if someone doesn't care they could figure out the port dimensions and all that stuff for me. I have never built a ported box before.

big_mike7254
09-06-2006, 12:56 AM
sounds like a weak system. lmao, actually its about the loudest in town with the sealed boxes, so porting them would be insane:)

PhatTonyDeMarco
09-06-2006, 01:02 AM
Where did that 147dB come from? Two L5's... sealed... in a trunk... Doesnt seem like it could manage a 147 to me.

But, you are better off making new enclosures. The sealed enclsoure volume will not be enough to turn it into a ported one, it will be drastically too small... Also, yes many people have changeable tuning frequencies in which a port piece can be detatched and reattatched like you described. Also, aero ports are an easy way to change your tuning as often as you'd like!

Edit- Just read your sig, 4 cubes sealed EACH? That can't sound good..
But if the boxes are actually that large, then you might be able to convert them into ported. But, I dont reccomend it, make a new box.

aaron7114
09-06-2006, 01:07 AM
Where did that 147dB come from? Two L5's... sealed... in a trunk... Doesnt seem like it could manage a 147 to me.

But, you are better off making new enclosures. The sealed enclsoure volume will not be enough to turn it into a ported one, it will be drastically too small... Also, yes many people have changeable tuning frequencies in which a port piece can be detatched and reattatched like you described. Also, aero ports are an easy way to change your tuning as often as you'd like!

Edit- Just read your sig, 4 cubes sealed EACH? That can't sound good..
But if the boxes are actually that large, then you might be able to convert them into ported. But, I dont reccomend it, make a new box.

the guy actually thought the mic wasn't workin bc he couldn't believe it was only hitting a 147, but anyways thats beside the point.

My entire trunk is FULL with what I have now (see my avatar, or go to this topic which has more pictures: http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=179133)

I had to build 2 separate boxes because there is no way I could get 1 big one in there.

Dont have a whole lot of room to work with bein in a accord.

big_mike7254
09-06-2006, 01:32 AM
Where did that 147dB come from? Two L5's... sealed... in a trunk... Doesnt seem like it could manage a 147 to me.

But, you are better off making new enclosures. The sealed enclsoure volume will not be enough to turn it into a ported one, it will be drastically too small... Also, yes many people have changeable tuning frequencies in which a port piece can be detatched and reattatched like you described. Also, aero ports are an easy way to change your tuning as often as you'd like!

Edit- Just read your sig, 4 cubes sealed EACH? That can't sound good..
But if the boxes are actually that large, then you might be able to convert them into ported. But, I dont reccomend it, make a new box.

i was with this guy when he got it metered. and the guy really did think his mic wasn't working cause it was only hitting a 147. its hard to even breath in this street ride. trust me, when you get a quarter to flip on top of the car turned half way up, that's loud.

90accordman
09-06-2006, 01:42 AM
i had L5s in my accord just about the same trunk space as you 6.5 cubes at 32hz in a JMAC designed box that i built was before i smashed the box up in pieces hitting 145 TL at the passenger kickpanel, i'll post a few pics of it in the trunk as i built in in a min

90accordman
09-06-2006, 01:47 AM
http://img17.imageshack.us/img17/2963/hpim00748do.th.jpg (http://img17.imageshack.us/my.php?image=hpim00748do.jpg)
http://img228.imageshack.us/img228/889/hpim00779dn.th.jpg (http://img228.imageshack.us/my.php?image=hpim00779dn.jpg)
http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/1094/hpim00800ti.th.jpg (http://img10.imageshack.us/my.php?image=hpim00800ti.jpg)
http://img160.imageshack.us/img160/3428/hpim00729yh.th.jpg (http://img160.imageshack.us/my.php?image=hpim00729yh.jpg)

90accordman
09-06-2006, 01:48 AM
I would think you would be ok with 6 cubes with 15s as kicker recommended 2.5 per sub for mine

coolahan
09-06-2006, 05:39 PM
I would think you would be ok with 6 cubes with 15s as kicker recommended 2.5 per sub for mine

you put the carpet on in the trunk!? how hard was that :uhoh:

90accordman
09-06-2006, 05:44 PM
its not carpet, what carpet is shiny?

its gloss black pearl auto paint

coolahan
09-06-2006, 05:45 PM
its not carpet, what carpet is shiny?

its gloss black pearl auto paint

can't tell from the picture.. but that would explain it.

90accordman
09-06-2006, 05:47 PM
hmmi can see the glos on the pic oh well

aaron7114
09-06-2006, 05:58 PM
anyone know the dimensions of a 94 accords trunk?

PhatTonyDeMarco
09-06-2006, 11:32 PM
i had L5s in my accord just about the same trunk space as you 6.5 cubes at 32hz in a JMAC designed box that i built was before i smashed the box up in pieces hitting 145 TL at the passenger kickpanel, i'll post a few pics of it in the trunk as i built in in a min

Yeah, a 145 with a ported box is believable, but a 147 sealed, with that little power? I just doubt it.

90accordman
09-06-2006, 11:34 PM
same here but i wasnt there to see or hear it so i cant say one way or another...mine were only powered with 1100rms when i did the 145

aaron7114
09-06-2006, 11:37 PM
please stay on topic please. I am ready to port these bad boys soon.

Fattony911
09-07-2006, 05:48 PM
take max deminsions then give them to a box builder and tell him what you want interchangeable ports are hard but doable i think someone jsut had a worklog of one. I doubt your gonna do it yourself (not sure so dont get offended) And you might just have someone cut all the peices for you and assemble it in the trunk or completely remove the back seat and slide it in whatever way gets it done. gl p.s were was the mic at?

aaron7114
09-07-2006, 05:52 PM
take max deminsions then give them to a box builder and tell him what you want interchangeable ports are hard but doable i think someone jsut had a worklog of one. I doubt your gonna do it yourself (not sure so dont get offended) And you might just have someone cut all the peices for you and assemble it in the trunk or completely remove the back seat and slide it in whatever way gets it done. gl p.s were was the mic at?

I am gonna build it myself I just have never built a ported box before.. always went sealed. I dont wanna take out my back seat though because people ride back their occassionaly. If no one ever rode back there i would definately take it out.

xluben
09-07-2006, 06:38 PM
what are the dimensions of your current boxes? that would be a good thing to know first. you might have to do two seperate boxes to be able to fit them into the trunk.

i have 99 accord, and with a standard rectangular cube box (like my avatar), with a decent amount of port, i don't see it being any bigger than 4-5ft^3 (total, after displacement).

also, what did you get metered with? doubt it was TL.

90accordman - you didn't carpet it while it was in the trunk, but how did you PAINT it while it was in the trunk!?