PDA

View Full Version : Making My First Box



Kaltenberg
09-02-2006, 11:44 PM
Ok well i have a POS 6.5" sub that i got along time ago so i figured that it would be fine for building my first boxes. I plan to use 3/4 mdf, and the othe tools that are needed. Becasue there only 300 watts (peak) and its like a paper cone i dont expect much but a good box makes some difference. What should my width, height, and depth for the box be? im going to make it rectangle not slanted. I would use trial and error but i cant afford more supplies than 1 box for now because all my job money goes straight to the bank. This would bevery helpful if you could give me a good height, width and depth. thank you!!

Beat_Dominator
09-02-2006, 11:46 PM
Do you have a brand/model of this POS sub? Or even a picture?


Also are you planning to make the box sealed or ported?

azbass
09-02-2006, 11:50 PM
you are probably better off useing 1/2 inch mdf. with bracing. with that little of a woofer and power.

Kaltenberg
09-02-2006, 11:50 PM
for a first im thinking sealed becaue its easier, but i dont know much of anything about ported so i could try if its simple..ill grab my digital camera and take a couple pics

Death By Bass
09-02-2006, 11:52 PM
make a folded horn... :D

azbass
09-02-2006, 11:55 PM
and have a louder SPL than you ^^

Kaltenberg
09-03-2006, 12:06 AM
Whats a folded horn? and is that a joke or something i should really try?

pics...
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y22/thcody05/P1010034.jpg
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y22/thcody05/P1010033.jpg
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y22/thcody05/P1010032.jpg
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y22/thcody05/P1010031.jpg

links...
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y22/thcody05/P1010034.jpg
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y22/thcody05/P1010033.jpg
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y22/thcody05/P1010032.jpg
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y22/thcody05/P1010031.jpg

PowerNaudio
09-03-2006, 02:13 AM
what did that "sub" come out of. any names or brands or model?

its hard to determine an enclosure for the sub if we dont have any info about the sub.

i mean a generic enclosure would be a close prediction with out T/S parameters.

Kaltenberg
09-03-2006, 11:48 AM
i have no idea, i boght it from checker auto parts 2 for $20 so im guesiing it wasnt name brand. its 4 ohms tho it says it on the back of the sub, and 300 peak power

PowerNaudio
09-03-2006, 01:44 PM
generic enclosure dimensions.
are
eclosure volume= 1.05cuf thats after displacement.
enclosure tuning= 28.00Hz
vent = 1 - D=4" X L= 38.4"

ps: these values are for a single speaker


that should give you some decent lows. dont expect anytning out of this world, but letus konw how it comes out.
laters

Beat_Dominator
09-03-2006, 01:49 PM
Lol you don't need 1cf for a sub that small. I'd say go with a ported box, maybe .4-.5 cubic ft. after port/sub displacement.... and tune high, like 40hz.

PowerNaudio
09-03-2006, 02:02 PM
Lol you don't need 1cf for a sub that small. I'd say go with a ported box, maybe .4-.5 cubic ft. after port/sub displacement.... and tune high, like 40hz.

i think that will make the "sub" sound more like a woofer or midbass.
i ran a couple 8" woofers on winISD and most of them would play bettter at the enclosure values i gave him. some on biger enclosures,

i think you should go withe the bigger enclosure. and 1 sub for experimentation. and adjust the internal volume and tuning till you get what you want then build the enclosure for both of them.

iamamp3pimp
09-03-2006, 02:19 PM
i'd try something big, then go smaller like PnA said. why?

because it hard to go bigger without a rebuild.

Death By Bass
09-03-2006, 04:26 PM
in a huge enclosure like that, tuned to low, the woofer will probably bottom out with like 5 watts, and reach x-max with 1 watt...

plus, its not a subwoofer because it plays sub frequencies, its sub because its stand alone...

the whole term "subwoofer" is stupid anyway!!!

iamamp3pimp
09-03-2006, 04:29 PM
lol he cnstantly annoys me.