PDA

View Full Version : One screw holding sub is loose, a problem?



Big Dee
09-02-2006, 07:10 PM
See title. It still has a little pressure, but it's not really tight at all. All of the rest of them are very secure and tight, will this one screw cause me problems?

jeepintn
09-02-2006, 07:14 PM
doubtful, a lot of time i only use 4 screws instead of all 8, but if u want it to be tight, i have used an anchor before when the hole gets to big for the screw, and it worked fine

SkwurlyFab
09-02-2006, 07:15 PM
you should be allright if all the rest are in there good and tight. Doesn't sound like you ahve too huge of a setup anyways so a tiny tiny airleak won't kill your ****.

Ruffy
09-02-2006, 07:23 PM
one screw caused my D6 sub to leak. So it's possible :P
It didn't hurt it. Just the sound from one sub sounded like ***. if you pressed down with your finger ont he spot where the screw is, it cleaned up

Big Dee
09-02-2006, 07:26 PM
Thanks guys.

I think I'm too **** to even try it like it is now. I'll just glue another piece of mdf to the back of it and drill it into that.

mazdakid
09-02-2006, 07:28 PM
why not just turn the sub a 1/4"?

Bolognablake
09-02-2006, 07:29 PM
You could also stick some toothpicks in the hole to give the screw something to bite into.

Big Dee
09-02-2006, 07:31 PM
why not just turn the sub a 1/4"?


Genius :)

I swear I'm a total idiot sometimes. Do you think I should put some silicon in the holes?

Great tootpick idea also, thanks.

lilmaniac2
09-02-2006, 07:34 PM
no silcone.... overkill :)

SkwurlyFab
09-02-2006, 07:39 PM
yeah if you turn the sub and redrill all new holes, make sure to fill in the old holes with liquid nails or something like that.

phantom240
09-02-2006, 07:44 PM
Not always necessary on subs with rubber mounting gaskets on their ring.