PDA

View Full Version : hooking up subs to a home stereo?



Puppet Master
08-31-2006, 01:47 PM
Hey all. I have a cheap *** stereo I won a couple of years ago, and I was wondering something. If I hook up my subs to it, will I **** anything up?

JimJ
08-31-2006, 01:49 PM
You could...

Best bet is to get a real plate amp for it...

skadude016
08-31-2006, 01:49 PM
home theater stereo?

thing with that is you might not even have a sub output on the stereo... dunno what is it?

phyphoestilic
08-31-2006, 01:50 PM
U mean like wiring ur subs directly up to it?I think u still need an amp, and are the signals comming out the stereo RCA's or the speaker wires? if its the speaker wires u probably need like a Hi Low convertor than wire it to an amp than finnaly to the subs.

Scoobydoo
08-31-2006, 04:15 PM
your gonna need a crossover at the least and most home receivers are built for a 8ohm load

phantom240
08-31-2006, 04:23 PM
dvc 4 ohm subs ftw.

T3mpest
09-01-2006, 01:40 AM
i'd worry more about the cheap *** stero than the subs. I'm assuming the subs are of a lower impedence than your recievers rated at?

joetama
09-01-2006, 12:45 PM
Just buy a good plate amp with RCA and Speaker level inputs on it with a built in crossover.... That way it's all you need....