PDA

View Full Version : Need a final clear from some people before i start building



tank65
08-29-2006, 07:25 AM
Well i designed my box in sketchup. First time using it and i did pretty **** well. so i got some pics to go along with my question.

Internally the box is
31.5in. width
16in. depth
14in. height.
using 3/4in. mdf

my slot port is 14in. high and 2in. wide and 13.75 long.

Im tryin to get 32hz or as close as i can with this config. So is the port fine? if its not please let me know how long it should be or how high/wide to make it.

im building this box as my first box today so i just want some clearence from expierienced people around here.

some pics of me designing in sketchup for my first time! thnx to whoever started that thread about sketchup screwing up on them because thats how i found out about the program.

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y72/tank65/2006-08-29_063456.png
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y72/tank65/2006-08-29_063513.png
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y72/tank65/2006-08-29_063438.png
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y72/tank65/b3767493.png
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y72/tank65/b7f3ac10.png

Phreaker
08-29-2006, 09:16 AM
Why don't you just use this

http://img10.imageshack.us/my.php?image=4cubes32hz65sqin0uu.png

Trixter
08-29-2006, 01:18 PM
i get that you have a 4.08cu' box. to tune that box to 32hz. the port needs to be 13.69" but once the port is placed inside, the box gets smaller and the port needs to get longer to keep the tuning. make the port 15" long and you'll be set. 13.75" long will get you 33hz.

tank65
08-29-2006, 02:03 PM
trixter ty very much for lettin me know, but my box is only 16in. deep internall that means the end of the port would be 1in. away from the wall. Is that ok? or should i re configure my box to be an inch deeper or so

ngsm13
08-29-2006, 02:06 PM
Make a bend in the port ;)

nG

tank65
08-29-2006, 02:21 PM
a bend? got any example pics? and btw i have 1 3/4in. clearence from the end of the port to the back of the box if i make it 15in. just through it together with the new ports in sketchup and did the measurements.

Phreaker
08-29-2006, 05:59 PM
The port should beequi distance from the back as it is from the side wall of the box.

for example...you have a slot port that measures 4" across,therfore you will need 4" clearance from the end of the port to the back wall of your box.

Bening a port isn't what you think it is.

Basically a bent port looks like an L.

The box plan I posted shows a bent port,you bend it by simply adding another piece of MDF cut to proper length and Height and attach that to the end of the first port wall.

Check out the design from Moe Lester that I posted and look at how the port is built.

tank65
08-29-2006, 06:14 PM
ok so my port is 2inches wide so it has to have 2inches of clearance from the end of the port to the wall??

i have 1 3/4's clearence if i make it 15in. long like trixter said to

jeepintn
08-29-2006, 06:17 PM
u would stop is at the distance from the back of the wall u need to have clearance from, and bend it, measuring from the center line

tank65
08-29-2006, 06:22 PM
alright nvm im just going to do this one


http://img35.imageshack.us/my.php?image=44cubes32hz66sqin7et.png

the one that was posted above wouldnt fit my trunk cuz i only have 37inches of width to use. this is 36 so ill be fine.

thanks for all the help and tips ill put some pics up of the box later.

OneKrazyKeebler
08-29-2006, 11:18 PM
thanks for all the help and tips ill put some pics up of the box later.

danm right you will. lol. jk

Trixter
08-30-2006, 08:23 AM
honestly you could make the port in the center and make as long as you can leaving 2" from it's end and the back of the box. (it would be 14.75" long) your tuning will be under 33hz. but if you need to change the box for other reasons then so be it.