PDA

View Full Version : Finished box, fvcked up sub :(



prochobo
08-27-2006, 06:24 PM
It's 3.5ft3 @ 37hz. Sub is an 15" AQ HD3 motor, RE MT softparts.

The sub is jacked up however. . . VCs were rubbing, but when I put it in the box and played it a little, it stopped. I pushed down on the cone and voila, no more VC rub, but something is still seriously wrong. It bottoms out above tuning! I used the same settings I did with my Type-Rs and had no problems, but this sub has it all. . . Look out for wall socket vids soon :laugh:

Here's a vid of what I'm talking about. When the bass hits, you will hear some fvcked up bass, it's not the mic or wind either and it sounds 100x worse in person. I cringed when I popped my trunk and heard that crap.

http://prochobo.com/aq-mt.mp4

http://prochobo.com/Pictures/aq-mt hybrid 001.jpg
http://prochobo.com/Pictures/aq-mt hybrid 003.jpg
http://prochobo.com/Pictures/aq-mt hybrid 004.jpg
http://prochobo.com/Pictures/aq-mt hybrid 005.jpg
http://prochobo.com/Pictures/aq-mt hybrid 006.jpg
http://prochobo.com/Pictures/aq-mt hybrid 007.jpg
http://prochobo.com/Pictures/aq-mt hybrid 008.jpg
http://prochobo.com/Pictures/aq-mt hybrid 009.jpg
http://prochobo.com/Pictures/aq-mt hybrid 011.jpg

BTW, those were Home Depot cuts. Gorilla Glue works wonders for filling in gaps!

saywhat?
08-27-2006, 06:34 PM
I may go ugly on my next box too :)

prochobo
08-27-2006, 06:35 PM
I may go ugly on my next box too :)

The uglier the louder. Carpet takes away dee beez :laugh:

Decipha
08-27-2006, 07:11 PM
um... you may want to question your tuning, i can almost promise you that its not tuned anywhere near 37hz maybe 57hz at best

btw caulk fills gaps better, a sander doesn't hurt either... i don't mind ugly boxes i mean after all you don't see the box you hear it

prochobo
08-27-2006, 07:16 PM
um... you may want to question your tuning, i can almost promise you that its not tuned anywhere near 37hz maybe 57hz at best

btw caulk fills gaps better, a sander doesn't hurt either... i don't mind ugly boxes i mean after all you don't see the box you hear it

Ummm. . you may want to rethink that. 3.5 cubes, 2 4" flares 12" long = 37hz.

skmfkr
08-27-2006, 07:52 PM
just get a new aq hd3 with the 2year warranty

woody89
08-27-2006, 08:13 PM
3.5 (2) 4" 37hz
Straight Length Port required 11.21
Flare Length Port required 12.21

57, pshhhhh

tommyk90
08-27-2006, 08:18 PM
Wow that box is bad.

If that was some sort of an attempt at an SPL-oriented box (i'm guessing because of the external flares), I'm sorry. :(

I could name at least 3 things that would improve the performance of that box right off the bat.

prochobo
08-27-2006, 08:23 PM
Wow that box is bad.

If that was some sort of an attempt at an SPL-oriented box (i'm guessing because of the external flares), I'm sorry. :(

I could name at least 3 things that would improve the performance of that box right off the bat.

Enlighten me. It was also so it'd be easier to swap ports rather than having to unscrew the ports everytime which leads to stripped holes.

JimJ
08-27-2006, 08:25 PM
Making sure all your cuts line up is one thing...

AllStar1500bd
08-27-2006, 08:25 PM
It's 3.5ft3 @ 37hz. Sub is an 15" AQ HD3 motor, RE MT softparts.

The sub is jacked up however. . . VCs were rubbing, but when I put it in the box and played it a little, it stopped. I pushed down on the cone and voila, no more VC rub, but something is still seriously wrong. It bottoms out above tuning! I used the same settings I did with my Type-Rs and had no problems, but this sub has it all. . . Look out for wall socket vids soon :laugh:

Here's a vid of what I'm talking about. When the bass hits, you will hear some fvcked up bass, it's not the mic or wind either and it sounds 100x worse in person. I cringed when I popped my trunk and heard that crap.

http://prochobo.com/aq-mt.mp4





http://prochobo.com/Pictures/aq-mt%20hybrid%20006.jpg
http://prochobo.com/Pictures/aq-mt%20hybrid%20007.jpg




BTW, those were Home Depot cuts. Gorilla Glue works wonders for filling in gaps!You seriously wear socks with sandals? Weird.. :crazy:

budahbuddy803
08-27-2006, 08:33 PM
^^^ahahahaha

tommyk90
08-27-2006, 08:37 PM
Enlighten me. It was also so it'd be easier to swap ports rather than having to unscrew the ports everytime which leads to stripped holes.

1) More port area. 2 4" ports isn't going to suffice a 15" sub of that caliber.

2) Push the ports farther back. From all the boxes i've seen and testing i've done, the farther away the ports are from the sub, the better. *Note* This isn't something concrete that will always work. It's just what i've seen. */Note*

3) Angles inside the box. Since you are an AS competitor, I would seal up the inside with paint instead of resin (since you aren't allowed to use resin).

4) You probably know this already, but play with box position and port lengths. Sub firing into car, port to drivers side seems to work out well in trunk cars. I'd also pick up a bunch of 4" PVC from menards/lowes/etc. and mess around with the port length. In some cases the car will do a better score with the ports firing closer to one of the sides of the trunk.


That should keep you busy for now. :)

iamamp3pimp
08-27-2006, 08:43 PM
you mean sub forward, port to the drivers side?

iamamp3pimp
08-27-2006, 08:43 PM
you mean sub forward, port to the drivers side?

tommyk90
08-27-2006, 08:44 PM
you mean sub forward, port to the drivers side?

I mean exactly what I said. :)

Sub firing into the car, the ports firing towards the drivers side of the trunk. :)

iamamp3pimp
08-27-2006, 08:47 PM
on opposide sides of the box?

or ported out the side....

im just making sure because i dont run like that, but if it works, its worth a try

tommyk90
08-27-2006, 08:50 PM
on opposide sides of the box?

or ported out the side....

im just making sure because i dont run like that, but if it works, its worth a try

Just like the box he has now in terms of sub/port layout.

But I would move the ports farther back on the same panel they are on now (back in the corner). As far away from the sub as it can get.

prochobo
08-27-2006, 08:54 PM
You seriously wear socks with sandals? Weird.. :crazy:

I'm Asian. LOL we can do that.


1) More port area. 2 4" ports isn't going to suffice a 15" sub of that caliber.

2) Push the ports farther back. From all the boxes i've seen and testing i've done, the farther away the ports are from the sub, the better. *Note* This isn't something concrete that will always work. It's just what i've seen. */Note*

3) Angles inside the box. Since you are an AS competitor, I would seal up the inside with paint instead of resin (since you aren't allowed to use resin).

4) You probably know this already, but play with box position and port lengths. Sub firing into car, port to drivers side seems to work out well in trunk cars. I'd also pick up a bunch of 4" PVC from menards/lowes/etc. and mess around with the port length. In some cases the car will do a better score with the ports firing closer to one of the sides of the trunk.


That should keep you busy for now. :)

I will give those a shot. I didn't know about the port placement, didn't think it would matter much. I left myself enough room so I could add another port if I wanted to.

Angles are too hard to do :( I tried resin with another one of my boxes and got no increase whatsoever. However, I will try the paint with this box, but they may get gay with me because the rules say something along the lines of "no fiberglass resin or materials of the like may be used to increase SPL".

I still have a lot of box placement testing to do, but I'll do that when I get a fully functioning sub. Now, I've only done limited placement testing, but so far, sub forward, ports driver side hasn't worked out so well. But this is a different story so I will try. Thanks!

tommyk90
08-27-2006, 09:01 PM
I'm Asian. LOL we can do that.



I will give those a shot. I didn't know about the port placement, didn't think it would matter much. I left myself enough room so I could add another port if I wanted to.

Angles are too hard to do :( I tried resin with another one of my boxes and got no increase whatsoever. However, I will try the paint with this box, but they may get gay with me because the rules say something along the lines of "no fiberglass resin or materials of the like may be used to increase SPL".

I still have a lot of box placement testing to do, but I'll do that when I get a fully functioning sub. Now, I've only done limited placement testing, but so far, sub forward, ports driver side hasn't worked out so well. But this is a different story so I will try. Thanks!

Angles are easy to do. :)

Go to home depot and get an 8 foot piece of 4" PVC (hey, you need it to play around with the port length anyways :)). Measure the INTERNAL height of your box, cut a piece of PVC that long. Then cut that PVC into quarters length-wise to get four angles that you can put into the box. :)


Just to give you an idea of how much these little things can add up, i'll give you a breakdown of what i've gained by doing these things in my single 10" box.

Played with port length=.7 dB gain
Angles=.3 dB gain
Resin=.1-.2 dB gain.

iamamp3pimp
08-27-2006, 09:04 PM
out of curosity, what are you using to get the PVC angles to stay in place?

tommyk90
08-27-2006, 09:06 PM
out of curosity, what are you using to get the PVC angles to stay in place?

I use a staple gun.

VQ35max
08-28-2006, 01:14 AM
Are you using drywall screws?? I'm not too sure thats a good idea if thats what you used...

SPL140.2
08-28-2006, 01:42 AM
just get a new aq hd3 with the 2year warranty

thats what i was thinkin :D

tommyk90
08-28-2006, 12:20 PM
Are you using drywall screws?? I'm not too sure thats a good idea if thats what you used...

Drywall screws for what?

prochobo
08-28-2006, 12:29 PM
Drywall screws for what?

I think he's talking about the screws for my box.

Yes, they are drywall screws. . . what's wrong with those?