PDA

View Full Version : New Home theater system

Flipx99
08-23-2006, 07:20 PM
I am new to home audio. I enjoy car audio but want to expand my knowledge. Currently, I just have a TV. I was looking into starting one.

Here is what I got so far

Receiver: Pioneer VSX-816-K
--I like it because it is 7.1 and XM ready
--100wx7
--link:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000EYB8KI/ref=sr_11_1/102-2892853-3464911?ie=UTF8

DVD Player: Sony DVD-NS90V
--DVD player that has HDMI like my TV and multiple audio outputs
link:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000A6TNKC/ref=sr_11_1/102-2892853-3464911?ie=UTF8

Now, I have a few questions:

Sub Amp: I have a 300w@4ohm sub amp laying around. Would it be better for home to get a power supply and use that or to buy a new plate amp.

Subs: I got this free Qi SSD dual 2 laying around I will use. [wired to 4 ohms]

Speakers: Here is where I got many questions. In a 7.1 setup, what kind of speaker goes where? I really like several on your setups where you have a couple mids and a few tweets. Is it good to build the same thing all around and use a crossover? (Wire to a crossover and have mids/tweet play from it.)

Crossover: I am sure I need one and prefer to go passive.

I am looking to be DIY as much as possible...any suggestions?

Flipx99
08-24-2006, 12:13 AM
Any suggestions?

I did a search for 7.1 on here and came up with nothing.

JimJ
08-24-2006, 01:09 AM
Is your room really big enough to make 7.1 worthwhile?

joetama
08-24-2006, 02:45 AM
Good luck finding a lot of disks with 7.1 on them....

Anyway, usually what I would say is do something dual mid (maybe) and a tweeter in the front, and center channel. But the surrounds do a book shelf speaker, they seriously don't get used all that much to do much else practially unless you are looking to shell out the cash.

Sub, get a plate amp and do it right.