PDA

View Full Version : My slim PS2 install + pics



MegaHurtz
08-18-2006, 01:17 AM
After changing my head unit up to an Alpine IVA-D900 earlier this week, I decided to pick up a slim PS2 for installation in my car. I tried a couple of different places for installation, and settled on the center console. Putting it there required the least modification to my car (only had to make 2 holes in the bottom of the compartment), it fit the best (the lid closes WITH the controllers plugged in), and it seemed like a logical spot. In fact, the test fit in there made it look like it was meant to be, it's almost perfect.

This took under 3 hours, from start to finish. That included taking both the driver's seat and center console out, and also installing an Alpine KCA-420i (which only took about 5-10 minutes), which arrived today as well.

Comments are encouraged and welcomed!

So here's how I did it...

Here you get an idea of how I wanted to mount the console. It still leaves me with enough space to keep everything in there that I need (but I did have to give up some random junk that was sitting in there). What you can't see is how it is almost flush with the top of the compartment.

http://www.2k4civic.com/images/ps2-01.jpg

I put 2 small marks with a white-out pen on the back of the console so that I could mark the holes that I had to drill for the plugs to come through.

http://www.2k4civic.com/images/ps2-02.jpg

I started the holes with a drill from the top, and then dremelled it out from underneath until it was just big enough for the power connector and AV adapter to fit through, filing and sanding it smooth once it was done.

http://www.2k4civic.com/images/ps2-03.jpg

http://www.2k4civic.com/images/ps2-04.jpg

Here is the hardware I picked up to connect it. I opted for a small AV adapter so that I could neatly mount it underneath the center console with double sided tape, and then run a wire to the D900 brain. I also went with a cigarette lighter adpater for a power supply, to allow the unit to run on 12 volts and eliminate the need for a bulky power inverter. Originally, the plan was to get the cigarette lighter power supply, and cut off the lighter part and hardwire it in. I learned however, that there was a power regulator inside the cigarette lighter part, so instead of cutting it off, I bought a 12v power socket which I wired into switched power, and then plugged the power adapter into that.

http://www.2k4civic.com/images/ps2-05.jpg

The AV adapter mounted underneath the center console. Neatly tucked away and secured with heavy duty 3M double sided tape (molding tape).

http://www.2k4civic.com/images/ps2-06.jpg

The assembled power adapter and power socket assembly mounted to the back of the inside of the center console with double sided tape. Power is run under my driver's seat to a distribution block which is on a relay that draws power directly form the battery via a 10 awg line that is used to power my headrest screens, video amp, sirius tuner, underglow, and now the PS2.

http://www.2k4civic.com/images/ps2-07.jpg

http://www.2k4civic.com/images/ps2-08.jpg

Similar to the first pic, but now mounted in the car. The cables are long enough to stick up from the bottom to allow me to plug them into the back of the PS2, but then they drop back through the holes, putting the PS2 right on the bottom of the compartment. I just used a small bit of double sided tape to secure it to the side of the compartment.

http://www.2k4civic.com/images/ps2-09.jpg

As I mentioned earlier, I can connect both controllers, and still close the lid on the center console. I don't know if it will close with a memory card installed, as I don't have one yet. I just picked up this PS2 yesterday, which actually isn't even mine. I have one in shipping from somebody on the board, but since I am going to a car show Sunday, I wanted to expedite the process and get one installed.

MegaHurtz
08-18-2006, 01:17 AM
http://www.2k4civic.com/images/ps2-10.jpg

And the money shot(s). NESA 6.5" visor screens, Innovatek 7" headrest screens, and the aforementioned IVA-D900. With a GT3 demo, the only game I currently have :D.

http://www.2k4civic.com/images/ps2-11.jpg

http://www.2k4civic.com/images/ps2-12.jpg

That's all!

davidfre21
08-18-2006, 01:22 AM
tilted headrests FTL

cool idea with the power inverting, i ended up using an actual inverter but u cant see it... Plus i dont think they make that plug for the nintendo. if they do, point me in the right direction lol

MegaHurtz
08-18-2006, 01:32 AM
Tilted headrests?

They swivel back and forth to adjust the angle

smd4life
08-18-2006, 01:35 AM
nice...make sure to fuse the wire going to the lighter outlet

smd4life
08-18-2006, 01:36 AM
GT3 kicked gt4's ***

ntense702
08-18-2006, 01:40 AM
good job man, very nice install.

LeofromtheH
08-18-2006, 01:52 PM
out of sight, out of mind.

good job

jeepintn
08-20-2006, 10:44 PM
nice

9512ds
08-20-2006, 11:17 PM
how do you like the headrest and visor screens?

hotimportnight9
08-21-2006, 09:17 AM
is there a way to hook up a ps2 or any game console without a invertor?

james33440
08-21-2006, 09:34 AM
pretty nice.

I remember when I had my PS2 with my screens. I had 6.5" in the headrests and visors. I sold them though because I got kinda tired of it. Besides, with a decent sounding system, my screens vibrated like crazy and you couldn't make the movies or games out anyway. LOL.

MegaHurtz
08-21-2006, 11:12 AM
is there a way to hook up a ps2 or any game console without a invertor?Did you see how I did mine? I bought a power adapter for it that runs off a cigarette lighter plug, and to avoid messing with the regulator that was built into it, I bought a 12v socket and just mounted the two under my center console. No inverter needed.


how do you like the headrest and visor screens?Very much :) The quality is great on both, which is great as the Innovatek are cheaper eBay type screens and were better than I was expecting

saj21187
08-23-2006, 10:52 PM
ps2 install looks awesome! im looking to do something similar when the ps3 comes out.

anmol_da_great
08-25-2006, 01:14 AM
if you want to change the disc; you have to take the entire console out

kinda a hassle

MegaHurtz
08-25-2006, 11:13 AM
if you want to change the disc; you have to take the entire console out

kinda a hassle
Nope, the lid opens enough in that position to let me change the disc.

anmol_da_great
08-25-2006, 11:23 AM
oh really... thats pretty nice

im currently working on my xbox install and was forced to put it in the trunk which means re-designing my entire false floor sub/amp install but hopefully itll look nice

i thought about ps2 slim but teg center console is far from big enough for one and even though itd fit in my glovebox id have to take it out to change discs

good job on the install though :)

jluv
08-30-2006, 04:45 PM
I don't understand what you did there with the extra video adapter box. Why not just plug up the cable that comes with the playstation directly to your head unit?

I installed my PS2 under the rear bench seat in my Explorer. I would love to move it to where it is easier to access from the front seat. My concern with putting it in the console was giving it enough room to open when changing disks, but I guess it wouldn't be a big deal. You can always put stuff back in the console after you close the PS2 back up.

Sweet setup, btw.

mikey060
08-30-2006, 07:54 PM
yo, i saw your car on the zero hurtz forum in the kelowna pics section...well the link to your site atleast. very nice

MegaHurtz
08-31-2006, 01:02 PM
I don't understand what you did there with the extra video adapter box. Why not just plug up the cable that comes with the playstation directly to your head unit?

I installed my PS2 under the rear bench seat in my Explorer. I would love to move it to where it is easier to access from the front seat. My concern with putting it in the console was giving it enough room to open when changing disks, but I guess it wouldn't be a big deal. You can always put stuff back in the console after you close the PS2 back up.

Sweet setup, btw.
the purpose was to just make it easy to remove if i ever had to take the center console out, I Can leave the PS2 in and just unplug the cables quickly. Sure I could have used the standard AV cable, but the one I installed was cheap and I used it just to make the install that little bit more versatile.


yo, i saw your car on the zero hurtz forum in the kelowna pics section...well the link to your site atleast. very niceThanks! Were you at the show?

AVSTANG02
08-31-2006, 01:20 PM
Looks awsome!! Good spot!! very easy access!!

just kinda lame that you have wired controllers.

Can you put a wireless controller transmitter in the ps2 slot and still close the armrest?

If not.... well.. u kno... Lammeeee :P

MegaHurtz
08-31-2006, 01:35 PM
I thought about doing wireless controllers, but I go to a lot of car shows and at the few I've been to since I did the install, I've had the system playing so that spectators could have a quick race in GT4 or whatever. I like the idea of having the controllers tethered to the car so that they don't get stolen, I wouldn't want somebody to walk away with my wireless ones, but I guess I switch them out for shows.

jj4475
08-31-2006, 01:42 PM
cool

jluv
08-31-2006, 03:33 PM
I've used several different wireless controllers, and they never seem to work as well as wired, especially without a clear line of sight.

btmorris972
08-31-2006, 03:55 PM
I've used several different wireless controllers, and they never seem to work as well as wired, especially without a clear line of sight.

Have you tried the logitech one?? It has a range of like 40'.

jluv
08-31-2006, 06:55 PM
Have you tried the logitech one?? It has a range of like 40'.

Which ones? I think they have several. I have a set of Logitech ones at the house now that I use in my living room. They're okay, just not as responsive/reliable as wired.

I wish Sony actually made a set themselves that looked identical to the wired ones. I don't need turbo buttons or fancy colors or a new style grip. Oh well. Wired works fine for me, especially in the vehicle where they reach to any seat.

baseballer1100
08-31-2006, 08:17 PM
That is really sweet. Cant wait to get mine in.

mikey060
08-31-2006, 09:00 PM
the purpose was to just make it easy to remove if i ever had to take the center console out, I Can leave the PS2 in and just unplug the cables quickly. Sure I could have used the standard AV cable, but the one I installed was cheap and I used it just to make the install that little bit more versatile.

Thanks! Were you at the show?

no, sadly i wasnt able to make it:furious:

MegaHurtz
09-01-2006, 11:10 AM
no, sadly i wasnt able to make it:furious:
That ***** man, it was a great show.

We're having a regional IASCA finals event on Sept 17th in Surrey if you wanna make the trek down for that :D

yayopwr
04-18-2007, 02:02 AM
looks good brotha
plan on doing the same thing in my rover tomorrow

where did you snag that little av adaptor?

jmanpc
04-18-2007, 02:06 AM
holy old thread batman

bryce-man
04-18-2007, 02:10 AM
nice... the only thing id have to add to the instal would be... if itll fit
some padding on the bottom side where the ps2 sits on the console
cause what if it skips right at the end of a extra long race or something like that lol