PDA

View Full Version : active crossover anyone?



gamefish
08-06-2006, 07:21 PM
ok heres the system so far (not installed yet)

**i posted this over in the sub forum also but i am looking for advice on active crossovers as well**

car- 03 denali

head unit-alpine w200

media manager- pxa-h701

front stage- focal kp100 and focal midbass kit ( its a 4,1and 6.5 also need addvice on running an active crossover or if there is anyone in the chicago land area that can set this up and wants to make some cash). most shops i talk to i know more about the pxa then they do or so it seems!

speakers located in doors and kicks q forms

alpine center channle

proly some focal 4 inch coax in the rear pillers for the rears

skiping the rear doors cuz they fire into the seat and i think they are to close but could be wrong.

amps- alpine pdx 150x4 and the pdx 1000 sub amp (they will be 150 watts going to the 4 and the 1 and a 150 watts going to the midbass.

ok this is hows its going to be wired up
front stage powerd by amps
center power off head unit power
rears off head unit power

ok my question.... need sub options that will give me plenty off bass for a full size suv the location i want to mount it is behind the rear plastic trim on the drivers side so subs like a diamond tdx or a jl w7 are last options but i can make them fit if i have to. also would like to stay around that 400-500 dollar price but if what i want can be had for cheaper then thats cool to.

next question if you see anything here that you would add/change/wire differently please feel free to share oh and i need some good rca cables to links would be great thanks guys

alteraudiousa
08-06-2006, 09:20 PM
honestly for the pxa to be set up right you need an RTA. Setting up 165 bands of grpahic or 27 parametric will be very hard to get it just right. RCAs don't matter too much just make sure they have good shielding on them, and with wire some people can actually here the difference from copper to silver or what dye is used but most can't and its quite hard in a car so just get some wire that is actually the gauge its supposed to be.

adam71
08-06-2006, 09:33 PM
I thought the 701 incorporated active crossovers.?? :crap:


Also, I think you should scrap the whole (powered off the head unit) talk and get more amplifiers if you need to power more channels.

squeak9798
08-06-2006, 09:40 PM
One question, two ways of looking at it:

A) Why in the world are you spending the money on an H701, if you'll only be using it for the front and the subs? Cheaper active xover/EQ combo's can be had.

-Or-

B) If you intend on purchasing the H701, why in the world are you not using it to also process the center and rear channels?

You are not using your system to it's fullest potential with the way you intend on running it. IMHO either run all of the speakers through the H701, or save yourself some money and use a different active/EQ setup. The former being what I would suggest.

squeak9798
08-06-2006, 09:41 PM
I thought the 701 incorporated active crossovers.?? :crap:




It does. I think he's simply looking for assistance on setting it up.

adam71
08-06-2006, 09:43 PM
It does. I think he's simply looking for assistance on setting it up.

Thats what I thought, which is why I suggested he NOT use headunit power for anything.