PDA

View Full Version : power locks/ windows



carguy6702
08-01-2006, 09:00 PM
hey guys I have an 01 Sierra reg. cab base model. i want to add power locks and windows. i was wondering if any of you installed either . can anyone help me. thanx

project f-150
08-01-2006, 09:05 PM
yes i have done both what kind of questions ya got?

carguy6702
08-01-2006, 09:08 PM
what do i need? how do i do it? i knida have an idea but not sure how did you do it? what did you do?

project f-150
08-01-2006, 09:19 PM
there are plenty of kits available that contain everything you need. I think the name of the company i used to use for windows was made by spal or something like that. and for doorlocks you can get actuators and switches just about anywhere

carguy6702
08-01-2006, 09:28 PM
ok i'll look for the window kit. do the actuators need to be a certain psi and what kind of switchesyou talking about

project f-150
08-01-2006, 09:31 PM
no the actuators are electric. you can pick em up from like a best buy or circuit city.
the switches i am refering to are if you want to have lock/unlock switches in the car. You will need these unless you are just wanting to get keyless entry.

project f-150
08-01-2006, 09:34 PM
this is an actuator. http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=330-010.

now to install this you need to decide if you just want to operate it by switches, by keyless remote or both. and that willdetermine what else is needed.

carguy6702
08-01-2006, 09:51 PM
thanx sorry for the misunderstanding i will use a swith
what kind of tools do i need?

carguy6702
08-01-2006, 09:54 PM
i want keyless entry later on when i add an alarm system

carguy6702
08-01-2006, 10:05 PM
ok so i get an actuator and a swith do i need realys or anything like that?
where do i get the power from

project f-150
08-01-2006, 10:11 PM
yes you will need 2 relays. and as far as tools you just need some wire strippers, a drill to mount the actuator, and something like pliers to bend the rod it comes with the correct way. you will get power from either the battery or from the main ignition harness.

carguy6702
08-03-2006, 09:07 PM
ok i know what i need but not how to do it.
where do i put the relays

project f-150
08-03-2006, 09:46 PM
where do i put the relays

that depends on where you put the switches. because it will determine how many lines will need to be run in and out of the door. but most installs i out the relays under the dash cause there is also an alarm/keyless module going with them.

carguy6702
08-04-2006, 08:43 PM
ok thanx for the info
if it goes wrong ima have more questions

project f-150
08-04-2006, 10:40 PM
ok just let us know

bubbagumper6
08-04-2006, 10:43 PM
just wondering ballpark how much it would cost for everything involved to put in power locks? I have manual locks and windows...not too worried about the windows, I know it would be cool but that sounds like a lot of work and easy to screw up. But if its cheap i might attempt the locks...