PDA

View Full Version : My box plans for 3 type-Rs. Will this work?



Demi
07-29-2006, 02:28 PM
Box Plans (http://www.subwoofertools.com/forum/ported-box.asp?Ew=42&Eh=17.25&Dia=4&Xmax=18.2&Vd=.071&NumW=3&Vb=5.44&Fb=36&Qts=.53&Vas=.71&Fs=33&CE=0)
This is my first box so i dont know if this is right or not. When i put in my woofer info it suggested tuning to 24hz, which seemed very very low. I have been told that 35-38 is better suited for my sibs so i put that in. I will be running 3 4omh 10" Type-Rs. Is this box plan valid?
Here is what the program suggested based on my sub specs.
Box 1 (http://www.subwoofertools.com/forum/ported-box.asp?Ew=42&Eh=17.25&Dia=4&Xmax=18.2&Vd=.071&NumW=3&Vb=&Fb=&Qts=.53&Vas=.71&Fs=33&CE=0)
I choose the diamentions based on the alpine suggestions with width multiplied by 3. Is this the correct way to go about this?

Trixter
07-29-2006, 05:59 PM
so far it looks good. to make sure, take the net volume per woofer, as recommended by alpine, and X3 that number. you have 5.44...thats 1.81cu' each, is that what you want? if so, then :thumbupw:

also i would tune it to about 30-32hz....

Demi
07-29-2006, 07:07 PM
No alpine recommends 1.3 cubes per sub.
Which would be more like this.
3.9 Cubes (http://www.subwoofertools.com/forum/ported-box.asp?Ew=42&Eh=17.25&Dia=4&Xmax=18.2&Vd=.071&NumW=3&Vb=3.9&Fb=36&Qts=&Vas=&Fs=&CE=0)
3.9 cubes at 32hz (http://www.subwoofertools.com/forum/ported-box.asp?Ew=42&Eh=17.25&Dia=4&Xmax=18.2&Vd=.071&NumW=3&Vb=3.9&Fb=32&Qts=&Vas=&Fs=&CE=0)
which of these all is ideal?

AcidicDreams
07-29-2006, 07:11 PM
No alpine recommends 1.3 cubes per sub.
Which would be more like this.
3.9 Cubes (http://www.subwoofertools.com/forum/ported-box.asp?Ew=42&Eh=17.25&Dia=4&Xmax=18.2&Vd=.071&NumW=3&Vb=3.9&Fb=36&Qts=&Vas=&Fs=&CE=0)

Every box I have ever built using manufacturer specs has been too small. You need to get winISD or BB6 Pro and model the box using the T/S params.

In fact I had 2 15" ID IDW's once. Rec box size was 1.5 cubes which was a total joke for those subs. I ended up doing 8cubes for both

Drop your tuning to 30-32hz and remodel it using the T/S params

AcidicDreams
07-29-2006, 07:13 PM
That calc thing you had has some inputs for the T/S params.. the Qts, Vas, Fs thing is for that. Set the drop down to SQL though, Maximally flat will have a huge box and the small box will have wacky tuning

Demi
07-29-2006, 07:26 PM
I cant figure out that **** program man, if it doesnt call the spec in question the exact thing it calls it in the manual then im lost.
Here it is at rec cubes with SQL and tuned to 30hz. box
(http://www.subwoofertools.com/forum/ported-box.asp?Ew=42&Eh=14&Dia=4&Xmax=18.2&Vd=.071&NumW=3&Vb=3.9&Fb=30&Qts=.53&Vas=.71&Fs=33&CE=1.5)

Demi
07-30-2006, 06:13 AM
Bump

Demi
07-30-2006, 05:19 PM
You guys cant be seroius. All the people we have here at the forum and no one call help me out?

Trixter
07-31-2006, 11:08 AM
i like either the 30 or 32hz box....should sound nice.

Demi
07-31-2006, 01:08 PM
Alrighty 32 3.9 cubes box it is. Ill throw some pictures up here when i get started.