PDA

View Full Version : Need box plans - will pay $$$



ghart999
07-29-2006, 12:21 AM
Hi all,

I need some very detailed box plans for a pair of Sound Splinter RL-P 12's. I am pretty sure what the dimensions need to be, but not exact. Hence I am willing to pay a box expert the going rate for plans.

This is what I want: 3.0 ft^3 net volume at 34Hz. My width is 36" and my height is 17.5". I can go as deep as 18".

Port area per Sound Splinter specs is 40 in^2 for 2 subs. I would be willing to go a bit bigger if you think the vent mach is too high at 40. Maybe as high as 48 I could go.

If you are going to do a design for me, please know how to correctly calculate port displacement, etc. I have seen many designs where I know the displacement was incorrectly calculated.

Also I am asking that these plans include cutout sheet sizes as well as a 2D and/or 3D blueprint.

Lastly, please include some degree of internal bracing with this box. Maybe a single wall (with cutouts) between the two subs is sufficient? Maybe corner braces? Whatever you think. Since this box will be putting out 140+dB it will flex for sure.

I also want 3/4" MDF obviously. Driver displacement is .18 ft^3 per driver for a total of .36 ft^3.

T/S are below.

Qts: 0.219
Qes: 0.242
Qms: 2.266
Fs: 18.856 Hz
Re: 6.26
Ls: 7.382 mH
Lp: 9.456 mH
Rp: 14.68
Dia: .25m
(% shift): 33.2 %
Vas: 142.7 L
Mms: 168.8 g
Cms: 421.9 u
Bl: 22.74 T*m
n0: 380.1 m
SPL: 87.79 dB
Sd: 0.0471 m^2
Xmag: 26.0 mm
Xmax: 24.2 mm

Please let me know if you need more info and what your price is. If you are bored and want to do this for free, by all means do so. But I am willing to pay for a professional design.

Thanks all.

Gregg

espguitarist91
07-29-2006, 12:25 AM
http://subwoofertools.com/forum/ported-box.asp
Make your own if you want. It takes port and driver displacement into consideration also;)

ghart999
07-29-2006, 12:46 AM
http://subwoofertools.com/forum/ported-box.asp
Make your own if you want. It takes port and driver displacement into consideration also;)

Nice link. Never saw that. I tried it and it gives me a insanely huge port area of 88 in^2. Which ends up having a port displacement of 3.5 feet. Seems there's no way to change port area to what I want though.

mobeious
07-29-2006, 12:48 AM
i can do it

xluben
07-29-2006, 12:54 AM
I like this:

http://subwoofertools.com/forum/ported-box.asp?Ew=36&Eh=17.5&Dia=6&Xmax=16&Vd=.18&NumW=2&Vb=3&Fb=34&Qts=&Vas=&Fs=&CE=0

I think you'd do better with that much port area.

ghart999
07-29-2006, 01:12 AM
Oh so I can just change the xmax to get the port area I want? **** that was easy.

Thanks a lot.

xluben
07-29-2006, 02:07 PM
you got it! the program just uses xmax to figure out how much air you'll be moving and try to keep the port speed low enough to avoid port area.

ghart999
07-29-2006, 11:44 PM
Thanks a lot. I appreciate it.


you got it! the program just uses xmax to figure out how much air you'll be moving and try to keep the port speed low enough to avoid port area.