View Full Version : Bose speakers =/

07-28-2006, 04:48 PM
My 94 maxima came stock with bose speakers. They sound ok but i want better. Is it true with bose speakers i have to re-run all the speaker wires throughout my whole car?

07-28-2006, 05:19 PM
You need to bypass the internal amp before you can replace the stock speakers...

07-28-2006, 05:32 PM
In my car, the internal amp was just a block mounted to the bottom of the motor on the rear passenger side speaker.

[96-99 Audi A4]

turn it up
07-28-2006, 05:35 PM
hehe bose..a little off-topic but I had a friend stuck one of the bose lifestyle speaker in his car lol..(even had the ceiling mount) oh man that was quite a laugh when i saw that :)

07-28-2006, 05:38 PM
Yeah that is off topic but funny

07-28-2006, 06:44 PM
The Bose amps are attached to the speakers in that car. You don't have to run new speaker wire to them unless you want to upgrade the wire size. You just have to find the input wires at the Bose amp (and tell them apart from the power and ground wires) and extend them to your new speakers.

07-29-2006, 09:21 PM
Yeah theres a harness that goes to the back of the car (thats where my bose amp was in my maxxy).
Go to maxima.org and you should be able to find a diagram of the colors and what speaker it goes to.
In mine I just used a diagram and cut the wires on the harness.

07-29-2006, 10:17 PM
BOSE- Better Off with Something Else

07-30-2006, 02:09 AM
Maxima.Org will have all the info you need.

Although the moderator over there tends to get a bit cranky....

07-30-2006, 02:14 AM
also you relize that the bose speakers are probably 2 ohm, which is not recomended to run off a aftermarket deck..

07-30-2006, 02:15 AM
^^ this is correct

07-30-2006, 02:18 AM
Although the tweets are 4Ohm