PDA

View Full Version : Planning box, need suggestions



phantom240
07-27-2006, 03:54 PM
Okay, im fiberglassing 2 boxes for my 2 memphis audio m-clas 12s... memphis recommends 2 cubes at 40 hz.. what do you guys think i should tune it to?

mikeyboc
07-27-2006, 03:56 PM
I son't have experience with those subs, but 40 hz seems kind of high to me.

tRiGgEr
07-27-2006, 03:58 PM
If you don't know what frequency to tune at, always use 35hz. It is a standard for most DIY ported boxs.

phantom240
07-27-2006, 04:22 PM
so bout 32-35 hz should be good?

phantom240
07-27-2006, 04:40 PM
Okay, I used this port calculator, http://www.psp-inc.com/psp-inc.com/cgi-bin/port_length_calculator.cgi and came up with a port diameter of 3" 6.66 inches at 32 hz and at 35 hz its 5.5 inches... does that sound right to you guys? if so, im gettin some 3" aero port!

phantom240
07-29-2006, 11:27 PM
Bump, come on guys, cant continue my box unless some more experienced ported folks can help me out.

phantom240
07-31-2006, 12:10 AM
ttt

Fast1one
07-31-2006, 12:39 AM
Is that 2 cubes each? Im guessing thats a yes...If so you have a few questions to answer before we go any further...

1. Are you going to have seperate chambers?

2. How many ports do you plan to use?

Personally I would tune at 32 HZ....tuning higher like at 35-40 has always left something to be desired in the lowend....Are you looking for SQ? SPL? SQL?

phantom240
07-31-2006, 12:52 AM
im accustomed to the tunes of a sealed box, blowing my brains out while th epoor bastards who have the misfortune of sitting in that sorry excuse for a rear seat get beat to death, while i fiddle with my rear view mirror cuz the bass makes it move causing me to flip my car which seems nearly impossible considering how low it is to the ground, which you should already know about 240s... wow that was a long sentance... what was the point of this post again? lollerfarts

phantom240
07-31-2006, 12:55 AM
makin two of these...

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y152/phantom240/P7260156.jpg

xluben
07-31-2006, 09:59 AM
you're gonna want at least two 4" ports per sub (and they're gonna be a lot longer to get that tuning, and your net box volume will go down a lot).

phantom240
07-31-2006, 10:16 AM
then why would i want a total of 4 4" ports if its gonna make my total volume smaller, and make it a pain in my *** to actaully port? I only have so much room to work with.

And ive decided to tune to 32hz.

xluben
07-31-2006, 10:20 AM
so you don't get tons of port noise!

Fast1one
07-31-2006, 01:15 PM
He doesnt need two per sub...one should be enough for each as long as its an aeroport...

If space is a concern, run it sealed or sell your subs and get better ones...

tRiGgEr
07-31-2006, 01:20 PM
Use a sngle 4" Aero port. It will reduce the chance of port noise that would be present with a 3" port.

phantom240
07-31-2006, 03:55 PM
okay... so what would be a good size for a box tuned to 30hz, with a single 12 in it? bout 2.5 cubes?