PDA

View Full Version : Need Help!!!!!



fearthepand
07-27-2006, 11:04 AM
Ok i got some box spes the other day and im completly new as how to build a box any way i have some specs here they r. Could anyone give me a diagram of how this would go together mainly i just need to know where the port pieces would go

14H x 30W x 16D

12.5 x 28.5 x 14.5 INTERNAL

2.98 cu ft^3

-.1 sub dis
-.85 port dis

2 cu ft^3 NET @ 26hz

port 12.5 x 2 x 43

cuts:
2x 30 x 16 bases
1x 12.5 x 28.5 rear
2x 14.5 x 12.5 sides
1x 12.5 x 26.5 front
1x 12.5 x 11.75 port a
1x 12.5 x 24.5 port b

fearthepand
07-27-2006, 11:13 AM
ttt

tRiGgEr
07-27-2006, 11:22 AM
http://img158.imageshack.us/img158/8056/diagramgm1.th.png (http://img158.imageshack.us/my.php?image=diagramgm1.png)

fearthepand
07-27-2006, 11:27 AM
thanks man got any idea about how wide the port should be?

Worlddre
07-27-2006, 11:29 AM
2"

fearthepand
07-27-2006, 11:30 AM
ok thanks any body care to explain how to read these box specs and how you came up with those answers?

Worlddre
07-27-2006, 11:34 AM
Ok i got some box spes the other day and im completly new as how to build a box any way i have some specs here they r. Could anyone give me a diagram of how this would go together mainly i just need to know where the port pieces would go

14H x 30W x 16D

12.5 x 28.5 x 14.5 INTERNAL

2.98 cu ft^3

-.1 sub dis
-.85 port dis

2 cu ft^3 NET @ 26hz

port 12.5 height x 2 wide x 43 long

cuts:
2x 30 x 16 bases / top and bottom pieces
1x 12.5 x 28.5 rear
2x 14.5 x 12.5 sides
1x 12.5 x 26.5 front
1x 12.5 x 11.75 port a
1x 12.5 x 24.5 port b

labeled the port dimensions

fearthepand
07-27-2006, 11:38 AM
Also does it matter where i mount the sub on the front? Would the center be ok?

Worlddre
07-27-2006, 11:41 AM
yup center would be fine....tis where most people mount subs

xluben
07-27-2006, 01:01 PM
are you sure that's right? seems like you'd need a longer port, but didn't actually do the calculations.....

PSturmer
07-27-2006, 01:17 PM
are you sure that's right? seems like you'd need a longer port, but didn't actually do the calculations.....

nope i checked it. for a slot port it should be 44.71 inches long and a vent port is 45.71.

tRiGgEr
07-27-2006, 02:11 PM
are you sure that's right? seems like you'd need a longer port, but didn't actually do the calculations.....

Yes it is right. I checked it.

fearthepand
07-27-2006, 02:58 PM
So r the calculations right? I didnt actually do them myself. Someone else did them.

fearthepand
07-27-2006, 03:09 PM
could any body show me hoe to do all of the calculations for ported boxes?

fearthepand
07-27-2006, 03:29 PM
ttt

tRiGgEr
07-27-2006, 03:44 PM
could any body show me hoe to do all of the calculations for ported boxes?
It would take me an hour or two to type up how to design a ported enclosure. And that is just the simple basics. Not how to design using T/S parameters...

tRiGgEr
07-27-2006, 03:49 PM
So r the calculations right? I didnt actually do them myself. Someone else did them.

Yes, with a margin of error @ .4hz. I actually got a net volume of 2.05ft^3. But the change would be minimal.

That is a good design on paper.

fearthepand
07-27-2006, 03:54 PM
Sweet thanks man

fearthepand
07-27-2006, 08:36 PM
ttt

fearthepand
07-27-2006, 08:40 PM
Could some body correct me if im wrong but aren't the lengths wrong on either the rear or the sides? If i put the box together like it is now wouldnt i have a 3/4'' gap somewhere? If it is wrong if i changed the rear width to 30'' instead if 28.5 would this cause a change in the internal volume or the tuning?

fearthepand
07-27-2006, 08:49 PM
ttt

tRiGgEr
07-27-2006, 08:59 PM
I just checked the cutsheet, your right. It is off. There are a couple of ways to piece the box together. Here is one

Top/bottom - 30 x 16
Left side - 15.25 x 12.5
Right side - 14.5 x 12.5
Back - 30 x 12.5
Front - 27.25 x 12.5

http://img59.imageshack.us/img59/8163/boxcutoutud1.th.png (http://img59.imageshack.us/my.php?image=boxcutoutud1.png)

tRiGgEr
07-27-2006, 09:02 PM
Here it is with the port piece shown...

http://img59.imageshack.us/img59/6056/boxcutoutyu4.th.png (http://img59.imageshack.us/my.php?image=boxcutoutyu4.png)

fearthepand
07-27-2006, 09:04 PM
i just realized that if i changed the rear diminsion to 30'' i would also have to cange the side to 15 1/4''. Would this change anything. Or i could change the sides to 16''. which i think would be easier. I'm just wanting to know if by chaging these diminsions would i change the tuning and or internal volume?

fearthepand
07-27-2006, 09:05 PM
hey thanks dude like my question is though would it change any of the stated?

tRiGgEr
07-27-2006, 09:08 PM
No. As long as the port area is not effected, it will not change it. Really doesn't matter how it's put together, as long as the external/internal dimensions stay the same.

fearthepand
07-27-2006, 09:12 PM
thanks for the help man