PDA

View Full Version : Does This Seem Right? Where Should I Position The Port?



HardHittaz00
07-25-2006, 02:50 AM
Alright, this is going to the the first box that I'm going to build that I've designed myself... I just wanted to run the design by some pros first to make sure it'd soud good... This box is for two Kicker 12" L7's with a Orion 1200D behind them... I'm taking out the backseat of my Caprice Classic and replacing it with a wedge shaped box... I'm trying to tune it around 35Hz... Here are some measurements...
Width: 57"
Depth: 20"
Height: 23"
Top: 12"
Front: 24 3/8"
... I'm not sure what this Cub. Feet of it is... But my program says to make two rectangle ports 4" x 8" that are 6.2" deep to get it to 35Hz... Is this right? If not, can you correct me... And also, to move the most air, should I but the ports like option 1, 2, or 3? I know I'm no artist, so work with me...

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b280/DriftinStratus00/Option1.jpg
http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b280/DriftinStratus00/Option2.jpg
http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b280/DriftinStratus00/Option3.jpg

linvillegorge
07-25-2006, 03:19 AM
You could just have one port if you wanted, you don't have to have two unless you're putting a divider between the subs. The first thing you need to do is figure out how many cubic feet you want it to be. The box seems mighty big for 2 12" L7s. I'm getting ready to build a box for my 2 12L7s and I'm looking for about 5.5 - 6.25 cubes total before the port.

HardHittaz00
07-25-2006, 03:29 AM
That's the thing, I dunno how to do that... And my program won't let me do one big port... It's a cheap one...

DaveVT
07-26-2006, 12:03 PM
And again to make sure you see it. How bout you take terryracing86 out of your refs till you decide to pay him. Been like 2 or 3 months man.