PDA

View Full Version : tuning a box?



Puppet Master
07-24-2006, 03:52 PM
What exactly does this mean, and how is it accomplished? This is probably a complete noob question, but w/e.


Pm

phantom240
07-25-2006, 12:50 AM
omg.. did you even read the sticky?

Puppet Master
07-25-2006, 01:29 AM
yeah. I built that box that is in my avatar, from one of Moe Lester's plans. It says the box is tuned to 35 hz. Is it just automatically that?

xluben
07-25-2006, 01:56 AM
http://www.carstereo.com/help/Articles.cfm?Car_Audio=Subwoofer%20Box%20Volume%20 Calculator

i guess just start searching, it's just math (based on the principals of physics)

iamamp3pimp
07-26-2006, 02:04 AM
^^^^^ and acoustics too.

Lakota
07-26-2006, 02:43 AM
Longer ports are tuned lower, shorter ports are tuned higher. Port length and tuning will vary with enclosure size. There's a start for you:)

squeak12
07-26-2006, 02:46 AM
The relationship of port area, port length, and net enclosure volume yields your tuning. The formula for tuning is on JL Audio. Ill edit with a link soon.

http://mobile.jlaudio.com/support_pages.php?page_id=165

xluben
07-26-2006, 07:40 AM
i like the jl write up :)