PDA

View Full Version : Anyone ever install a keyless/remote start?

OoMesKoO
07-18-2006, 08:43 AM
Im about to attempt it today. Although i have never done one before. Any information, or websites would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for all your help guys!

Bradd

KaeZoo
07-18-2006, 10:19 AM
What kind of vehicle is it, and which remote start?

t-rex audio
07-18-2006, 10:44 AM
x2

OoMesKoO
07-18-2006, 11:36 AM
Im actually looking for just a generic briefing on all makes/models. There is a small place hiring around the corner from me. Pays good money. Im just looking to read up on all the ins and outs of installing one.

KaeZoo
07-18-2006, 11:45 AM
Basically a remote start is just a set of relays that provide power to the ignition wires at the right times to start and run the vehicle. To install one you need to understand how an ignition switch works; know how to use a multimeter to identify the function of vehicle wires; understand how relays work; and be familiar with vehicle anti-theft systems like Passlock and transponder keys. Some vehicles are much harder than others.

OoMesKoO
07-18-2006, 12:10 PM
On a scale of 1-10.... what difficultly level would you say it is?

turn it up
07-18-2006, 12:17 PM
I dont trust myself enough to do it. It wouldnt be bad if someone who knew it guide you through. It took about 3 hours for two guys to install it in my car. If you're doing it for experience to be an installer, I think you might need more than that.

Decipha
07-18-2006, 12:29 PM