PDA

View Full Version : About to start a build. Quick Question....

SuperTrooper
07-15-2006, 10:54 AM
I'm building a sealed enclosure for my 2 - 12" L7's. Is it best to have them in seperate chambers or have them share one big chamber ? This is my first build. So I really don't know too much about it. Some recommendations on the size I should build it would be much appreciated. It's going in a Nissan X-Terra.

I'm not trying to win any competitions or anything, just doing this for a little experence and something to do. I have a vented enclosure I'm happy with if this becomes a disaster. But thats why I'm starting out easy with a sealed box. Thanks.

LUV2BHATED
07-15-2006, 11:01 AM
I'm doing the same exact build right now except my box is ported, i would think it would be better to seperate the chambers just in case one of your subs go out it wont take up the air or sumthing like that , im no pro like other people here but thats wut i was reading before, hope this helps and good luck wit ur box

SuperTrooper
07-15-2006, 11:09 AM
Kewl, Thanks for the input.

POLKAT
07-15-2006, 05:17 PM
I'm doing the same exact build right now except my box is ported, i would think it would be better to seperate the chambers just in case one of your subs go out it wont take up the air or sumthing like that , im no pro like other people here but thats wut i was reading before, hope this helps and good luck wit ur box
^

Just to add to that the partition in the middle will also add bracing to your box making it stronger.

mobilesndfx
07-15-2006, 05:53 PM
If your building a sealed box, you dont need to seperate chambers, the only advantage is strength. For ported, I prefer to seperate chambers, but also not necessary. The important thing in building seperate chambers is that there exactly the same. Any difference in volume will cause a different response curve from each sub.

Ingleside
07-15-2006, 06:14 PM