PDA

View Full Version : Simple Box Designs, Quick 3D (Pics!)



Ruffy
07-14-2006, 10:06 AM
Planned out a simple box to try my Diamond Audio D6's subs in.

This is made to fit snuggly into my trunk.

Internal Cube dimensions are 15 3/4" W x 9" D x 12" H

From my calculations that should net me 0.88 cu after subwoofer displacement of 0.1

The subs state specs at 0.87 cu for sealed, 1.21 cu for ported so I'm pretty dead on. The reason I went for a more rectangular shape was to reduce the overall depth. With it at its current depth I can easily remove my spare tire if need be.

The center pillar/area will be used for wiring/cables and so on.

Pics of the model. I started by modeling the prefab box I bought, Then kept tweaking and reducing.

http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h248/300m_Ruffy/Audio/Box%20Plans/BoxFinal.jpg

Pic of some external measurements and subs in place. Yes I modeled and skinned those subs to the proper dimensions, I know I have too much time on my hands
http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h248/300m_Ruffy/Audio/Box%20Plans/BoxFinalMsrs.jpg

Exploded View
http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h248/300m_Ruffy/Audio/Box%20Plans/Box.jpg

Side View
http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h248/300m_Ruffy/Audio/Box%20Plans/Measurements.jpg

Rear
http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h248/300m_Ruffy/Audio/Box%20Plans/Measurements2.jpg

Inside of a cube
http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h248/300m_Ruffy/Audio/Box%20Plans/Measurements3.jpg


I was bored so I took these pictures
http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h248/300m_Ruffy/Audio/Box%20Plans/Woah2.jpg

http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h248/300m_Ruffy/Audio/Box%20Plans/Woah3.jpg

http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h248/300m_Ruffy/Audio/Box%20Plans/Woah.jpg


Questions? Comments? Do my measurements look good for my subs?

I get MDF Free and it's already cut into 12" x 4' sections. So I'll probably cut what I need tommorrow and start building over the weekend.

PhatTonyDeMarco
07-14-2006, 10:12 AM
Looks awsome man, very elaborate for a sealed enclosure.

Decipha
07-14-2006, 10:15 AM
x2... what prog did u use to make those?

Ruffy
07-14-2006, 10:27 AM
x2... what prog did u use to make those?

Sketch3D
also known as Sketchup 3D

Was made by a small company. It's always been a great tool. very easy to use. Very fast with great features.

http://www.sketchup.com/

Free trial there. Google bought them :)

You can get incredibly detailed. And you can draw by dimensions. Like start drawing a line, then just type 10" and hit enter, boom a 10" line, or 10mm, or 10cm, or 10km, or 100', or 10.9595". Doesnt matter it works. Can also do Boxes just as easily 4" , 4". Theres a little box in the right hand corner that shows what your typing/editing. Also theres a great Push/Pull tool that can turn a 2D Box into a 3D one with one click and drag.


Look at some of the stuff that Sketchup can do, you can literally and quite easily design a house with it.
http://www.sketchup.com/index.php?id=20&gid=1308#top
http://www.sketchup.com/?id=20&gid=1266#top
http://www.sketchup.com/?id=21&csid=116
http://www.sketchup.com/?id=21&csid=159
http://www.sketchup.com/?id=21&csid=148
http://www.sketchup.com/?id=20&gid=1311#top
http://www.sketchup.com/?id=20&gid=1268#top

nYc.kablamO
07-14-2006, 01:55 PM
in the time it took to do all that you couldve just built the thing :p:
looks good

Fast1one
07-14-2006, 05:22 PM
I use sketchup also....Pretty **** cool and easy. Im designing a house right now...

j3bus2k3
07-14-2006, 05:25 PM
I'm more impressed by the rendering of the driver! Nice work! :thumbsup:

Ruffy
07-14-2006, 11:09 PM
in the time it took to do all that you couldve just built the thing :p:
looks good

I did it all at work when I had nothing to do :P

Thats why the models came out aliased too. If I retake the pics on my home computer they'd come out better due to FSAA/Antistropic Filtering. All in all it probably only took me 2-3 hours max
and thats with playing with designs, I have several other boxes including the "official" diamond audio dual D6 slot/port box design.

I plan on building both and seeing which i like better. Gotta redesign the slotted one for space reasons, scared to screw up the tuning along with everything else. My height max is 13.5", width max is 39", depth I can go to 60" but I dont want to take up all of my trunkspace, so 10-13" Is what i'd prefer for depth, Under 13 and I can remove my spare tire easily. The diamond audio box is no where near these specs

vetkilr
07-15-2006, 05:41 AM
man you need do do me a box design ................

Ruffy
07-15-2006, 05:21 PM
Well I cut all my wood, including some extra pieces


Trying to redesign the ported one but having trouble. Theres too many baffles on the inside! Dunno what to do

Ruffy
07-15-2006, 10:38 PM
well I put her together, left the top off as I want to go over the inside with some sealing.

God it looks ugly!
I didnt have all the clamps I needed, So I ended up clamping and nailing down, waiting 1 hour then moving to another spot.

squeak12
07-15-2006, 10:40 PM
What are you having problem with on the ported drawing exactly?

PV Audio
07-15-2006, 10:44 PM
With all due respect, it looks good, but that doesn't mean that it sounds good.

Ruffy
07-15-2006, 11:53 PM
What are you having problem with on the ported drawing exactly?
Calculating volume gets confusing to me. Theres about 4 baffles in the Diamond Design which i guess = a long port in the end. It's not like before where I can simply remove 1" from the back of the box and make it up somewhere else.



With all due respect, it looks good, but that doesn't mean that it sounds good.

Well thats why i posted the pics, Would modifying the box to be wider than deeper effect anything even if the internal volume is still the same. I'd like to get them down to specs hence the box above

My subs specs state 0.87cu, I'm currently using them in a 1.21 box, and to top it off they're being run off a A/B Class amp at about 300watts each sub @ 2ohms. Wont be able to get the sub amp I want for a few weeks. Work is kindof instable right now and I dont want to spend money If I dont have to.

If the box sounds like *** I'll just scrap it. I get free MDF and supplies so I'm only out of time. I do not like how I built this box. Really need a router and some better tools.

PV Audio
07-15-2006, 11:56 PM
If anything that could be detrimental. You want to have good clearance for the pole vent on the back side of the box.

Ruffy
07-16-2006, 12:18 AM
If anything that could be detrimental. You want to have good clearance for the pole vent on the back side of the box.


how much clearance, Since there is still a good bit.

I might end up doing a fasle floor setup. gonna be a pain to get to my tire if ever need be but at least I can make it look pretty

PV Audio
07-16-2006, 12:36 PM
You want four to five inches, more depending on the speaker :)

vetkilr
07-16-2006, 01:13 PM
Why that much??? I would think a couple would be fine.

It just needs to breathe.

Ruffy
07-16-2006, 09:36 PM
You want four to five inches, more depending on the speaker :)

i'm at about 4"s with this design...

PV Audio
07-17-2006, 11:21 AM
Why that much??? I would think a couple would be fine.

It just needs to breathe.
Three is the minimum, but in audio, you shouldn't be going for the minimum :up2somet: